Derek

238 Flips | 3 Magazines | 1 Like | 21 Following | 2 Followers | @teacherderek | Keep up with Derek on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Derek”

What Littleton Learned

In Littleton, Colorado, where two deadly school shootings occurred fourteen years apart but within just a few miles, the school district is a study in preparedness, compassion, and an intense focus on what might go wrong.<p>Guy Grace likes to give a warning before he sets off an alarm. Otherwise, you …

Middle School

The Triangulation Theory May Explain Why Some Childhoods Are So Stressful

“Adults who experienced triangles in early family relationships can lack a clear sense of their own wants and needs.”<p>When a person in a committed relationship takes a secret second lover, it forms a love triangle. This new constellation changes the relationship between the committed couple, …

Psychology

My name is Wil Wheaton. I Live With Chronic Depression and Generalized Anxiety. I Am Not Ashamed.

<i>Last month, I spoke to NAMI’s Ohio statewide conference. Here are my prepared remarks.</i><p>Before I begin, I want to warn you that this talk touches on …

Mental Health

The Best Coming-of-Age Novels Will Make You Rethink the World

What does it really mean to grow up? Loss of innocence? Becoming self-sufficient? Turning 18? Running out of "firsts" to check off the bucket list? …

Books

What’s the best podcast app for iPhone?

When it comes to listening to podcasts on iOS, there are so many great options. The Apple Podcast app comes built into every iOS device with syncing. It’s certainly a great app, but is it the best? On iOS, users have countless third-party options as well. My goal for this article is to break down …

Apps

Empire of the Summer Moon

• <b>Author:</b> S. C. Gwynne<p>In the tradition of <i>Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee,</i> a stunningly vivid historical account of the forty-year battle between Comanche Indians and white settlers for control of the American West, centering on Quanah, the greatest Comanche chief of them all.<p>S.C. Gwynne’s <i>Empire of the</i> …

Evicted

• <b>Author:</b> Matthew Desmond<p><b>WINNER OF THE 2017 PULITZER PRIZE GENERAL NON-FICTION</b><p><b>From Harvard sociologist and MacArthur "Genius" Matthew Desmond, a landmark work of scholarship and reportage that will forever change the way we look at poverty in America</b> <i></i><br>In this brilliant,heartbreaking book, Matthew …

Trauma Through a Child's Eyes

• <b>Author:</b> Peter A. Levine, Ph.D. & Maggie Kline<p>An essential guide for recognizing, preventing, and healing childhood trauma, from infancy through adolescence—what parents, educators, and health professionals can do.<p>Trauma can result not only from catastrophic events such as abuse, violence, or loss …

Why 'getting lost in a book' is so good for you, according to science

“Transportation” — or the act of losing yourself in a book — makes you more empathetic, more creative and (hello!) it’s an escape.<p>Whether you’re the reader who rips through a new book each week or the one still slogging through that bestseller your friend recommended months ago, psychologists (and …

Psychology

Astoria

• <b>Author:</b> Peter Stark<p>In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeletons in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in …

'Boy or girl?' Parents raising 'theybies' let kids decide

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. — Three-year-old twins Zyler and Kadyn Sharpe scurried around the boys and girls clothing racks of a narrow consignment store filled with toys. Zyler, wearing rainbow leggings, scrutinized a pair of hot-pink-and-purple sneakers. Kadyn, in a T-Rex shirt, fixated on a musical cube …

Parenting

People with depression use language differently – here's how to spot it

From the way you move and sleep, to how you interact with people around you, depression changes just about everything. It is even noticeable in the …

Depression

'This is just the beginning': Using DNA and genealogy to crack years-old cold cases

For three decades, authorities in Fort Wayne, Indiana, had the DNA of the man who murdered 8-year-old April Tinsley in April 1988, but could not find him.<p>Police pleaded for leads, and chased them. They brought in FBI profilers, enlisted state and federal agents and went on “America’s Most Wanted.” …

Genealogy

9 Things You Never Knew About Your Child's Day at School, Straight From a Teacher

While parents understand that a lot happens in between dropping their child off at school and seeing them at the end of the day, many don't recognize exactly what it's like. Along with the books, tests, and classroom assignments, your child's world is revolving around actively turning into a little …

The best kids' books, age-by-age

Head to your local library and check out some of our favorite kid titles. These mom-tested books are guaranteed to please your budding bookworm!<p><b>Baby</b><i><br>The Going-To-Bed Book</i> by Sandra Boynton<i><br>Good Night Moon</i> by Margaret Wise Brown<i><br>Dear Zoo</i> by Rod Campbell<i><br>The Very Hungry Caterpillar</i> by Eric</i> …

Kids

The next generation of Republicans: Do they stand with Trump?

When, in October 2016, it was time to build the border wall — or at least a plywood replica on the campus of Washington State University — the job fell to Jacob Heinen. He was only a freshman, but he was one of the few College Republicans who knew how to work with his hands. When he was done, he …

Republicans

13 New Historical Fiction Books To Read If You Want To Escape 2018 For A Little While

The sun is shining, the weather is warm, and I'm looking to escape the rest of the world for a little while. It's one one thing to take a social …

Books

Needle Exchanges, Once Radical, Need An Update To Survive In Rural America

Rural areas face unique barriers when they try to adopt urban harm reduction methods from the ’80s and ’90s.<p>On paper, Charleston, West Virginia, seemed like a prime candidate for a clean needle exchange.<p>In 2015, West Virginia had the highest drug overdose rate in the nation and the federal …

Public Health

LaCroix, Sparkling Ice, Bai and beyond: Are fruit-flavored waters good for you?

We break down what's really in these trendy, enhanced beverages.<p>There's no doubt that drinking lots of water is good for us. The many benefits of staying properly hydrated include glowing skin, enhanced mental function, a healthy immune system and the ability to recover faster after a good workout. …

Nutrition

U.S. Reopens Emmett Till Investigation, Almost 63 Years After His Murder

The federal government has quietly revived its investigation into the murder of Emmett Till, the 14-year-old African-American boy whose abduction and killing remains, almost 63 years later, among the starkest and most searing examples of racial violence in the South.<p>The Justice Department said that …

Black History

The Overlooked Emotions of Sperm Donation

"My hope is that people think about how this is more than a transaction," says one family therapist.<p>Sperm donation offers a tidy solution to an aggravating problem: When a person or a couple wants a baby and needs a different ingredient than what they’ve currently got to make one, a man with viable …

Sperm

Farmers in America are facing an economic and mental health crisis

<b>Editor's note:</b> <i>The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has notified CBS News that there are errors in the data used in its widely cited 2016</i> …

Mental Health

How Patton Oswalt Did the Unimaginable: Write Stand-up About His Wife Dying

With a new special, <i>Talking for Clapping</i>, about to premiere on Netflix (which would eventually win a Grammy for Best Comedy Album and an Emmy Award …

The Dangers of Distracted Parenting

When it comes to children’s development, parents should worry less about kids’ screen time—and more about their own.<p>Smartphones have by now been implicated in so many crummy outcomes—car fatalities, sleep disturbances, empathy loss, relationship problems, failure to notice a clown on a …

Parenting

18 New Music Books to Read This Summer

Whether you’re lounging in a beach chair, perched under a tree, or taking refuge next to a blasting air conditioner, the summer months offer many opportunities to sit back and read for hours on end. In that spirit, here are some of our favorite recent or soon-to-be-released music books, ranging …

Books

To increase your emotional intelligence, develop these 10 qualities

There are many different kinds of intelligence, and it’s our job to discover what they are and how to integrate them into our lives. Sources of intelligence can be measured in quotients. Most of us are familiar with IQ, or the intelligence quotient, which is primarily associated with our ability to …

CNN's Anthony Bourdain dead at 61

<b>New York (CNN) —</b> In death, as in life, Anthony Bourdain brought us closer together.<p>On his award-winning series, "Parts Unknown," Bourdain brought the world home to CNN viewers. Through the simple act of sharing meals, he showcased both the extraordinary diversity of cultures and cuisines, yet how …

The 11 Smartest Documentaries on Netflix

Expand your mind with stories about conjoined twins, false confessions, and the time John Huston went off to fight in World War II.<p>Perhaps the quickest way to <i>Matrix</i>-download new knowledge into your brain is to consume it in documentary form. All you have to do is plop yourself in front of a screen …

Rachel Dolezal

Teaching a Class With Big Ability Differences

1. Start Slow<p>Experiencing comprehensive student-centered instruction for the first time makes some kids uneasy. I’ll never forget the high school …

The view from inside a food truck

First of all, no matter what you think is in there, there’s probably more. Most modern food trucks — at least the ones special enough to make it into your regular lunch rotation — are operated by serious foodies whose wheeled restaurants roam more than 300 U.S. cities as part of a $2.7 billion …