Robyn Lippingwell

22 Flips | 1 Magazine | 1 Like | 1 Follower | @robynlippin6lp7 | Keep up with Robyn Lippingwell on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Robyn Lippingwell”

Ben Austen's new book on Chicago's Cabrini-Green public housing reveals struggles in the city's past and future

One afternoon recently, on one of those winter days when everything seems gray and white and frozen, Ben Austen stood next to the remains of the housing project formerly known as Cabrini-Green.<p>“This is lost Chicago,” he said.<p>Behind him stretched the once-famous Cabrini rowhouses, 146 of them still …

JK Rowling created an army of liberals – now they are turning against her

“I just think she wrote many beautiful things in Harry Potter, but she doesn’t live up to them in real life.”<p>Alice’s magic wand is made of pine, and …

The Girl on the Train

• <b>Author:</b> Paula Hawkins<p><b>YOU DON'T KNOW HER. BUT SHE KNOWS YOU.<br>Rear Window meets Gone Girl, in this exceptional and startling psychological thriller</b><p><b>'Gripping, enthralling - a top-notch thriller and a compulsive read'</b> <b><br>S J WATSON, bestselling author of Before I Go To Sleep</b><p>Rachel catches the same commuter …

Disclaimer

• <b>Author:</b> Renée Knight<p><b>THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER</b><p>SHORTLISTED FOR THE THEAKSTON'S OLD PECULIER CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR 2016<br>LONGLISTED FOR THE DESMOND ELLIOTT PRIZE 2016<p><b>Imagine if the next thriller you opened was all about you.</b><p><b>'An addictive novel with shades of Gone Girl'</b><i><br>Sunday Times</i><p>When an intriguing …

The Mistake I Made

• <b>Author:</b> Paula Daly<p><b>If you slept with a stranger for money, who'd really end up paying?</b><p>'A page-turning thriller with heart' Renée Knight, author of <i>Disclaimer</i><p><b>We all think we know who we are.</b><p><b>What we’re capable of.</b><p>Roz is a single mother, a physiotherapist, a sister, a friend. She’s also desperate.<p>Her …

Big Little Lies

• <b>Author:</b> Liane Moriarty<p><b>Discover the #1 BESTSELLING novel behind the EMMY- and GOLDEN GLOBE-WINNING HBO TV series.</b><p><b>And get ready for the highly-anticipated second series of Big Little Lies by reading the first book . . .</b><p>-----------------------------<p>Perfect families, perfect houses, perfect lives.<p>Three …

Dead Man's Time

• <b>Author:</b> Peter James<p><b>Some will wait a lifetime to take their revenge. . .</b><p>A vicious robbery at a secluded Brighton mansion leaves its elderly occupant dying. Millions of pounds' worth of valuables have been stolen.<p>But as Detective Superintendent Roy Grace, heading the enquiry, rapidly learns, there is …

The Girl in the Spider's Web

• <b>Author:</b> David Lagercrantz & George Goulding<p><b>THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO IS BACK WITH A UK NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER</b><p>Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist have not been in touch for some time.<p>Then Blomkvist is contacted by renowned Swedish scientist Professor Balder. Warned that his life is in danger, …

Missing You

• <b>Author:</b> Harlan Coben<p>It's a profile, like all the others on the online dating site. But as NYPD Detective Kat Donovan focuses on the accompanying picture, she feels her whole world explode, as emotions she's ignored for decades come crashing down on her. Staring back at her is her ex-fiancé Jeff, …

Friday on My Mind

• <b>Author:</b> Nicci French<p>Rich in intrigue, intensity and atmosphere, Friday on my Mind is classic Nicci French - a dark, gripping and sophisticated masterclass in psychological suspense in which nothing is quite what it seems . . . 'Nicci French's sophisticated, compassionate and gripping crime novels …

The Ice Princess

• <b>Author:</b> Camilla Läckberg<p>The gripping psychological thriller debut of the No.1 international bestselling Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg.<p>Returning to her hometown after the funeral of her parents, writer Erica Falck finds a community on the brink of tragedy. The death of her childhood …

The Doll's House

• <b>Author:</b> M. J. Arlidge<p><i>The Doll's House</i> is the new twisting and terrifying thriller in the Detective Inspector Helen Grace series from M.J. Arlidge. Arlidge is the author of <i>Eeny Meeny</i> and <i>Pop Goes the Weasel</i>, and has been dubbed 'the new Jo Nesbo'.<p><b>No Game. No Escape.</b><p>A woman wakes up and opens her …

All the Colours of Darkness

• <b>Author:</b> Peter Robinson<p><b>A beautiful June day in the Yorkshire Dales, and a group of children are spending the last of their half-term freedom swimming in the river near Hipswell Woods.</b><p>But the idyll is shattered by their discovery of a mans body, hanging from a tree. DI Annie Cabott soon discovers he …

The Ice Twins

• <b>Author:</b> S. K. Tremayne<p>One of Sarah’s daughters died. But can she be sure which one? A terrifying psychological thriller perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN.<p>A year after one of their identical twin daughters, Lydia, dies in an accident, Angus and Sarah Moorcraft move to the tiny Scottish …

Wounded Prey

• <b>Author:</b> Sean Lynch<p>"A visceral and heart-wrenching cross between <b>NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN</b> and <b>SILENCE of the LAMBS.</b>"<br>-Bestselling author Emlyn Rees<p>“<b>Wounded Prey</b> is a non-stop thrill ride of a book. Unrelenting, brutal, scary, and at times skin-crawling in its depiction of atrocious crimes. And yet it is …

Let Me Die in His Footsteps

• <b>Author:</b> Lori Roy<p>On a dark Kentucky night in 1952, exactly halfway between her fifteenth and sixteenth birthdays, Annie Holleran crosses over into forbidden territory. It’s been that way since Joseph Carl Baine was hanged in 1936. But local superstition says that tonight Annie can see her future in …

Normal: The Most Original Thriller Of The Year

• <b>Author:</b> Graeme Cameron<p>"Hypnotic and chilling — you won't forget this in a hurry." – Lee Child<p>NOMINATED FOR THE STRAND CRITICS AWARD FOR BEST FIRST NOVEL OF 2015<p>He lives on your street, in a nice house with a tidy garden. He shops at your local supermarket. He drives beside you, waving to let you …

The Accident

• <b>Author:</b> C.L. Taylor<p>‘A rollercoaster of a suspense novel with multiple twists’ Daily Mail<p>KEEPING THIS SECRET WAS KILLING HER…<p>A gripping psychological thriller about the deadly secrets your children can keep …<p>Sue Jackson has the perfect family but when her teenage daughter Charlotte deliberately …

Career of Evil

• <b>Author:</b> Robert Galbraith<p><b>Now a major BBC drama as part of the Cormoran Strike series</b><p>When a mysterious package is delivered to Robin Ellacott, she is horrified to discover that it contains a woman's severed leg.<p>Her boss, private detective Cormoran Strike, is less surprised but no less alarmed. There …

Someone Out There

• <b>Author:</b> Catherine Hunt<p>A story of obsession, revenge and deceit, and a woman caught up in terrifying circumstances. Perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins, C. L. Taylor and Helen Fields.<p>Laura Maxwell appears to have it all – perfect career, perfect husband, perfect life. But how well do you really know …

The Final Minute

• <b>Author:</b> Simon Kernick<p><b>Featuring Simon Kernick's maverick detective, TINA BOYD, this is the gripping new race-against-time thriller by the best-selling author of Relentless, The Last 10 Secondsand Stay Alive.</b><p><i>‘It’s night, and I’m in a strange house.</i><p><i>The lights are on, and and I’m standing outside a</i> …

Sharp Objects

• <b>Author:</b> Gillian Flynn<p>Some scars never heal . . . An addictive thriller from the author of the mega bestseller, GONE GIRL.<p>When two girls are abducted and killed in Missouri, journalist Camille Preaker is sent back to her home town to report on the crimes.<p>Long-haunted by a childhood tragedy and …