Non-binary

Mumford and Sons Unable to Banjo Their Way Out of Jordan Peterson Questions

The band doesn’t think they’ll lose any fans for hanging out with the controversial Canadian professor.<p>Way back in May, infamous University of Toronto professor Jordan Peterson posted a picture with his favourite band (??) Mumford and Sons, leaving the internet shook.<p>Was the band that has made …

Jordan Peterson

Has #MeToo Changed Anything About Canadian Comedy?

The cast of CBC’s <i>Baroness von Sketch</i><p>JFL 42 has descended on Toronto, and, for the first time since the comedy fest’s inception in 2012, founder …

Gender

Help make writing Congress a more inclusive experience

Dear Anne,<p><b>When you take action with us online</b>, we want to ensure that your message makes it to your senators or representative. Because of that, we …

Gender-Neutral

Facebook's new dating service wants to find you love

Yesterday, Facebook debuted its much talked about dating service – announced at its developer conference F8 earlier this year– in Columbia. The social network doesn’t want to compete with Tinder, but instead will take on other major players such as OkCupid and Hinge by adopting a similar approach …

Apps

8 Trends To Copy From London Fashion Week

London Fashion Week is over for another season, and while all eyes are now on Milan, we’re taking stock of the shows we saw, the moments we loved and …

London Fashion Week

Review: Christine & the Queens Sly, Seductive ‘Chris’

“Yes sir, I am wet,” declares Hélöise Letissier on “Girlfriend,” a non-binary lust-fest with slithering keytar from Cali synth scientist Dâm-Funk. …

Music

Morning Roundup: What Is Washington's Football Team Worth?

• Follow DCist on Twitter and like us on Facebook. You can also get the top stories mailed to you—sign up here.<br>• The Washington football team is valued …

Fast Casual

Fiction Book Review: Transcendent 3 by Edited by Bogi Takács. Lethe, $18 trade paper (264p) ISBN 978-1-59021-706-1

Transcendent 3<p>Edited by Bogi Takács. Lethe, $18 trade paper (264p) ISBN 978-1-59021-706-1<p>In this spectacular anthology, Takács (<i>Transcendent 2</i>) …

Book Reviews

U.S. judge rules for Colorado intersex veteran denied passport

OUT Politics and Policy<p>A federal court has ruled the U.S. State Department cannot deny a passport to a Navy veteran who is intersex and identifies as neither male nor female.<p>Navy veteran Dana Zzyym, a Colorado resident born in 1958 with ambiguous sex characteristics, sued the federal government for …

Social Work

Intersex Birth Certificate Issued in Colorado Is State First - them.

On Wednesday morning, Anunnaki Ray Marquez woke up to something they’ve spent years waiting for: a birth certificate that accurately reflects their …

LGBTQI

Judge Rules Nonbinary Traveler Can't Be Denied U.S. Passport for Refusing to Choose a Gender

A federal judge ruled on Wednesday that the State Department cannot deny a traveler's passport application over refusal to select a gender.<p>Dana …

U.S. Dept. of State

Trans activists Fox and Owl: Dating as trans person is a ‘horror story’

Fox and Owl are trans and non-binary rights activists—and they’re a couple.<p>Before meeting each other though, dating was an ordeal as they faced …

LGBTQI

5 Things To Do This Weekend, From Dumplings To Fluff

Support the news<p>It’s time to call it — fall is finally here. There’s still plenty of outdoor fun to be had as the weather turns crisp, and lots to …

Boston

Liverpool ReSisters slammed by mayor in transgender row

<b>Campaigners opposed to a council motion about Liverpool's transgender community have been accused of "intimidation" and "abuse" by the city's mayor.</b><p>The motion, which proposed treating all trans women the same as cisgender women, passed unanimously on Wednesday.<p>Joe Anderson told the council meeting …

England

Welcome to Broadly: Identity by VICE

\u003Cp\u003EBroadly centers the lives of women and non-binary and LGBTQ people in order to provide a space for us to understand, express, and navigate our identities. \u003C\u002Fp\u003E\u003Cp\u003EOur coverage focuses on sex, love, relationships, astrology, mythology, history, politics, LGBTQ …

Subculture

D.C. Council approves ‘Nonbinary’ I.D. card bill

Council member <b>Brianne Nadeau</b> (D-Ward 1) is the author of the non-binary identification measure. (Washington Blade photo by Michael Key)The D.C. City …

Gender

CNN’s ‘This is Life With Lisa Ling’ season 5 tackles MS13, screen addiction, gender identity, “furries”

<b>Originally posted Friday, September 20, 2018 by RODNEY HO/rho@ajc.com on his AJC Radio & TV Talk blog</b><p><b>Lisa Ling</b> has a dream job for any curious, …

Ling

‘Trans Women Are Women, Get Over It!’ Stonewall takes on anti-trans rhetoric

Stonewall has re-imagined its famous slogan to show support for transgender equality.<p>The LGBT+ rights advocacy charity launched its flagship ‘Some …

LGBTQI

Duluth’s Femn Fest: No headliners, no hierarchies, no men

Mlinar is one of the organizers of Femn Fest, which seeks to correct the gender imbalance of contemporary music festivals to present a lineup of …

Minneapolis-Saint Paul

Facebook's Targeted Ads Draw More Discrimination Claims — This Time Over Job Listings

click to enlarge<p>Facebook's targeted advertising may have bought it new worries on top of the recent lawsuit filed by the Fair Housing Council of …

San Antonio

University Of Limerick investigating gender neutral bathroom vandalised with 'transphobic graffiti'

The University of Limerick has received a formal complaint after the words ‘mental illness’ were carved into a sign of a gender-neutral bathroom on …

Gender-Neutral

Intimate Portraits Celebrate The Lives Of Trans And Gender Nonconforming People Over 50

“I think people think that trans is a new thing and they especially think that nonbinary or genderqueer is a new thing, but it’s really not at all,” Jess Dugan recently told HuffPost. “The language we use to describe it has changed, and so has our ability to be out.”<p>Honoring those who came of age …

African-American News

The Most Inclusive Moments From Fashion Month

From a very pregnant Slick Woods at Savage x Fenty to Claudia Li's all-Asian cast.<p>The fashion industry still has a long ways to go in terms of diversity and inclusivity, which isn't to say there hasn't been visible progress in recent years. Autumn 2018 marked the most race and transgender-inclusive …

Breast Cancer

Vancouver's Eastside Flea opens at new location this weekend

The Eastside Flea will be having its grand reopening at a new location in the False Creek Flats this weekend. According to a release, its new home …

Vancouver

Licking Wallpaper Paste

Jenn and Liberty discuss cozy mysteries, books set in Malaysia, readalikes for Amélie and more in this week’s episode of Get Booked.<p>This episode is …

Travel Writing

Charlotte Day Wilson Wants to Elevate Women and Non-Binary Directors

The Toronto singer explains how she and director Fantavious Fritz's 'Work Film Grant' will help fund music videos and short films by underrepresented creatives.<p>It isn’t news to the Canadian music community about the difficulty gaining proper funding and wider-spread exposure for their art. Last …

Gender

Queercore: behind a documentary reliving the gay punk movement

Director Yony Leyser calls queercore “a farce that became real”, while film-maker Bruce LaBruce labels it a respite for “the fringe of the fringe”.<p>LaBruce is uniquely qualified to make his claim. Thirty years ago, he and fellow Toronto artist GB Jones started what later became known as queercore, a …

Film (UK)

Sydney celebrates inclusivity for Women in Music Empowerment Day

Members of the local music industry will band together on Saturday, October 7 to celebrate inclusivity for Women in Music Empowerment Day, …

Music (Australia)

Must Read: Shedding Light on Italy's Shadow Economy, Hedi Slimane Reveals Venue for Celine Debut

Plus, The Modist announces global partnership with Farfetch.<p>Author:<p>Publish date:<p><i>These are the stories making headlines in fashion on</b> …

Fashion

Album Review: Christine and the Queens - Chris

<b>The ‘80s were a very gender-fluid decade for pop music. On MTV, Annie Lennox wore tuxedos and Boy George wore kimonos. Prince sang ‘If I Was Your</b> …

Synthpop