mariaviegas

69 Flips | 2 Magazines | 2 Likes | 12 Following | 2 Followers | @mariaviegas | Keep up with mariaviegas on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “mariaviegas”

101 things to do outdoors in London

Here’s our pick of things to do outdoors in London, whether you’re looking for some peace and quiet, cultural immersion or adrenalin-fuelled fun.<p>Top …

England

19 Translated Books to Add to Your Reading List This Summer

A Bäckström Novel<p>Leif G.W. Persson<p>Leif Persson served as an adviser to Sweden’s Ministry of Justice and is renowned for his work in criminal profiling, so who better to write Scandi-noir novels? In <i>The Sword of Justice</i>, DS Evert Bäckström celebrates when he receives news that mafia lawyer Thomas …

Books

Heating Up: 20 Hot New Thrillers to Read This Spring

Philip Kerr<p>Philip Kerr’s bestselling Bernie Gunther series continues with <i>Greeks Bearing Gifts</i>. In this latest installment, readers find Gunther in 1956 Munich, operating under the alias “Christoph Ganz.” He’s hit a bit of a dead end in his career but finds his life reinvigorated when he takes a job …

Da Vinci expert says 'St John the Baptist' at risk from Louvre restoration

Expert on Leonardo da Vinci accuses Louvre of putting the Italian painter's final masterpiece, St John the Baptist, at risk with unnecessary restoration<p>One of the world's leading experts on Leonardo da Vinci has accused the Louvre of putting the Italian painter's final masterpiece at risk by …

A City Profile of Oslo, Norway

Oslo (which was called Christiania in 1624-1878, and Kristiania in 1878-1924) is Norway's capital. Oslo is also the biggest city in Norway. The …

European Travel

Damien Hirst: Treasures from the Wreck of the Unbelievable review – a titanic return

<b>Palazzo Grassi and Punta della Dogana, Venice</b><p>Artist has once again found the underwater grotto in his mind where monsters live, making a fool out of all of us who lost faith<p>Art is magical. It is a fairytale. It can make you rich. It can make you poor. It can turn everything you thought you knew …

Art

Some attractions of Malta which is worth to seeing

July 11, 2018<p>Malta is a beautiful country in the Mediterranean Sea which has a lot of attractions and incredible areas that will take your breath …

European Travel

Why I fell in love with Slovenia

Back in 2000, as an American student studying in London, I embarked on a Eurorail trip – a sort of smorgasbord of travel in European cities. You buy an open ticket that allows you to travel indefinitely by train throughout Europe. But prior to my own Eurorailing adventure, I’d lent my Lonely …

European Travel

The best American restaurants in NYC

Modern, sustainable, with thoughtful presentation and a heightened focus on freshness—the best American restaurants in NYC are all that and more. The …

Things to Do During February Half-term in London

Explore the capital’s family-friendly attractions and special half-term activities during the school holiday. 10-18 Feb<br>Read more about Things to Do …

Nope, It Looks Like Zuckerberg Bought No Yacht [Corrected]

<i>Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg apparently did not buy a 350-foot yacht as initially claimed by this post. The Hürriyet Daily News, which first reported</i> …

Internet

19 of the World's Coolest Hotel Bars

No hotel is complete without a good hotel bar.<p>As hotels aim to attract both travelers and locals, there’s been a renewed appreciation for the hotel …

10 cozy hotels that redefine luxury

<b>(CNN) —</b> The Danish island of Fyn is where Hans Christian Andersen was born, so it's no coincidence it looks like a fairytale. Rolling hills, fruit-laden orchards, sandy beaches and thatched roof farmhouses paint a soothing symphony of garden and sea.<p>At the island's hideaway Falsled Kro hotel, …

Santa Fe

100 Notable Books of 2017

<i>The year’s notable fiction, poetry and nonfiction, selected by the editors of The New York Times Book Review. This list represents books reviewed since Dec.</i> <i>4</i><i>, 201</i><i>6</i><i>, when we published our previous Notables list.</i><p><b>Fiction & Poetry</b><p><b>AMERICAN WAR.</b> <i>By Omar El Akkad. (Knopf, $26.95.)</i> This haunting debut novel …

Books

The Elegant Mathematics of Vitruvian Man, Leonardo da Vinci’s Most Famous Drawing: An Animated Introduction

Nearly 500 years after his death, we still admire Leonardo da Vinci's many and varied accomplishments in painting, sculpture, architecture, science, …

Lista: os 50 melhores hotéis do mundo

A <b>Condé Nast Traveler</b> divulgou hoje os vencedores do seu prêmio Readers’ Choice Awards 2017. Trata-se de uma pesquisa com mais de 300 mil leitores da …

Stunning Architecture A’ Design Award Winners 2017

Submission deadline for the next A’ Design Award & Competition nominations is approaching. Maybe you’ve seen some posts about it on Design Milk …

Architecture

Inside the luxurious new glamping site in Big Sur, California

A brand new glamping site in Big Sur, California will bring camping to a new level of luxury. The new Redwood Canyon Glampsites are part of Ventana Big Sur, an Alila resort situated in the heart of the Central Coast’s rugged landscape. The resort will re-open on October 20 following a multi-million …

California

Soundcheck: The 15 Best Music Releases Of The Week

King Krule, GoldLink, Anna of the North, + many more<p><i>Every weekend, we’re bringing you</i> <i>#SOUNDCHECK</i><i>—your new destination for the best of the best new music that hit the web over the course of the week. Because you should always be prepared when someone passes you that AUX cord. This week’s round</i> …

Synthpop

Meredith Frampton is the forgotten genius of British art

Many today have never heard of Meredith Frampton, a British artist who died in obscurity in 1984. Alastair Sooke explains why it’s time to introduce the world to his brilliance.<p>One day in 1980, a talented curator at the Tate gallery set out for the village of Monkton Deverill on the River Wylye in …

Art

The facekini, China’s strange-looking summer beach trend, is having a moment

They’ve been around for a few years, but facekinis, those odd-looking sun protectors, are now having a little moment in the sun. For those who don’t know, facekinis are material masks worn over the head like a balaclava, and are designed to protect swimmers from both the sun’s rays, jellyfish …

High Fashion

The Boleyn King

• <b>Author:</b> Laura Andersen<p><b>NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY RT BOOK REVIEWS</b><p><b>Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son</b> …

Free Digital Archive Makes Over 50 Million Pieces of European Art Available Online

With the goal to transform the world through culture, the Europeana Collections is a massive digital archive with the objective to make Europe's cultural heritage widely available for researchers and history lovers. Over 3,000 European cultural institutions and aggregators participate in the …

Art

Why FasciaBlasters May Be the Cure to Everything from Cellulite to Wrinkles

“You have a bit of what I call hail-damage cellulite,” says Ashley Black, self-described Fasciology guru and best-selling author of <i>The Cellulite Myth: It’s Not Fat, It’s Fascia</i>, as she peers at my thighs. I swallow nervously. “Don’t worry, we can get rid of it,” she assures me. Despite her …

Skin Care

Exploring Ubud: Bali's cultural heart

Indonesia

Rome's Best Hotels Are Getting Stylish Revamps

Many of the city's storied hotels are hitting the refresh button.<p>Capitalizing on a destination that contains so much beauty and art that it almost feels fake, Rome’s grand dame hotels sometimes fall prey to some fraying around the edges because of their incredible setting. But this season, many of …

Watch Lorde Perform Artful ‘Perfect Places’ on ‘Fallon’

Lorde offered an artful live version of new single “Perfect Places” on Thursday’s <i>Tonight Show</i>.<p>The singer, wearing an oversized white suit that …

Music

How to Perform Quick Clothing Color Changes in Photoshop

Ever shot an image of a model and kicked yourself about the color of what you had them wearing? Perhaps the clothing choice doesn’t suit the final …