nickhamman

653 Flips | 14 Magazines | 14 Following | 1 Follower | @nickhamman | Keep up with nickhamman on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “nickhamman”

These Easy Dinners Are Ready in the Time It Takes to Watch Your Favorite Show

Between long hours in the office, late-night workouts, and running errands on the way home from a busy day, it can be easy to put dinner off until …

Recipes

Wrench video game makes you a 'virtual' mechanic

Learn how to work on a car without getting your hands dirty.<p><i>Wrench</i> is an upcoming video game for PC that's part of the burgeoning sub-genre that lets …

Virtual Reality

How to Set Up a Virtual Machine for Free

There are plenty of reasons to run a virtual machine. The first, and most compelling, is that you want to play: Maybe there are some other operating …

Operating Systems

Design Thinking Is Fundamentally Conservative and Preserves the Status Quo

When it comes to design thinking, the bloom is off the rose. Billed as a set of tools for innovation, design thinking has been enthusiastically and, to some extent, uncritically adopted by firms and universities alike as an approach for the development of innovative solutions to complex problems. …

Design Thinking

6 foolproof ways to improve your graphic design skills

It can be easy to get stuck in a rut as a designer. You find a style or niche that makes the most of what you're good at, and before you know it your …

Graphic Design

Everyone’s favorite home security camera with remote pan and zoom is just $37 right now

The YI Cloud Dome-Style Home Camera has been a fan favorite and a best-seller on Amazon for a long time. It offers all the great features you would …

Home Security

7 Must-Read Books About Agile Project Management for Startup Leaders

Sharing thoughts, experiences, and ideas with the whole world has never been easier than it is now. At the same time, it’s becoming increasingly …

Project Management

The Coming Collapse

The Trump administration did not rise, prima facie, like Venus on a half shell from the sea. Donald Trump is the result of a long process of …

Mono Cabin

You can order this tiny prefab cabin for under $22K and place it anywhere you desire. Mono is the culmination of years of engineering and design, …

Design

Pork Ribs Vindaloo

These juicy, saucy ribs are chef Floyd Cardoz’s ode to his mother’s pork vindaloo. “There’s nothing more American than ribs,” says Cardoz. “I wanted …

From picking to pollinating, agribots are pushing farming into the future

A shiny, metallic one-armed robot wheels along the rows of red pepper plants, its video camera bobbing up and down to spot the ripened fruit. When it …

Ben-Gurion University

How To Prioritize Your Product Backlog: Build Products, Not Fluff

The word “prioritize” has kept product managers awake at night since the time pigeons carried messages and horses pulled carts.<p>In the early days of …

VR firefighter training simulator keeps Big Data close to its chest

Firefighting is a dangerous gig by nature, so training is particularly important. But training can be just as dangerous, not to mention costly and …

How Consultants Project Expertise and Learn at the Same Time

Young management consultants may be novices, but they’re sold as experts. Conversely, even experienced consultants, who legitimately present themselves as experts, still feel like novices when they embark on a new project.<p>The challenge with effective consulting is that it depends on in-depth …

Management

Amazon quietly invited Congress to 'weigh in' on facial recognition

When Amazon's controversial facial recognition system mistakenly matched 28 members of Congress with criminal mugshots, it caused quite a stir. Particularly among some of those congressmen, who demanded immediate answers.<p>Now, Amazon has published an official blog post disputing the results of that …

Surveillance

IBM's Watson reportedly created unsafe cancer treatment plans

Medical experts apparently found multiple instances of unsafe recommendations by the system.<p>Last year, studies presented at the American Society of Clinical Oncology's annual meeting showed that IBM Watson was pretty darn good at creating treatment plans for cancer patients. Turns out, however, …

Cancer Treatment

Netflix 'Shoe Dog' biopic will focus on Nike's Phil Knight

It'll be produced by Frank Marshall of "Jurassic Park" and "Jason Bourne" fame.<p>Netflix has optioned the rights to Phil Knight's bestselling memoir <i>Shoe Dog</i> and hired <i>Jurassic World</i>'s Frank Marshall to produce a biopic on the Nike founder. The 2016 book tells the story of how Knight, starting with …

American Crime Story

Think VR is dying? It’s just getting started

Have you heard the news? Analyst reports are in and apparently, it’s curtains for Virtual Reality (VR).<p>Pardon us if we’re not heeding the alarms. …

This robot will draw and erase anything on your walls

Scribit is a drawing robot that can turn your walls into a work of art. The little bot raised over $1.6 million on Kickstarter, crushing the …

Why I don’t invest in AI

Last year AI companies attracted more than $10.8 billion in funding from venture capitalists like me. AI has the ability to enable smarter decision-making. It allows entrepreneurs and innovators to create products of great value to the customer. So why don’t I don’t focus on investing in AI?<p>During …

Kelder Architects Have Designed A House That Opens To A Courtyard With A BBQ Terrace, A Grassy Lawn, And A Pool

Kelder Architects have recently completed a custom contemporary house in Brisbane, Australia, that was designed for their builder/developer …

Despite shadiness and crackdowns, the ICO boom is bigger than ever

The initial coin offering marketplace has a sketchy reputation thanks to scammers, and it’s in the spotlight of financial regulators all over the …

Sleeping Giants

• <b>Author:</b> Sylvain Neuvel<p><b>A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.</b> <b></b><br>A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, …

How to Make Thin Extra Crispy Pizza Crust

You don’t have to call pizza delivery in order to enjoy the savory taste of hot pizza; you can make your own. Many homemade pizza recipes feature …

Creativity, Inc.

• <b>Author:</b> Ed Catmull & Amy Wallace<p><b>From a co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios—the Academy Award–winning studio behind Coco, Inside Out, and Toy Story—comes an incisive book about creativity in business and leadership for readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.</b><p><b>NEW YORK TIMES</b> …

Cracking the PM Interview

• <b>Author:</b> McDowell, Gayle Laakmann & Bavaro, Jackie<p>How many pizzas are delivered in Manhattan? How do you design an alarm clock for the blind? What is your favorite piece of software and why? How would you launch a video rental service in India? This book will teach you how to answer these questions …

Ugly Americans

• <b>Author:</b> Ben Mezrich<p>Ben Mezrich, author of the New York Times bestseller Bringing Down the House, returns with an astonishing story of Ivy League hedge-fund cowboys, high stakes, and the Asian underworld.<p>John Malcolm was the ultimate gunslinger in the Wild East, prepared to take on any level of risk …

How Can Cities Succeed in the 21st Century? Focus on Community.

None<p>How Can Cities Succeed in the 21st Century?<p>Enterprising workers are moving to cities in droves. But as economic forces threaten to pull us apart, transforming work and life as we know it, we must embrace community and pave the way for a rising generation of entrepreneurs.<p>Illustrations by Doug …

Traditional Retailers Focus On Customer Experience At The Expense Of Other Innovations

Almost every retailer out there will tell you they need to be more innovative, and that this is hard. Retail has long been an industry focused on buying low, selling high, and optimizing everything in between. Having to meet an expectation of providing content, services, experience, engagement and …