Sarah Rose

21 Flips | 6 Magazines | @sarahkayrose | Keep up with Sarah Rose on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Sarah Rose”

Teaching Literary Analysis

To guide students toward discovering literature all on their own, the steps of this process need to be introduced in a simplified form. It's very …

Writing Young Adult Fiction For Dummies Cheat Sheet - dummies

The elements of storytelling are the same for young adult fiction and adult fiction, but writers of young adult fiction must come at those elements …

Creative Writing

The 8 Habits of Highly Successful Young-Adult Fiction Authors

Best-selling writers including John Green and Veronica Roth share their strategies for crafting authentic, relatable teen characters—even in fantasy worlds.<p>Young-adult fiction, commonly called "YA fiction," has exploded over the past decade or so: The number of YA titles published grew more than …

The Writer’s Toolbox - Faculty Articles - Gotham Writers Workshop

Six Tips for Writing Young Adult Novels<p>I didn’t start out writing for children. Like many of my fellow young adult/middle-grade authors, I spent …

A teacher gets depressed: a real story in comics

The following is a highly unusual post — not only in form but in subject matter. David Lee Finkle, a middle-school teacher in Florida who draws the comic strip “Mr. Fitz” for the Daytona Beach News-Journal, writes and illustrates the story of his own depression, caused by changes that reform has …

12 New Podcasts That Will Make You A Better Human

Because Serial comes out only once a week.

Self-improvement

Ten Middle Grade Read-Alikes for John Green Books by Angie Manfredi

Posted by CBethM on September 27, 2014 in Top Ten Lists | 18 Comments<p>When I went to our local middle school to do class visits this May, there was …

Why I Will Never Use a Behavior Chart Again

Back to School, Behavior Management, Featured, Responsive Classroom<p>I know from all the clip charts and behavior charts I have seen on Pinterest that …

Do you ACTUALLY Know English?

1<p>Next<p>www.boston.com<p>www.boston.com<p>When do you use a semicolon?<p>x<p>kaplaninternational.com<p>kaplaninternational.com<p>A semicolon is most commonly used to link …

Why Readers, Scientifically, Are The Best People To Fall In Love With

Ever finished a book? I mean, truly finished one? Cover to cover. Closed the spine with that slow awakening that comes with reentering …

Completely Surreal Photos Of America's Abandoned Malls

An inside look at nine abandoned malls. There is nothing creepier and more fascinating.

Urban Design

Kareem: 5 young adult novels adults should read

The recent success of both the novel and film “The Fault in Our Stars” has instigated a cage match of brawling pundits discussing the pros and cons …

Books

RT @LessonToolbox: Totally stealing this great #takeawayhmk idea from @HelenDunnill http://t.co/jJcIEUHsY7 #ukedchat #literacy #engchat #edchat

Bring Your Own Apps - Apps that level the playing field - #byotchat #byod #njed #edtechchat http://t.co/KSTjK7pJy9

Bloom’s revised Taxonomy with verbs!

An Ethical IslandNeed some extra verbs? Here you go!~MiaView original post

Writing Prompts That Just Might Change The World

After I wiped away the tears, it occurred to me that this post could be much, much more than just a morning inspiration.<p>These 20 Photos Are Going To …

If you're not preparing your students to use social media well, you're not doing your job

Our students are living in a world where more than 90% of employers use social media for recruiting. If students are not savvy users of social media, …