Dori

667 Added | 7 Magazines | 2 Likes | 1 Following | 58 Followers | @rtjmom | http://www.perfectlycreatedchaos.com

Catalonia referendum: region holds emergency meeting after tumultuous poll

Carles Puigdemont says EU ‘cannot look the other way’ after almost 900 were injured in referendum crackdown<p>Ripples from Catalan referendum could extend beyond Spain<p>The Catalan president has called for international help in tackling its independence dispute with Spain, saying Europe cannot continue …

Europe

50 dead after shooting on Las Vegas Strip; suspect ID'd

<b>(CNN) —</b> Stephen Paddock, who sent bullets and terror down on thousands attending a Jason Aldean concert in Las Vegas, had an arsenal in his 32nd-floor hotel room and at his home 80 miles away, officials said.<p>Police recovered 23 guns from his Las Vegas hotel room and another 19 guns from Paddock's …

Las Vegas

Theresa May's Brexit speech in Florence- what to expect, and how the EU will react

Theresa Maywill tomorrow deliver her first major Brexit speech since her Lancaster House address last January setting out her original vision for Britain outside the EU.<p>With the Brexit negotiations now deadlocked over the so-called ‘Brexit bill’ and the role of the EU courts, Europe is looking for …

United Kingdom

Body found at collapsed Mexico school; girl still trapped

MEXICO CITY (AP) — As painstaking attempts to reach survivors in quake-ravaged buildings across Mexico City stretched into a third day Thursday, desperation mounted among loved ones who earlier had high hopes for quick rescues and some complained they were being kept in the dark about search …

Mexico

Trump: ‘We Will Be Putting More Sanctions On North Korea’

President Donald Trump announced Thursday that he had signed an executive order authorizing additional sanctions against North Korea by targeting individuals, companies and financial institutions that do business with what he called "this criminal rogue regime."<p>Speaking before a meeting with South …

North Korea

Oklahoma City police fatally shoot deaf man who did not respond to commands

(Reuters) - A deaf man holding a metal pipe was fatally shot by Oklahoma City police who yelled for him to drop his weapon and get on the ground but did not know he could not hear, a police spokesman said on Wednesday.<p>An investigation into a hit-and-run accident on Tuesday night led officers to a …

Law Enforcement

Police question six people over Parsons Green tube bombing

Seventeen-year-old held in south London and home cordoned off as police investigating District line explosion search property<p>Police investigating the attempted bombing of a London tube train last Friday have made a sixth arrest.<p>A 17-year-old boy was arrested under the Terrorism Act shortly after …

Extremism

Diplomats meet on Iran deal as Trump stays mum on decision

NEW YORK (AP) — President Donald Trump has determined how he wants to approach the Iran nuclear deal — which he has called the worst agreement ever negotiated by the United States — but has not told even his top national security advisers what his decision is.<p>Secretary of State Rex Tillerson said …

South Asia

Maria Strikes, and Puerto Rico Goes Dark

SAN JUAN, P.R. — <i>Read the latest with Thursday’s live updates on Hurricane Maria.</i><p>Hurricane Maria, the most powerful storm to make a direct hit on Puerto Rico in almost a century, ravaged the island on Wednesday, knocking out all electricity, deluging towns with flashfloods and mudslides and …

Caribbean

Earthquake death toll climbs to 225 in Mexico as frantic search continues for survivors

Firefighters, soldiers and volunteers, at times working with bare hands and donated flashlights, searched massive piles of rubble for any signs of life Wednesday after a violent earthquake that toppled buildings across central Mexico.<p>There were moments of relief when still-breathing, dust-covered …

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry

• <b>Author:</b> Gabrielle Zevin<p><b>A New York Times Bestseller, a #1 Indie Next Pick, and a #1 LibraryReads Selection</b><p><b>“This novel has humor, romance, a touch of suspense, but most of all love--love of books and bookish people and, really, all of humanity in its imperfect glory.” —Eowyn Ivey, author of The Snow</b> …

McCain Gives Heroic Speech Denouncing Terrible Thing That He Just Voted For

Shortly after news broke that John McCain would return to the Senate Tuesday — in time to vote on advancing his party’s heinous health-care bill — …

11 Brand New Books You Should Read This July

We’re all for trying out this summer’s hottest trends (spiced rosé lattes and <i>Baywatch</i>-inspired swimsuits are definitely all over our Pinterest boards), but we’re also super excited to sit back and relax with some classic summertime reading too. If you’re anything like us, you’ve already read …

Books

The Cafe by the Sea

• <b>Author:</b> Jenny Colgan<p>The beloved author of The Bookshop on the Corner returns with a sparkling, sunny, soulful new novel perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand. Years ago, Flora fled the quiet Scottish island where she grew up -- and she hasn't looked back. What would she have done on Mure? It's a …

What We Lose

• <b>Author:</b> Zinzi Clemmons<p><b>A National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 Honoree<br>NBCC John Leonard First Book Prize Finalist<br>Aspen Words Literary Prize Finalist<br>California Book Award First Fiction Finalist<br>Longlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction<br>Named a Best Book of the Year by Vogue, NPR,</b> …

Love Story

• <b>Author:</b> Karen Kingsbury<p>From #1 <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author Karen Kingsbury comes a new romantic story featuring everyone’s favorite family—the Baxters—which tells the story of how John and Elizabeth first fell in love.<p>From the day they met, John and Elizabeth were destined to fall in love. …

Behold the Dreamers (Oprah's Book Club)

• <b>Author:</b> Imbolo Mbue<p><b>A compulsively readable debut novel about marriage, immigration, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream—the unforgettable story of a young Cameroonian couple making a new life in New York just as the Great Recession upends the economy</b><p><b>New York Times Bestseller •</b> …

The FORGETTING TIME

• <b>Author:</b> Sharon Guskin<p>Noah wants to go home. A seemingly easy request from most four year olds. But as Noah's single-mother, Janie, knows, nothing with Noah is ever easy. One day the pre-school office calls and says Janie needs to come in to talk about Noah, and no, not later, <i>now</i> - and life as she …

Everything I Never Told You

• <b>Author:</b> Celeste Ng<p><b>New York Times Bestseller · A New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice · Winner of the Alex Award· Winner of the APALA Award for Fiction · NEA Big Read Selection</b> <b></b><b><br>Don't miss Celeste Ng’s new novel, Little Fires Everywhere, coming September 2017.</b> <br>NAMED A <b>BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR</b> BY: <b></b><br>NPR …

Virginia Muslim girl's murder not a hate crime, officials say Video

ABC News' David Muir reports the stories people are buzzing about.

Crime

White House says it retains right to self-defense in Syria; Moscow warns Washington

WASHINGTON/MOSCOW (Reuters) - The White House said on Monday that coalition forces fighting Islamic State militants in Syria retained the right to self-defense as Russia warned it viewed any planes flying in its area of operations as potential targets.<p>A U.S. Navy F/A-18E Super Hornet launches from …

Middle East

London on edge as authorities investigate attack by man heard to say: 'I want to kill Muslims'

In a city shaken by a string of recent attacks blamed on Islamist extremists, it was an all-too familiar scene: A van tearing through a crowd, leaving bloodied and terrified people in its wake.<p>Only this time, authorities say the driver was 47-year-old Darren Osborne, a father of four from Wales who …

Otto Warmbier Dies After Return From North Korea

Otto Warmbier, the 22-year-old student who was returned in an unconscious state last week from North Korea, died Monday, his family said.<p>"Surrounded by his loving family, Otto died today at 2:20 p.m.," his parents, Fred and Cindy Warmbier, said in a statement.<p>Otto Warmbier's doctors at University …

North Korea

One Last Thing Before I Go

• <b>Author:</b> Jonathan Tropper<p><b>The bestselling author of</b> <i>This Is Where I Leave You</i> <b>returns with a hilarious and heart-rending tale about one familiy's struggle to reconnect.</b><p>“Mistakes have been made.” Drew Silver has begun to accept that life isn’t going to turn out as he expected. His fleeting fame as the …

The Nightingale

• <b>Author:</b> Kristin Hannah<p>In love we find out who we want to be.<br>In war we find out who we are. <br>FRANCE, 1939 <br>In the quiet village of Carriveau, Vianne Mauriac says goodbye to her husband, Antoine, as he heads for the Front. She doesn’t believe that the Nazis will invade France...but invade they do, in …

Revealed: Facebook exposed identities of moderators to suspected terrorists

A security lapse that affected more than 1,000 workers forced one moderator into hiding – and he still lives in constant fear for his safety<p>Facebook put the safety of its content moderators at risk after inadvertently exposing their personal details to suspected terrorist users of the social …

Internet

Russia says it may have killed ISIS leader Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi

<b>(CNN) —</b> The Russian Defense Ministry said it is investigating reports that ISIS leader Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi was killed in one of its airstrikes in Syria last month.<p>The May 28 airstrike was carried out on the outskirts of the militant group's de facto capital, Raqqa, on a command post where ISIS …

Islam

Trump lashes out at Russia probe; Pence hires a lawyer

Scenes from the Republican’s first months in the White House.<p>Scenes from the Republican’s beginning months in the White House.<p>A heightened sense of unease gripped the White House on Thursday, as President Trump lashed out at reports that he’s under scrutiny over whether he obstructed justice, aides …

Donald Trump

Could Facebook posts provide clues as to why James Hodgkinson opened fire on members of Congress? Video

The FBI is focusing on posts expressing disdain for Republicans, including calling the president a traitor.

Republicans

San Francisco Shooting: At Least Two Killed at UPS Facility, Law Enforcement Sources Say

LOS ANGELES — A gunman in a UPS uniform killed three people and wounded two others before turning his weapon on himself as police approached at a company facility in San Francisco early Wednesday, authorities said.<p>The suspect, identified late Wednesday as Jimmy Lam, 38, of San Francisco, was dead …

California