RO

15 Added | 4 Magazines | 6 Likes | 1 Following | @rolechowski | Keep up with RO on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “RO”

Provence, 1970

• <b>Author:</b> Luke Barr<p><i>Provence, 1970</i> is about a singular historic moment. In the winter of that year, more or less coincidentally, the iconic culinary figures James Beard, M.F.K. Fisher, Julia Child, Richard Olney, Simone Beck, and Judith Jones found themselves together in the South of France. They …

The Mushroom Hunters

• <b>Author:</b> Langdon Cook<p><b>In the tradition of Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Susan Orlean’s The Orchid Thief, and Mark Kurlansky’s Cod—a renowned culinary adventurer goes into the woods with the iconoclasts and outlaws who seek the world’s most coveted ingredient . . . and one of nature’s last</b> …

43 new books for fall 2013

Here in the book department, our pulse is quickening. This coming fall will see tomes published by writers gifted at making things up, with new …

Books

Doomsday Machine

“You get a get-out-of-jail-free card when you reach a certain age,” says Margaret Atwood, sitting on the edge of a chair in the austere library of …

Amazon Book Editors Announce the Big Fall Books Preview

<b>Amazon Book Editors Announce the Big Fall Books Preview</b><p><i>Amazon customers can get an early look at fall's most anticipated reads, as well as editors'</i> …

The Childhood of Jesus by JM Coetzee – review

JM Coetzee's tale of a man and a boy's new life in an imagined socialist state is bewildering<p>It's a relief after reading a lot of contemporary fiction to come across the sober prose of Coetzee. He doesn't shout at you. He doesn't try to force on you any kind of facial expression – of amusement or …

Bill Gates pitches in for online education resource Graphite

The Microsoft chairman and longtime donor to educational causes partners with Common Sense Media to launch a Web site that offers free apps, games, and curricula to teachers.<p>Microsoft Chairman Bill Gates is putting his money where his mouth is. He is backing a new initiative called Graphite that is …

Indian duo is the world's most hilariously dysfunctional rally team

"Stay on the road, Samy. Samy, I beg of you!"<p>We're used to seeing rally drivers and navigators form great partnerships: Colin McRae and Nicky Grist, Sebastien Loeb and and Daniel Elena. Those pairs worked in perfect harmony as they flew through forests and past deadly cliffs. What you're about to …

Team Oneil gives us the left-foot braking basics

Getting schooled.<p>These days, there are plenty of ways to get an education behind the wheel. There are performance driving schools of every ilk tucked into just about every corner of the country. Team Oneil Rally School remains one of the best if you want help figuring out how to go fast on …

DP Motorsport 911 Sleeper 3.2 will keep you up at night

Sleeper, they say.<p>When it comes to older, modified Porsche 911 models, there's no stopping my brain from jumping straight to the beautiful machinery cranked out by the Singer team. But there are other companies out there doing a smart business of prettying up old German hardware. Despite the …

Pebble Beach 2013: 1984 Audi Quattro

The Ur-Quattro made AWD sexy.<p>There are faster cars than the Quattro, and definitely more reliable. But as we said last winter, "Audi paved the way" for an all-wheel-drive sports car to enter the market. Yes, I recognize the existence of the four-wheel-drive Jensen Interceptor FF, but that was not …

Pebble Beach 2013: 1972 Porsche 911 STR II

A very special 911 goes under the hammer.<p>If you weren't blown away by Magnus Walker in our June profile, we need to have a talk. He is among the foremost of a new group of Porsche builders turning out increasingly startling restomods, and we liked his 1972 Porsche 911 STR II so much that we put it …

This Subaru BRZ tS is not an STI

But it does have STI parts—just not in the U.S.<p>In case you haven't yet forgiven Subaru for stirring up some STI hysteria the other week, you should turn the other cheek. Forgive, and then meditate on the idea of a new WRX STI coming down the pipeline sometime soon. Because we can all be safe in …

Incredible Charcoal Drawings Textured with Scalpel Blades and Sandpaper

Scottish artist Douglas McDougall creates fantastically photorealistic drawings using charcoal as his primary medium but then he textures each work using scalpel blades, sharply cut erasers and coarse sandpaper. The detail to each piece is mind-blowing, especially when it comes to facial hair and …

Sandpaper