Dean Koontz

iBooks Bestsellers: 'Crazy Rich Asians' Strikes Gold

Kevin Kwan's <i>Crazy Rich Asians</i> soars to the top of the Apple Store's iBooks bestsellers list on the strength of its film adaptation, which is now in …

Bestsellers

He is still, at 72, a giant of the thriller world. But Dean Koontz will always be haunted by... The real-life mystery that I can’t ever solve

As a young boy growing up in rural Pennsylvania, Dean Koontz never saw a book in the house – other than the Bible his father read in rare fits of …

Books

The Ritual (Part I)

Overview<p>The Ritual (Part I) by Gregory Blair<p>In the tradition of Stephen King and Dean Koontz, THE RITUAL weaves a suspenseful tale of terror that …

Stephen King

The Forbidden Door (Signed Book) (Jane Hawk Series #4)

Overview<p>The Forbidden Door (Signed Book) (Jane Hawk Series #4) by Dean Koontz<p><b>When this relentless rogue FBI agent comes knocking, her adversaries</b> …

Books

Investment Firm Acquiring Audiobook Producer

This week, global investment firm KKR announced its intent to acquire audiobook producer RBmedia from Shamrock Capital.<p>RBmedia, based in Maryland, claims to be “the largest independent publisher of audiobooks in the world,” offering up 35,000 titles, while also owning two major distribution …

Headphones

Devils: A Collection of Devilish Short Fiction

Overview<p>Devils: A Collection of Devilish Short Fiction by Erik Henry Vick<p><b>Horror has a new master...</b><p>In the chilling tradition of Stephen King, Joe …

Stephen King

EXCLUSIVE: Myopia: Rise Of The Domes

<i>Official Solicitation Text</i>In the second installment of this speculative steampunk thriller, the stakes are raised as the government decodes more of …

Comic Books

EXCL. PREVIEW: Myopia: Rise Of The Domes

<i>Official Solicitation Text</i><p>In the second installment of this speculative steampunk thriller, the stakes are raised as the government decodes more of …

Comic Books

Author Dean Koontz keeps the setting rooted in Newport Beach

Best-selling suspense author Dean Koontz and his wife, Gerda, have bought a home in a familiar setting. The longtime Orange County residents recently paid $9.4 million for a home in a gated Newport Beach community, records show.<p>Set on a corner lot of about an acre, the Italianate-vibe is approached …

Real Estate

Beverly Hills mansion tied to developer Rick Caruso lists for $24.75 million

A Beverly Hills mansion owned in a trust by the family of Rick Caruso, the developer behind the Grove and the forthcoming Palisades Village shopping and entertainment centers, has come to market for $24.75 million.<p>The property, which sits on a little over an acre, had been owned for decades by …

Beverly Hills

Jane Hawk continues quest in 'The Crooked Staircase'

"The Crooked Staircase" by Dean Koontz; Bantam; 512 pages<p>Jane Hawk continues her quest to bring down a vast conspiracy in "The Crooked Staircase" by …

Dean Koontz

Best-Selling Books Week Ended May 13

With data from NPD BookScan<p>Hardcover Nonfiction<p>TITLE<br>AUTHOR / PUBLISHER<p>THIS WEEK<p>LAST<br>WEEK<p><b>Magnolia Table</b><p>1<p>1<p>Joanna Gaines & Marah Stets/William Morrow & Company<p><b>The Soul of America</b><p>2<p>New<p>Jon Meacham/Random House<p><b>A Higher Loyalty</b><p>3<p>2<p>James B. Comey/Flatiron Books<p><b>Barracoon</b><p>4<p>New<p>Zora Neale Hurston/Amistad Press<p><b>12</b> …

Books

22 fast-paced thrillers you’ll want to bring to the beach this summer

<i>The Insider Picks team writes about stuff we think you'll like. Business Insider has affiliate partnerships, so we get a share of the revenue from your purchase.</i><p>If you're anything like me, summer weekends are marked by a lot of lounging — on the warm sand, cool grass, or a park bench under a shady …

Books

Review: Jane Hawk continues quest in 'The Crooked Staircase'

"The Crooked Staircase" (Bantam), by Dean Koontz<p>Jane Hawk continues her quest to bring down a vast conspiracy in "The Crooked Staircase" by Dean Koontz, a follow-up to "The Silent Corner" and "The Whispering Room."<p>Hawk is the most wanted woman in America and being on the run makes it hard to rest …

Books

Series to Start Now: Dean Koontz’s Action-Packed ‘Jane Hawk’ Thrillers

A Novel of Suspense<p>Dean Koontz<p>Jane Hawk’s husband had everything to live for. So following his unexpected suicide, Jane decided she wants answers. In her grief and fury, she’ll do whatever it takes to find them. She quickly realizes it’s not only her late husband – a surprising number of people …

Culture

5 new books you won't want to miss this week, including Dean Koontz, Paul Simon bio

USA TODAY’s Jocelyn McClurg scopes out the hottest books on sale each week.<p><b>1. The Crooked Staircase</b> by Dean Koontz (Bantam, fiction, on sale May 8)<p><b>What it’s about:</b> Rogue FBI agent Jane Hawk continues her one-woman fight against the secret cabal behind a sinister epidemic of murder-suicides that …

Books

20+ Thrilling Thrillers Chosen by You

This Riot Recommendation is sponsored by Alice Feeney’s <i>Sometimes I Lie</i>, out from Flatiron Books.<p>My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you …

Books

Dan Simmons’ The Terror and 5 More Tales of Doomed Travelers

Obviously, the novel that inspired the series is a great place to start reading, presuming you don’t mind potential spoilers. At 946 pages, <i>The Terror</i> …

Culture

The Novelization For THE LAST JEDI Will Include Han Solo’s Funeral

Growing up, my mom used to buy me a book a week from the grocery store. Often times, these were Stephen King or Dean Koontz novels (I actually read</i> …

Stephen King

Firsts: Dean Koontz on the 50th anniversary of his first novel, Star Quest

New York Times best-selling author Dean Koontz is a certified institution in popular world literature.<p>The prolific California resident is one of the …

Books

A Bumpy Ride: The Top 9 Road Trip Nightmares in Literature

Dean Koontz<p><i>Shattered</i> generally gets lost in the shuffle of Dean Koontz’s incredibly prolific and bestselling bibliography. This slice of road-trip horror is a quick read that steadily ratchets up the suspense. It centers on Alex and his son, Colin, who are driving cross-country to a new home in …

Culture

Obituary: Marilyn Anne Banks, 76, Of Stratford

Marilyn, who grew up in Fairfield and was an avid equestrian, moved to Stratford and enjoyed being a school bus driver for the town.<p><i>From Dennis &</i> …

Stratford

Google Play announces 12 Days of Play holiday deals

‘Tis the season! Starting today through January 2, Google Play is offering discounted deals for your favorite movies, apps, games, and music.<p>Movies and TV shows for 99 cents<p>Whether you’re trying to watch <i>Frozen</i> for the 17th time or looking for a new TV show to binge on over the holiday season, …

Google Play

Best-selling books: ‘The Rooster Bar’ and ‘Xanathar’s Guide to Everything’

<b>FICTION</b><p><b>1. “The Rooster Bar”</b> by John Grisham (Doubleday)<p><b>2. “Hardcore Twenty-Four”</b> by Janet Evanovich (Putnam)<p><b>3. “The People vs. Alex Cross”</b> by James …

Detroit

Amazon Publishing Launches New Imprint

Amazon Publishing has launched Amazon Original Stories, a new imprint that will release short fiction and nonfiction works that can be read in a …

Dean Koontz

Review: Jane Hawk returns in Koontz's 'The Whispering Room'

"The Whispering Room" (Bantam), by Dean Koontz<p>Jane Hawk, the compelling heroine of "The Silent Corner," returns in another terrifying Dean Koontz conspiracy thriller, "The Whispering Room."<p>Jane knows her husband didn't commit suicide but proving it has been a challenge. She uncovered an evil plot …

Dean Koontz

The Silent Corner by Dean Koontz

About The Silent Corner<p><b>A dazzling new series, a pure adrenaline rush, debuts with Jane Hawk, a remarkable heroine certain to become an icon of</b> …

Books

Literature Without Writing: A Survey of Texts That Aren’t Texts

<i></i><i>Black Elk Speaks,</i> John Neihardt<p>Before writing, there is speech. When words are just sound, the highest artistic achievement of language is music. …

Literature

Bark, Who Goes There? 10 Beloved Fictional Dogs

Dean Koontz<p>Dean Koontz is clearly a dog lover, they make appearances – often prominent ones – throughout his novels. For our money though, the super-intelligent golden retriever at the center of the action in <i>Watchers</i> is the one to beat. Einstein, a well-earned name if ever there was one, proves a …

Culture

What’s your favourite scary novel?

Halloween. It’s just around the corner. And maybe you’re looking for something scary to read?<p>Here’s a few suggestions.<p>Let’s start with the</b> …

Horror