lulugou

591 Flips | 5 Magazines | 41 Likes | 1 Following | 11 Followers | @lulugou | Keep up with lulugou on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “lulugou”

The Longform Guide to the Brain

Experimental neuroscience, everlasting consciousness, and conjoined minds — our favorite articles about the brain.Atul Gawande | New Yorker | Jun …

Neuroscience

The Swerve: How the World Became Modern

• <b>Author:</b> Stephen Greenblatt<p>Winner of the 2012 Pulitzer Prize for Non-Fiction <br>Winner of the 2011 National Book Award for Non-Fiction<br>One of the world's most celebrated scholars, Stephen Greenblatt has crafted both an innovative work of history and a thrilling story of discovery, in which one …

Founding Brothers

• <b>Author:</b> Joseph J. Ellis<p>In this landmark work of history and winner of the Pulitzer Prize, Joseph J. Ellisexplores how a group of greatly gifted but deeply flawed individuals—Hamilton, Burr, Jefferson, Franklin, Washington, Adams, and Madison—confronted the overwhelming challenges before them to set …

On the Move

• <b>Author:</b> Oliver Sacks<p>When Oliver Sacks was twelve years old, a perceptive schoolmaster wrote in his report: “Sacks will go far, if he does not go too far.” It is now abundantly clear that Sacks has never stopped going. From its opening pages on his youthful obsession with motorcycles and speed, <i>On</i> …

The Good Death

• <b>Author:</b> Ann Neumann<p><b>Following the death of her father, journalist and hospice volunteer Ann Neumann sets out to examine what it means to die well in the United States.</b><p>When Ann Neumann’s father was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, she left her job and moved back to her hometown of Lancaster, …

On Killing

• <b>Author:</b> Lt. Col. Dave Grossman<p><b>A controversial psychological examination of how soldiers’ willingness to kill has been encouraged and exploited to the detriment of contemporary civilian society.</b> <br>Psychologist and US Army Ranger Dave Grossman writes that the vast majority of soldiers are loath to pull …

This Is Water

• <b>Author:</b> David Foster Wallace<p>Only once did David Foster Wallace give a public talk on his views on life, during a commencement address given in 2005 at Kenyon College. The speech is reprinted for the first time in book form in THIS IS WATER. How does one keep from going through their comfortable, …

Suicide

• <b>Author:</b> Simon Critchley<p>Suicide is everywhere. It haunts history and current events. It haunts our own networks of friends and family. It most likely haunts your private thoughts, too. Why delay the inevitable silence, particularly when this world can be so painful? The specter of suicide looms …

How We Die

• <b>Author:</b> Sherwin B. Nuland<p>An international bestseller, Sherwin B. Nuland’s How We Die has come to be regarded as the definitive book about the most universal human concern: death.<p>“Powerfully eloquent.... How We Die is a relentlessly frank and graphic description.... surprisingly absorbing.” — The …

The Stone Reader: Modern Philosophy in 133 Arguments

• <b>Author:</b> Peter Catapano & Simon Critchley<p>A timeless volume to be read and treasured, The Stone Reader provides an unparalleled overview of contemporary philosophy.<p>Once solely the province of ivory-tower professors and college classrooms, contemporary philosophy was finally emancipated from its …

The Gift of Failure

• <b>Author:</b> Jessica Lahey<p>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER<p>In the tradition of Paul Tough’s How Children Succeed and Wendy Mogel’s The Blessing of a Skinned Knee, this groundbreaking manifesto focuses on the critical school years when parents must learn to allow their children to experience the disappointment …

Justice

• <b>Author:</b> Michael J. Sandel<p>What are our obligations to others as people in a free society? Should government tax the rich to help the poor? Is the free market fair? Is it sometimes wrong to tell the truth? Is killing sometimes morally required? Is it possible, or desirable, to legislate morality? Do …

The Fire Next Time

• <b>Author:</b> James Baldwin<p>A national bestseller when it first appeared in 1963, <b>The Fire Next Time</b> galvanized the nation and gave passionate voice to the emerging civil rights movement. At once a powerful evocation of James Baldwin's early life in Harlem and a disturbing examination of the consequences …

The Reason I Jump

• <b>Author:</b> Naoki Higashida and Others<p><b>“One of the most remarkable books I’ve ever read. It’s truly moving, eye-opening, incredibly vivid.”—Jon Stewart, The Daily Show</b><p><b>NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY</b><b><br>NPR • The Wall Street Journal • Bloomberg Business • Bookish</b><p><b>FINALIST FOR THE BOOKS FOR A BETTER</b> …

Meditations

• <b>Author:</b> Marcus Aurelius & Gregory Hays<p><b>Nearly two thousand years after it was written, Meditations remains profoundly relevant for anyone seeking to lead a meaningful life.</b><p>Few ancient works have been as influential as the Meditations of Marcus Aurelius, philosopher and emperor of Rome (A.D. …

Fear and Trembling

• <b>Author:</b> Søren Kierkegaard<p><i>"If anyone on the verge of action should judge himself according to the outcome, he would never begin."</i><p><i>Fear and Trembling</i> is an influential philosophical work by Søren Kierkegaard, published in 1843 under the pseudonym Johannes de silentio (John the Silent). The title is a …

So You've Been Publicly Shamed

• <b>Author:</b> Jon Ronson<p><b>From the internationally bestselling author of The Psychopath Test, a captivating and brilliant exploration of one of our world’s most overlooked forces.</b><p>For the past three years, Jon Ronson has been immersing himself in the world of modern-day public shaming—meeting famous …

Being Mortal

• <b>Author:</b> Atul Gawande<p><b><br>In Being Mortal, bestselling author Atul Gawande tackles the hardest challenge of his profession: how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending</b><br>Medicine has triumphed in modern times, transforming birth, injury, and infectious disease from harrowing to …

Ghettoside

• <b>Author:</b> Jill Leovy<p><b>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE, USA TODAY, AND CHICAGO TRIBUNE • A masterly work of literary journalism about a senseless murder, a relentless detective, and the great plague of homicide in America<br>NATIONAL BOOK</b> …

26 Very Important Nonfiction Books You Should Be Reading

As recommended by you.

Looking For A Good Read? Look No Further Than These Award Reading Lists

With the end of the year coming up fast, two awards have started up their annual ‘recommended reading lists’ to look back on the year’s released …

80 Books Every Person Should Read

We invited eight female literary powerhouses, from Michiko Kakutani to Anna Holmes to Roxane Gay, to help us create an updated list of books everyone should read. Each participant made 10 picks. It's a new year, a new Esquire.com. We're looking forward to reading and we hope you are, too.<p>What can …

Mother and Child

The Many Faces of My Favourite Rodent

Earth Pics on Twitter: "Aerial View of Central Park, New York http://t.co/iYQ7BqQ2m4"

New conversation<p>Replying to @<b>EarthPix</b><p>“@<b>EarthPix</b>: Aerial View of Central Park, New York pic.twitter.com/LrTOtjDe9F” @<b>Franascc</b><p>1 reply 1 retweet 2 …

Paris bolt

Family