Michelle Hawver

33 Flips | 3 Magazines | 3 Likes | 10 Following | 1 Follower | @michellehaw2014 | Keep up with Michelle Hawver on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Michelle Hawver”

Even the police think this Wisconsin high school's senior prank is 'one of the best'

Police can be jaded. They have seen it all.<p>Except when they saw what seniors at a Wisconsin high school did for their final-year prank.<p>Cops in Cumberland, a small city in the west of the Badger State, declared that the hilarious hoax was "one of the best senior pranks that Cumberland High School …

High School

The KFC Royal Wedding Bucket Celebrates This Detail Of The Royal Engagement

As the date of the highly anticipated royal wedding between Meghan Markle and Prince Harry quickly approaches, the excitement continues to grow. It …

Royal Weddings

A soldier needed an ear transplant. Doctors 'grew' a new one in her arm.

Two years ago, Army Pvt. Shamika Burrage almost died when she was ejected from her car during a crash in Texas. Afterward, when she woke up in the hospital, she wasn't whole. Her entire left ear was gone.<p>But the now-21-year-old is on the path to recovery. And due to a procedure hailed as the "first …

El Paso

Chinese geologists say North Korea nuclear test site collapsed, may explain end of program

BEIJING — A study by Chinese geologists shows the mountain above North Korea’s main nuclear test site has collapsed under the stress of the explosions, rendering it unsafe for further testing and necessitating monitoring for any leaking radiation.<p>The findings by the scientists at the University of …

South Korea

Dog Always Brings A Leaf To 'Buy' Himself Treats At The Store

"He's found a way to make himself understood. He's very intelligent."<p>Some dogs beg for treats. This clever pup <i>pays</i> for his.<p>For the last five years or …

Pets

Heinz Is Letting Customers Vote on the Release of a Mayonnaise-Ketchup Combo: Mayochup

Heinz is wondering whether the world has room for one more condiment. And this one will come with an awfully interesting name—and combination.<p>The …

Before We Were Yours

• <b>Author:</b> Lisa Wingate<p><b>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”*</b><p>Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger …

Lovecraft Country

• <b>Author:</b> Matt Ruff<p>The critically acclaimed cult novelist makes visceral the terrors of life in Jim Crow America and its lingering effects in this brilliant and wondrous work of the imagination that melds historical fiction, pulp noir, and Lovecraftian horror and fantasy.<p>Chicago, 1954. When his …

'Take On Me' app turns your home into an '80s music video

A-ha's classic video for "Take On Me" was the result of painstaking effort -- it took 16 weeks to rotoscope the frames, creating that signature blend between the real and hand-drawn worlds. Now, however, you only need an iPhone to recreate the look yourself. Trixi Studios has shown off an augmented …

All Extremely Confident People Give Up These 13 Habits | Inc.com

Real confidence is not narcissism.<p>Although the two often get confused, people with narcissistic tendencies need everyone to think that they're special. They have a need for admiration and a sense of entitlement that's rooted in deep-seated insecurities. Authentic confidence has nothing to do with …

Self-help

Product Design: Portable Wireless Keyboard by Orée Artisans

We would like to share this cool product design made by Orée Artisans, what they built is a range of lasting technology like accessories for your …

Backyard Room

If you´ve ever wanted to ditch the commute and work from home but the site of the kitchen table day in day out doesn´t appeal, the Backyard Room …

Our Souls at Night

• <b>Author:</b> Kent Haruf<p><b>A Best Book of the Year</b> <i><br>The Boston Globe, St. Louis Post-Dispatch,</i> and <i>The Denver Post</i><p>In the familiar setting of Holt, Colorado, home to all of Kent Haruf's inimitable fiction, Addie Moore pays an unexpected visit to a neighbor, Louis Waters. Her husband died years ago, as did his …

19 Places Animal Lovers Should Visit Before They Die

Swim with pigs, scope out sloths, watch seal pups play, and more.<p><i>Note: While these places are great to see animals, visitors should be respectful and cautious. Unless informed otherwise at the attraction, keep an appropriate distance from wild animals and don't feed them, no matter how freakin'</i> …

National Parks

20 Profound Ways to Instantly Reduce Your Stress

Stress. Yes, we all have it. And yes, you can manage it like a boss.<p>How's your stress level? Well, whatever it is, know that it's human to stress.<p>But the good news is that we can manage it, and certainly minimize it, by making some positive changes. That is, of course, all dependent on the life …

Choking Goldfish Gets Emergency Pebble Extraction

When a Brisbane woman noticed her pet goldfish choking, it was time for some emergent care, no matter the cost.<p>A Brisbane, Australia woman noticed …

Fish

The 5 Muscle Groups Guys Neglect Most

By K. Aleisha Fetters for Life by Daily Burn<p>Photo: Pond5<p>There are some muscle groups guys love to train -- namely, the ones that look great under a t-shirt. And hey, your chest, bicep, abdominal and shoulder muscles all make huge contributions to your overall strength. But so do a lot of other …

North Korea praises Trump and urges US voters to reject 'dull Hillary'

North Korean state media has praised US presidential hopeful Donald Trump, describing him as a “wise politician” and “far-sighted candidate<i>”</i> who could help unify the Korean peninsula.<p>An editorial in DPRK Today, an official media outlet, welcomed the Republican presidential candidate’s proposal to …

North Korea

Jeb Bush says Donald Trump's supporters aren't a bunch of idiots

<b>Washington (CNN) —</b> Jeb Bush on Saturday said Donald Trump is a skilled politician with a "very powerful message" about shaking up Washington, but he argued the presumptive Republican nominee is campaigning in a way that's "preying on people's angst rather than offering tangible solutions."<p>At a …

Government

5 Mad Inventions Kanye Wants To Make With Mark Zuckerburg’s Billion Dollar Investment

To the ever-increasing list of people Kanye West has compared himself to, you may now add Walt Disney – and that gem is just one of an embarrassment …

This Photo of a Potato Sold for Over $1,000,000

Check out this photo of a potato. It may look like a rather ordinary photo, but it’s one of the most expensive photos in the world: it sold last year …

Watch Alan Rickman Make a Cup of Tea

A beautiful video to watch in remembrance of Alan Rickman.<p>Once again this week, we were saddened to wake up to the loss of a legendary man. Whether …

Couple's Dog Is the Cameraman on Their Enchanting Wedding Day

Addie and Marshall Burnette decided not to use a traditional videographer when they eloped a few weeks ago. Instead, they strapped a GoPro onto their Siberian Husky Ryder and trusted her to film the entire journey. From Addie getting ready to the enchanting ceremony amidst Roan Mountain's snowy …

'Metal Gear Solid V' fans turned a puppy into a man, and it's magical

The contentious history between fans of PC gaming and fans of console gaming usually circles back to one, vital point in favor of the keyboard-loving …

The Queen of the Tearling

• <b>Author:</b> Erika Johansen<p>A #1 Indie Next Pick and LibraryReads Selection<p>Magic, adventure, mystery, and romance combine in this epic debut in which a young princess must reclaim her dead mother’s throne, learn to be a ruler—and defeat the Red Queen, a powerful and malevolent sorceress determined to …

Remember Me Like This

• <b>Author:</b> Bret Anthony Johnston<p>A gripping novel with the pace of a thriller but the nuanced characterization and deep empathy of some of the literary canon’s most beloved novels, <i>Remember Me Like This</i> introduces Bret Anthony Johnston as one of the most gifted storytellers writing today. With his …

All the Light We Cannot See

• <b>Author:</b> Anthony Doerr<p><b>WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE</b><br>From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant <i>New York Times</i> bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the …

A Stranger in the Kingdom

• <b>Author:</b> Howard Frank Mosher<p>Howard Frank Mosher has earned both critical acclaim and a wide readership for his vivid historical portraits of northern New England residents in his fictional Kingdom County, Vermont. A Stranger in the Kingdom tells the unforgettable story of a brutal murder in a small …

The Dinner

• <b>Author:</b> Herman Koch<p><b>"A European Gone Girl." --The Wall Street Journal</b><br>An internationally bestselling phenomenon: the darkly suspenseful, highly controversial tale of two families struggling to make the hardest decision of their lives -- all over the course of one meal.<p>It's a summer's evening in …