Susan Bzoza

183 Flips | 6 Magazines | 5 Likes | 18 Following | 7 Followers | @susanbzoza | Keep up with Susan Bzoza on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Susan Bzoza”

Creamy Hummus with Cumin

Makes about 4 cups<p>Don’t be afraid to let the food processor run the full 2 minutes. It’s one of the keys to supersmooth, aerated hummus. This recipe is from Tusk in Portland, OR.<p>July 2017Print<p>Ingredients<p>¾ cup dried chickpeas<p>½ teaspoon baking soda<p>3 garlic cloves, 2 smashed, 1 finely grated<p>1 dried …

Recipes

These 10 Great Online Specialty Food Stores Have Everything

From saffron to heirloom corn tortillas and really, really good grits—we've got just the place.<p>Once upon a time in a pre-kale era, before we were mixing miso into our pastas and topping our toast with kimchi, iceberg was the standard lettuce and fresh ginger was nowhere to be seen (or so says my …

Spices

What Alice Forgot

• <b>Author:</b> Liane Moriarty<p><b>FROM THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE HUSBAND'S SECRET AND BIG LITTLE LIES.</b><p><b>A “cheerfully engaging”(Kirkus Reviews) novel for anyone who’s ever asked herself, “How did I get here?”</b><p>Alice Love is twenty-nine, crazy about her husband, and pregnant with her first …

A Brief History of Seven Killings

• <b>Author:</b> Marlon James<p><b>A recipient of the 2015 American Book Award</b><p><b>One of the Top 10 Books of 2014 – Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times</b><p><b>A New York Times Book Review Notable Book</b><p><b>Named a best book of the year by:</b> <b><br>The New York Times</b> <b><br>Chicago Tribune</b> <b><br>The Washington Post</b> <b><br>The Boston Globe</b> <b><br>Time</b> <b><br>Newsweek</b> <b><br>The</b> …

Big Little Lies

• <b>Author:</b> Liane Moriarty<p><b>Check out the #1 New York Times bestseller Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty, called “a surefire hit” by Entertainment Weekly.</b><p><b>"The secrets burrowed in this seemingly placid small town...are so suburban noir they would make David Lynch clap with glee...[Moriarty] is a</b> …

The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto

• <b>Author:</b> Mitch Albom<p>Mitch Albom creates his most unforgettable fictional character—Frankie Presto, the greatest guitarist to ever walk the earth—in this magical novel about the bands we join in life and the power of talent to change our lives.<p>In his most stunning novel yet, the voice of Music …

The Cinderella Murder

• <b>Author:</b> Mary Higgins Clark & Alafair Burke<p>In a first-time collaboration, “Queen of Suspense” Mary Higgins Clark partners with bestselling author Alafair Burke to deliver a brand new suspense series about a television program featuring cold case murders.<p>Television producer Laurie Moran is delighted …

The Marriage of Opposites

• <b>Author:</b> Alice Hoffman<p>From the <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author of <i>The Dovekeepers</i> and <i>The Museum of Extraordinary Things</i>: a forbidden love story set on the tropical island of St. Thomas about the extraordinary woman who gave birth to painter Camille Pissarro—the Father of Impressionism.<p>Growing up on …

The Japanese Lover

• <b>Author:</b> Isabel Allende<p>From <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author Isabel Allende, “a magical and sweeping” (<i>Publishers Weekly</i>, starred review) love story and multigenerational epic that stretches from San Francisco in the present-day to Poland and the United States during World War II.<p>In 1939, as Poland …

11/22/63

• <b>Author:</b> Stephen King<p><b>One of the Ten Best Books of The New York Times Book Review<br>Winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize<br>Soon to be a miniseries from Hulu starring James Franco</b><p>ON NOVEMBER 22, 1963, THREE SHOTS RANG OUT IN DALLAS, PRESIDENT KENNEDY DIED, AND THE WORLD CHANGED. WHAT IF YOU COULD …

The Danish Girl

• <b>Author:</b> David Ebershoff<p><b>Now an Academy Award-winning major motion picture, starring Academy Award-winners Eddie Redmayne and Alicia Vikander and directed by Academy Award-winner Tom Hooper</b><p>National Bestseller * A <i>New York Times</i> Notable Book * Winner of the Lambda Literary Award for Transgender Fiction …

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

• <b>Author:</b> Gabrielle Zevin<p><b>A New York Times Bestseller, a #1 Indie Next Pick, and a #1 LibraryReads Selection</b><p><b>“This novel has humor, romance, a touch of suspense, but most of all love--love of books and bookish people and, really, all of humanity in its imperfect glory.” —Eowyn Ivey, author of The Snow</b> …

Avenue of Mysteries

• <b>Author:</b> John Irving<p>John Irving returns to the themes that established him as one of our most admired and beloved authors in this absorbing novel of fate and memory.<p>In <i>Avenue of Mysteries</i>, Juan Diego—a fourteen-year-old boy, who was born and grew up in Mexico—has a thirteen-year-old sister. Her name …

A Little Life

• <b>Author:</b> Hanya Yanagihara<p><b>ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR<br>The New York Times • The Washington Post • The Wall Street Journal • NPR • Vanity Fair • Vogue • Minneapolis Star Tribune • St. Louis Post-Dispatch • The Guardian • O, The Oprah Magazine • Slate • Newsday • Buzzfeed • The Economist • Newsweek</b> …

Castro Urges US to End Broadcasts Directed at Cuba

Cuban President Raul Castro is urging the U.S. government to stop radio and television broadcasts that Cuba considers harmful, while also saying that …

With a Castro as an ally, MLB focuses on the high-stakes smuggling of Cuban ballplayers

The story of Yasiel Puig's escape from Cuba reads like a crime thriller, complete with speedboats, kidnappings, betrayal, drug kingpens and murder.<p>So like most baseball fans, Dan Halem was appalled the first time he heard it.<p>But unlike most fans, Halem, as Major League Baseball's chief legal …

Cuba

Let's Make a Deal: Doing Business in Cuba

By the first anniversary of President Barack Obama and Cuban President Raúl Castro's decision to normalize relations last December 17, much had been achieved on the diplomatic front. But progress on the commercial front has been lagging, and unless both sides realize significant economic gains …

Cuba reparations talks should look to future, not past

Just over a year ago, President Obama began thawing the half-century Cold War chill between the U.S. and Cuba when he and President Raul Castro agreed to reestablish diplomatic relations. More recently, Florida-based Stonegate Bank announced it would start issuing debit cards that American …

Reflections on My First Trip to Cuba

If you have never been to Cuba, you cannot really imagine it. Any American steeped in 55 years of anti-Castro rhetoric cannot begin to dream up the real Cuba. Sure, part of it takes one into a time warp with beautifully maintained 1950s vintage cars and old broken down trucks spewing diesel fumes, …

The Boston Girl

• <b>Author:</b> Anita Diamant<p>From the <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author of <i>The Red Tent</i> and <i>Day After Night</i>, comes an unforgettable novel about family ties and values, friendship and feminism told through the eyes of a young Jewish woman growing up in Boston in the early twentieth century.<p>Addie Baum is The …

Porto at street level

Filmmaker Hang Gab Lee explores the coastal city of Porto, Portugal.

A visit to Pedreira da Galinha

Every day hundreds of people visit the Fátima Sanctuary to feel the mystery involved with the Virgin’s apparitions.<p>As we had already visited the …

Sea of Poppies

• <b>Author:</b> Amitav Ghosh<p>At the heart of this vibrant saga is a vast ship, the <i>Ibis</i>. Its destiny is a tumultuous voyage across the Indian Ocean; its purpose, to fight China's vicious nineteenth-century Opium Wars. As for the crew, they are a motley array of sailors and stowaways, coolies and convicts.<p>In …

Euphoria

• <b>Author:</b> Lily King<p>“It’s that moment about two months in, when you think you’ve finally got a handle on the place. Everything clicks and it all feels within your grasp…at that moment the place feels entirely yours. It’s the briefest, purest euphoria.”<p>From the critically-acclaimed author of Father of …

Fall of Giants

• <b>Author:</b> Ken Follett<p><b>Ken Follett’s magnificent new historical epic begins, as five interrelated families move through the momentous dramas of the First World War, the Russian Revolution, and the struggle for women’s suffrage.</b><p>A thirteen-year-old Welsh boy enters a man’s world in the mining pits.…An …

Among the Ten Thousand Things

• <b>Author:</b> Julia Pierpont<p><b>NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE AND THE HUFFINGTON POST • Features an exclusive conversation between Julia Pierpont and Lena Dunham</b><p><b>For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things</b> …

Kitchens of the Great Midwest

• <b>Author:</b> J. Ryan Stradal<p><b>“A sweet and savory treat.” —People</b><p><b>“An impressive feat of narrative jujitsu . . . that keeps readers turning the pages too fast to realize just how ingenious they are.”—The New York Times Book Review, Editor’s Pick</b><i><br>Kitchens of the Great Midwest</i> is a novel about a young woman …

The Ghost Bride

• <b>Author:</b> Yangsze Choo<p>Yangsze Choo’s stunning debut, The Ghost Bride, is a startlingly original novel infused with Chinese folklore, romantic intrigue, and unexpected supernatural twists.<p>Li Lan, the daughter of a respectable Chinese family in colonial Malaysia, hopes for a favorable marriage, but her …

The Handmaid's Tale

• <b>Author:</b> Margaret Atwood<p><b>Now a Hulu Original Series</b><p><i>The Handmaid’s Tale</i> is a novel of such power that the reader will be unable to forget its images and its forecast. Set in the near future, it describes life in what was once the United States and is now called the Republic of Gilead, a monotheocracy …