Haunted Ink

By Michael Heumann | For fans of Pye Corner Audio, Children of the Stones, modular synths, and science fiction

WATCH: Everything you didn't know about David Lynch's Dune

Give me spice!<p>Frank Herbert’s immortal 1965 sci-fi novel <i>Dune</i> first struck the silver screen back on Dec. 14, 1984 in a big budget debacle adapted and …

Science Fiction

Exclusive: Check out Ace Books' trippy cover for new edition of Frank Herbert's Dune

Frank Herbert's <i>Dune</i> is the granddaddy of all science fiction novels and perhaps one of the most widely read and influential books of the 20th …

Science Fiction

Netflix has optioned John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War

If the service follows through on making a film, it could launch a strong franchise for Netflix’s original-content roster<p>After years of teases and dead ends, we might yet get an adaptation of John Scalzi’s 2006 military science fiction novel <i>Old Man’s War</i>. <i>Deadline</i> reports that Netflix has optioned …

Syfy

plonk plonk #plonk #eurorack

This New Netflix Series Looks Like "Blade Runner" On Speed, And I'm 110% Here For It

"Live forever in the body you deserve."

Netflix

Steven Moffat unveils his final Doctor Who episode – and reveals why Carey Mulligan said no to the Tardis

The departing showrunner introduces his last Christmas special starring Peter Capaldi – and David Bradley – as the Doctor<p>By Patrick Mulkern<p>Sunday, …

TV Series

The Top 20 Punk Albums You Should Already Own

Some punk albums are influential; some are innovative. Here, in no uncertain terms, are 20 of the albums that span that gap. If one of your favorite …

Iggy Pop

Tapographic Delay (TAPO) from 4ms Company and Matthias Puech -- Resonant Milieu

YouTube

I Watched All 18 Hours of ‘Twin Peaks: The Return’ in a Row. It’s Even Better That Way.

When David Lynch first began speaking to the press last spring about the impending premiere of <i>Twin Peaks: The Return</i>, he frequently referred to the …

TV

Andy Weir's 6 favorite science fiction books

<b>I, Robot by Isaac Asimov</b> (Spectra, $8).<p>Asimov's first collection of stories established a setting and made it feel deeply real. That setting would …

EMS Synthi Technical Overview

In this video, Synthesizer Keith takes an in-depth look at the rare <b>EMS Synthi</b> analog modular synthesizer.<p>The EMS Synthi is a unique suitcase modular …

Instagram

Serialized Television Has Become a Disease

At New York Comic Con, during the <i>Star Trek: Discovery</i> panel, Alex Kurtzman said something that I’ve been thinking about a lot. He said that you …

Pitch? IDGAF. Chiptune-esque FM from the #Buchla 158. #modularsynth #synthesizer #analogue #electronicmusic #experimental

The 9 Best Sci-Fi Book Series Available for Amazon Kindle

With its grand scope and hugely involved world building tropes, the sci-fi genre naturally lends itself to series works.<p>The best of these are …

Come check out the new 4U case I have been working on @machinesinmusic. Sharing a both with @mysticcircuits 🤙🏽

POW! so fresh and so clean @tyrone_shoelacez1 🖤 #powwow📡 #eurorack

'Blade Runner 2049': Everything You Need to Know About Replicants

“Blade Runner” and “Blade Runner 2049” are a bit unclear about whether its Replicants are robots as we usually know and understand them<p>Central to the …

Science Fiction

Blade Runner’s chillingly prescient vision of the future - Salon.com

Can corporations become so powerful that they dictate the way we feel? Can machines get mad – like, really mad – at their makers? Can people learn to love machines?<p>These are a few of the questions raised by Ridley Scott’s influential sci-fi neo-noir film “Blade Runner” (1982), which imagines a …

Blade Runner

[LIVE] Borrowed Buchla + TR-606

How 'Ashes To Ashes' Put The First Act Of David Bowie's Career To Rest

In 1980, David Bowie was in the middle of a new kind of transformation. After launching himself to stardom in 1969 with his first hit single, "Space Oddity," he spent a decade morphing from Major Tom to Ziggy Stardust to Aladdin Sane to Halloween Jack to The Thin White Duke — a series of characters …

David Bowie

Buchla 200e Sounds II

Amazon announces three new sci-fi shows for its streaming service

Thanks to the likes of HBO and Netflix, we’re living in a golden age of television. Whether you’re a fan nostalgia-driven horror, gritty crime …

Keanu Reeves

CBS Badly Misplayed Their Hand By Making 'Star Trek: Discovery' A Paid Streaming Exclusive

I was excited to watch <i>Star Trek: Discovery</i> last night, CBS’s return to a “true” <i>Star Trek</i> show in the age of JJ Abrams blockbusters. I set my DVR and gave it viewing priority over <i>Fear the Walking Dead</i>, because all the early buzz I’d heard was stellar.<p>But while I really did like the show, the process …

Star Trek

From Blade Runner to Rollerball: did cinema's sci-fi dystopias predict the future?

We are living in the era imagined by science-fiction films – but is reality really mirroring fiction?<p>Police cars can’t fly, artificial snakes are not commercially available, and the exodus to off-world colonies has not yet begun, but we’re already living in the world of Blade Runner – …

Science Fiction

Hubble spots something really, really weird at the edge of our solar system

The Hubble space telescope has imaged something very odd at the edge of our solar system – although, rather disappointingly, it’s not death planet …

Universe

The Big Bang Wasn't The Beginning, After All

The Universe began not with a whimper, but with a bang! At least, that’s what you’re commonly told: the Universe and everything in it came into existence at the moment of the Big Bang. Space, time, and all the matter and energy within began from a singular point, and then expanded and cooled, …

Physics

5 Novels of the Black Death and the World It Might Have Made

The Black Death was one of western civilization’s darkest episodes: a lethal plague that devastated Europe in the 14th century, killing somewhere …

Les Edwards