vmudgett

30 Flips | 2 Magazines | 2 Likes | 21 Following | @vmudgett | Keep up with vmudgett on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “vmudgett”

10 New Books You Need to Read This Year

From biographies to technical studies and step-by-step guides, here are 10 books that you should look for in the next few months.<p>Of course, we think you can learn a lot online. But, if you’re looking to take a deeper dive, there is often no substitute for the kind of thoughtful analysis you can get …

PayPal Debuts Its Newest Hardware, Beacon, A Bluetooth LE Enabled Device For Hands-Free Check Ins And Payments

One of David Marcus’s biggest challenges when taking on the role of President of PayPal was extending the platform into point of sale, and making it easier to pay with PayPal than swiping your credit card. But changing consumer behavior is an enormously difficult task. So he thought that the only …

8 Wallet-Friendly Getaways

A roundup of affordable vacation destinations around the world<p>We've rounded up more affordable alternatives to pricey vacation destinations around the world, from the new European Riviera to the fashion set's Mexican beach spot

Don't Get Too Comfortable

• <b>Author:</b> David Rakoff<p>A bitingly funny grand tour of our culture of excess from an award-winning humorist.<p>Whether David Rakoff is contrasting the elegance of one of the last flights of the supersonic Concorde with the good-times-and-chicken-wings populism of Hooters Air; working as a cabana boy at a …

The Righteous Mind

• <b>Author:</b> Jonathan Haidt<p><b>This well-researched examination of human moral impulses will appeal to liberals and conservatives alike following the 2016 presidential campaign and election, from the author of The Coddling of the American Mind: How Good Intentions and Bad Ideas Are Setting Up a Generation</b> …

People Who Eat Darkness

• <b>Author:</b> Richard Lloyd Parry<p>Lucie Blackman—tall, blond, twenty-one years old—stepped out into the vastness of Tokyo in the summer of 2000, and disappeared forever. The following winter, her dismembered remains were found buried in a seaside cave.<p>Richard Lloyd Parry, an award-winning foreign …

The Psychopath Test

• <b>Author:</b> Jon Ronson<p><b>In this madcap journey, a bestselling journalist investigates psychopaths and the industry of doctors, scientists, and everyone else who studies them.</b><p><i>The Psychopath Test</i> is a fascinating journey through the minds of madness. Jon Ronson's exploration of a potential hoax being …

The Good Nurse

• <b>Author:</b> Charles Graeber<p>After his December 2003 arrest, registered nurse Charlie Cullen was quickly dubbed "The Angel of Death" by the media. But Cullen was no mercy killer, nor was he a simple monster. He was a favorite son, husband, beloved father, best friend, and celebrated caregiver. Implicated …

The Innocent Man

• <b>Author:</b> John Grisham<p><b>#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the vein of Serial and Making a Murderer, John Grisham’s first work of nonfiction will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence. Impeccably researched, grippingly told, filled with eleventh-hour drama, it’s a book no American</b> …

Full Upright and Locked Position: The Insider's Guide to Air Travel

• <b>Author:</b> Mark Gerchick<p>"Sit back, relax, and enjoy the flight," our pilots still intone. But who are they kidding?<p>Former FAA chief counsel and senior aviation policy official Mark Gerchick unravels the unseen forces and little-known facts that have reshaped our air travel experience since September …

Will I Ever Be Good Enough?

• <b>Author:</b> Karyl McBride<p>The first book specifically for daughters suffering from the emotional abuse of selfish, self-involved mothers, <i>Will I Ever Be Good Enough?</i> provides the expert assistance you need in order to overcome this debilitating history and reclaim your life for yourself. Drawing on over …

No Angel

• <b>Author:</b> Jay Dobyns & Nils Johnson-Shelton<p><b>Here, from Jay Dobyns, the first federal agent to infiltrate the inner circle of the outlaw Hells Angels Motorcycle Club, is the inside story of the twenty-one-month operation that almost cost him his family, his sanity, and his life.</b><p>Getting shot in the …

Orange is the New Black

• <b>Author:</b> Piper Kerman<p><b>NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES • #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER</b> <br>With a career, a boyfriend, and a loving family, Piper Kerman barely resembles the reckless young woman who delivered a suitcase of drug money ten years before. But that past has caught up with her. Convicted and …

The Slave Across the Street

• <b>Author:</b> Theresa L. Flores & PeggySue Wells<p>While more and more people each day become aware of the dangerous world of human trafficking, most people in the U.S. still believe this is something that happens to foreign women, men and children--not something that happens to their own.<p>In this powerful …

If I Live to Tell

• <b>Author:</b> Akeela Hayder Green & Michael Minkoff, Jr.<p>I looked at the picture in my passport. I hadn’t seen it in two years. There was my almost fifteen-year-old self—beautiful, naïve, expectant. I looked at the picture from different angles, then held it up to my face in the mirror. Everything I had …

The Wolf and the Watchman: A Father, a Son, and the CIA

• <b>Author:</b> Scott C. Johnson<p>Longlisted for the National Book Award and named a Washington Post Notable Book of the Year.<br>Growing up, Scott C. Johnson always suspected that his father was different. Only as a teenager did he discover the truth: his father was a spy, one of the CIA’s most trusted …

Heads in Beds

• <b>Author:</b> Jacob Tomsky<p><b>In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.</b><p>Jacob Tomsky never <i>intended</i> to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a …

Unorthodox

• <b>Author:</b> Deborah Feldman<p>The instant <i>New York Times</i> bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s <i>Infidel</i> and Carolyn Jessop’s <i>Escape</i>, featuring a new epilogue by the author.<p>As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic …

Mother Daughter Me

• <b>Author:</b> Katie Hafner<p>The complex, deeply binding relationship between mothers and daughters is brought vividly to life in Katie Hafner’s remarkable memoir, an exploration of the year she and her mother, Helen, spent working through, and triumphing over, a lifetime of unresolved emotions. <br>Dreaming of …

Come Back

• <b>Author:</b> Claire Fontaine & Mia Fontaine<p>The unflinching true account of a teenage girl's descent into society's underbelly -- and her mother's desperate and ultimately successful attempts to bring her back.<p>How does an honor student at one of Los Angeles's finest prep schools -- a bright, beautiful …

Paris, My Sweet

• <b>Author:</b> Amy Thomas<p>"From the New York cupcake wars to the perfect Parisian macaron, Thomas's passion is palpable, her sweet tooth, unstoppable." —Elizabeth Bard, bestselling author of Lunch in Paris<p>Forever a girl obsessed with all things French, sweet freak Amy Thomas landed a gig as rich as the …

An Invisible Thread

• <b>Author:</b> Laura Schroff<p><b>An Invisible Thread tells of the life-long friendship between a busy sales executive and a disadvantaged young boy, and how both of their lives were changed by what began as one small gesture of kindness.</b><p>When Laura Schroff brushed by a young panhandler on a New York City corner …

American Sniper

• <b>Author:</b> Chris Kyle and Others<p>SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY CLINT EASTWOOD<p>He is the deadliest American sniper ever, called “the devil” by the enemies he hunted and “the legend” by his Navy SEAL brothers . . .<p>From 1999 to 2009, U.S. Navy SEAL Chris Kyle recorded the most career sniper …

The Hiding Place

• <b>Author:</b> Corrie ten Boom<p><b>"Every experience God gives us . . . is the perfect preparation for the future only He can see."--Corrie ten Boom</b><br>Corrie ten Boom was a Dutch watchmaker who became a heroine of the Resistance, a survivor of Hitler's concentration camps, and one of the most remarkable …

Lucky

• <b>Author:</b> Alice Sebold<p><b>The timeless, fearless, #1 New York Times bestselling memoir from the author of The Lovely Bones—a powerful account of her sexual assault at the age of eighteen and the harrowing trial that followed, now with a new afterword by the author.</b><p>In a memoir hailed for its searing …

She Left Me the Gun

• <b>Author:</b> Emma Brockes<p><b>"One of those memoirs that remind you why you liked memoirs in the first place... It has the density of a very good novel... As you do with the best writers, you feel lucky to be in Ms. Brockes’s company." --Dwight Garner, The New York Times</b><p>A chilling work of psychological …

The Game

• <b>Author:</b> Neil Strauss<p>Hidden somewhere, in nearly every major city in the world, is an underground seduction lair. And in these lairs, men trade the most devastatingly effective techniques ever invented to charm women. This is not fiction. These men really exist. They live together in houses known as …

My Beloved World

• <b>Author:</b> Sonia Sotomayor<p>The first Hispanic and third woman appointed to the United States Supreme Court, Sonia Sotomayor has become an instant American icon. Now, with a candor and intimacy never undertaken by a sitting Justice, she recounts her life from a Bronx housing project to the federal …