Anna Mazurkiewicz

481 Flips | 9 Magazines | 9 Likes | 22 Following | 6 Followers | @mazurkan | Keep up with Anna Mazurkiewicz on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Anna Mazurkiewicz”

15 Phenomenal Historical Fiction Books That Bring Your Favorite Era to Life

Historical fiction books are like doors that give us a glimpse into the past. Aside from attracting history buffs hungry for adventure and …

Time Travel

The Spy and the Traitor by Ben Macintrye review – the astonishing story of a cold war superspy

In Moscow Gordievsky survived a KGB interrogation, despite being drugged. He alerted MI6 and gave his minders the slip<p>Oleg Gordievsky was the most significant British agent of the cold war. For 11 years, he spied for MI6. That he managed to deceive his KGB colleagues during this time was …

Cold War

'No evidence' having high levels of bad cholesterol causes heart disease, claim 17 physicians as they call on doctors to 'abandon' statins

No evidence exists to prove that having high levels of bad cholesterol causes heart disease, leading physicians have claimed.<p>Researchers have warned …

Research

Dust from Asian deserts warming Arctic sea surface, confusing satellites, says study

Large amounts of dust from Asian deserts could be contributing to the warming of Arctic sea surfaces, but satellites are misreading these …

Canadian News

Cobra Golf's F-Max Superlite woods and irons designed to make the game easy . . . for anyone

When designing clubs for those who need some help, light and easy to hit are two key design elements. Cobra Golf has addressed both traits in its new line of F-Max Superlite drivers, fairway woods and irons for both men and women.<p>“Club speed comes from club weights and swing weights that are much …

Golf

Anti-ageing drugs are coming – an expert explains

There will be almost ten billion people living on Earth by 2050 and two billion of them will be over the age of 60. Growing old is the primary risk …

Anti-aging

Down River

• <b>Author:</b> John Hart<p><i>Down River</i> is the winner of the 2008 Edgar Award for Best Novel.<p><i>Everything that shaped him happened near that river....</i><p><i>Now its banks are filled with lies and greed, shame, and murder....</i><p>John Hart's debut, <i>The King of Lies</i>, was compelling and lyrical, with Janet Maslin of <i>The</i> <i>New York</i> …

How to Unsubscribe From an App on iPhone or iTunes

Did you purchase an iOS app subscription you no longer use, like Apple Music? Here’s how to unsubscribe right from your iPhone, iPad, or iTunes …

Android Pie

Thrillers review: Breathe; Brothers in Blood; The Shrouded Path

Nestled in the Peak District, the village is home, as one character mourns, to 'our fair share of horrible crimes'<p>The streets of London in December 1952 were choked with smog. In Dominick Donald’s remarkably accomplished debut novel <b>Breathe</b> (Hodder & Stoughton, £17.99), they are also stalked by a …

Peak District

Zealot

• <b>Author:</b> Reza Aslan<p><b>#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “A lucid, intelligent page-turner” (Los Angeles Times) that challenges long-held assumptions about Jesus, from the host of Believer</b> <br>Two thousand years ago, an itinerant Jewish preacher walked across the Galilee, gathering followers to establish what …

How to learn to code when you have no friends

Over the past six months, I’ve gone from knowing zero Javascript to landing my first front-end position. As such, I’ve been reflecting on what I did …

Tutorials

Weight-loss pills can help. So why don't more people use them?

Health Care<p>For decades, doctors have sought every dieter's dream of weight loss: a pill that could pare away the pounds without any harmful effects.<p>Their quest is an acknowledgment that losing weight and keeping it off is not just a matter of willpower, of resisting the siren call of the ice cream …

Weight Loss

Cardiovascular disease: Study finds best drugs for prevention

A large cohort study has identified which treatment combinations work best for people with high blood pressure who are at risk of heart disease. …

Medical Research

The Other Sister

• <b>Author:</b> Sarah Zettel<p><b>Two sisters. One murder plan.</b><b>An intense psychological thriller full of family secrets, perfect for readers of The Woman in the Window and Watch Me Disappear.</b> <br>Everyone thought reckless, troubled Geraldine Monroe was the bad sister-especially when she fled town after her mother's …

Wearable device taps tech to battle opioid addiction

A Massachusetts company is touting a wearable device that it says can alleviate chronic pain, offering a high-tech alternative to opioids.<p>Quell is a drug-free device built by Waltham, Mass.-based NeuroMetrix. The wearable, which is worn on the calf, is designed to block chronic pain, according to …

Middle School

Here are the changes to Canadian carrier rate plans this week

If you're in the market to switch Canadian carriers, then you'll want to know about the latest rate plan changes.

Photo Basics: Use Your Camera’s Histogram to Get Perfectly Exposed Photos Every Time (VIDEO)

Arriving at a proper exposure can often be a challenge, especially when shooting under difficult lighting conditions outdoors. In this helpful video, …

Tutorials

3 smart ways to boost cell signals inside your home

In a perfect world, our mobile phones would work correctly, all day long. Every time we entered a number, a crisp voice would answer, “Hello?”<p>However, the real world is a labyrinth of obstructions: thick walls, metal frames, competing signals, distant cell towers, and whole skyscrapers stand in our …

Zotac BI329 Intel Gemini Lake Mini PC Introduced

Mini PC manufacturer Zotac has this week announced a new update to its range of compact desktop computers introducing a new range of Zotac B Series …

10 surefire ways to get your sharpest-ever photos

Although most digital cameras offer a collection of AF points so that you can select the one that sits over your subject, there may not always be one …

14 portrait photography tips you’ll never want to forget

2. Aperture advice<p>When shooting portraits, it’s best to set a wide aperture (around f/2.8-f/5.6) to capture a shallow depth of field, so the …

iKlips II Lightning iOS Flash Drive | MacTrast Deals

<b>Specs</b><p>Color: dark grey<br>• Size: 64GB<br>• Input interface: Lightning connector; USB type-A connector for USB 3.1• <i><br>Note: the two connectors cannot be plugged into</i> …

How to fly with your bike

There’s always good riding to be had at home, but sometimes you need your bike fix somewhere else. Often flying remains the easiest way to get …

Culture Shock

• <b>Author:</b> Chip Ingram<p>We live in a reactionary culture where divisive issues arise, people on either side throw stones, and everyone ends up more entrenched in their opinions than in reaching common ground--or even exhibiting common courtesy! If there ever was a time for Christians to understand and …

Using Aspirin to Prevent Heart Attacks And Strokes

Aspirin, a commonly used pain reliever and anti-inflammatory drug, can be useful in reducing the risk of cardiovascular events, such as heart attack …

Best Portable Battery Packs Under $20 in 2018

The ExpertPower 20,000mAh portable charger is the best battery you can get under $20 right now because of its large capacity. You get three USB ports …

Gear & Gadgets

Luxury homes, live-in housekeeper and a balmy tropical climate: The three overseas destinations where Aussies can live the 'good life' for just $40,000 a year

Many of us have dreamed about relocating to tropical and exotic climes to escape the stresses and strains of big city life and the associated …

Chiang Mai

23 Travel Tech Essentials That Will Upgrade Every Part of Your Trip

This year's coolest travel gadgets make it easier to communicate, navigate, connect, and relax when you're on the road.<p>If we asked you to tell us …

How to wash your down or down-alternative comforter

Down and down alternative comforters bring that fluffy, luxurious hotel feeling home with a style that's timeless. It might seem like an intimidating, highly-specialized task to clean that down bedding, but it's actually pretty simple. Dry cleaners can freshen and fluff up your bedding, but there …

Get fit in 15 minutes: The best exercise to sculpt your glutes

WHAT TO DO<p>To sculpt your glutes and tone up your behind, try ‘lying clams’, says celebrity personal trainer Nadya Fairweather (u-shape.co.uk).<p>Lie …