Lisa Birkholz Santee

34 Flips | 5 Magazines | 3 Likes | 4 Following | @lksantee2013 | Keep up with Lisa Birkholz Santee on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Lisa Birkholz Santee”

8 Fiendish Facts About Tasmanian Devils

In the <i>Looney Toons</i>, the Tasmanian Devil is a hulking, hungry monster that spins like a tornado, destroying everything in his path. In real life, …

5 Itchy Facts About Fleas

The flea siege began in March. First, I found a trail of angry welts up my foot. Then small dark dots appeared on my white sock, only to leap off …

NASA Has A Plan To Keep Our Skies Free Of Drone Congestion

A thousand people gathered at NASA’s Silicon Valley research center to hear the agency’s plan for creating a workable system.<p>With an increasing number of drones vying for precious airspace, someone should start thinking about how we can possibly hope to manage the traffic congestion that will soon …

Arizona will get non-stop clean energy from hot air drafts

Many green energy sources only generate power in a narrow range of conditions. Solar panels won't work when it's dark, for instance, and wind turbines are useless when everything is still. If Solar Wind Energy Tower has its way, though, we'll soon get clean electricity around the clock. It recently …

Nokia Lumia Icon review: a big step forward for Windows Phone

When Nokia came out with the Lumia 1520, we were treated to a new side of Windows Phone. All of a sudden, Microsoft's smartphone OS had come of age; it was using the best available hardware specs and a wave of big-name apps had finally arrived in the Windows Phone Store. Even so, we were concerned …

Deadline

• <b>Author:</b> Sandra Brown<p>Dawson Scott is a well-respected journalist recently returned from Afghanistan. Haunted by everything he experienced, he's privately suffering from battle fatigue which is a threat to every aspect of his life. But then he gets a call from a source within the FBI. A new …

Silken Prey

• <b>Author:</b> John Sandford<p><b>The extraordinary new Lucas Davenport thriller from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author and Pulitzer Prize winner.</b><p>“If you haven’t read Sandford yet, you have been missing one of the great summer-read novelists of all time.”—Stephen King, <i>Entertainment Weekly</i><p><b>Murder, scandal,</b> …

Think of a Number (Dave Gurney, No. 1)

• <b>Author:</b> John Verdon<p>An extraordinary fiction debut, <i>Think of a Number</i> is an exquisitely plotted novel of suspense that grows relentlessly darker and more frightening as its pace accelerates, forcing its deeply troubled characters to moments of startling self-revelation. <br>Arriving in the mail over a …

Predator Patrol

• <b>Author:</b> Nicolette Pierce<p>Without a job, Mars Cannon becomes prey to Mrs. Janowski’s newest project. Predator Patrol. Along with four feisty seniors, Mars searches for internet predators. Hoping she doesn’t run across any, she becomes friends with a young boy who crushes her in every internet game …

Patient Zero

• <b>Author:</b> Jonathan Maberry<p>When you have to kill the same terrorist twice in one week there's either something wrong with your world or something wrong with your skills... and there's nothing wrong with Joe Ledger's skills. And that's both a good, and a bad thing. It's good because he's a Baltimore …

Silencing Eve

• <b>Author:</b> Iris Johansen<p>#1 <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author Iris Johansen is back with the shocking conclusion to the latest Eve Duncan trilogy.<br>This is the finale that fans have been waiting for. In <i>Taking Even,</i> the game began. In <i>Hunting Eve,</i> the chase was on. Now, in <i>Silencing Eve,</i> the prey is …

Power Down

• <b>Author:</b> Ben Coes<p><b>Introducing a major new thriller writer—in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor—and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.</b><p>A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist …

Second Honeymoon

• <b>Author:</b> James Patterson & Howard Roughan<p>A walk down the aisle, a resort hotel, a drink on the beach...for these unlucky couples, the honeymoon's over. A newlywed couple steps into the sauna in their deluxe honeymoon suite--and never steps out again. When another couple is killed while boarding …

Fear Nothing

• <b>Author:</b> Lisa Gardner<p><b>In #1 New York Times bestseller Lisa Gardner’s latest pulse-pounding thriller, Detective D. D. Warren must face a new fear as a serial killer terrorizes Boston.</b><p><i>My name is Dr. Adeline Glen. Due to a genetic condition, I can’t feel pain. I never have. I never will.</i><p>The last thing …

The Intercept

• <b>Author:</b> Dick Wolf<p>Dick Wolf, the celebrated creator of the Law & Order television franchise, makes his literary debut with The Intercept, a taut, driving thriller reminiscent of the classic The Day of the Jackal.<p>Days before the July Fourth holiday and the dedication of One World Trade Center at …

Six Years

• <b>Author:</b> Harlan Coben<p><b>Harlan Coben explores the dangers of obsession in this #1 New York Times bestselling masterpiece of modern suspense.</b> <br>Six years have passed since Jake Fisher watched Natalie, the love of his life, marry another man. Six years of hiding a broken heart by throwing himself into his …

The Murder Wall

• <b>Author:</b> Mari Hannah<p>The Murder Wall: It's where you look death in the face.<p>Months after discovering a double homicide in a sleepy village, detective Kate Daniels is still haunted by her failure to solve the crime. When a new murder gives Daniels her first case as officer in charge, she jumps at …

The Shack

• <b>Author:</b> William P. Young<p>Mackenzie Allen Phillips's youngest daughter, Missy, has been abducted during a family vacation, and evidence that she may have been brutally murdered is found in an abandoned shack deep in the Oregon wilderness. Four years later, in this midst of his great sadness, Mack …

Extraordinary Powers

• <b>Author:</b> Joseph Finder<p><b>"Spectacular…The action is unrelenting…Electrifying."—Boston Sunday Herald</b><p>The news is shattering: The director of the CIA, Harrison Sinclair, has been killed in a car accident. Sinclair may have been a traitor—or the Agency's last honest man. Even his son-in-law, Ben Ellison, …

The Final Cut

• <b>Author:</b> Catherine Coulter & J. T. Ellison<p><b>From Catherine Coulter, the #1 New York Times-bestselling author of the FBI Thriller series, and J.T. Ellison, bestselling author and ITW Award winner, comes the first book in a brilliant new international thriller series featuring a new hero: American-born,</b> …

Missing You

• <b>Author:</b> Harlan Coben<p><b>From master of suspense Harlan Coben comes the #1 New York Times bestseller about the ties we have to our past—and the lies that bind us together—as the ultimate Internet scam unfolds...</b><p>Surfing an online dating site, NYPD detective Kat Donovan feels her whole world explode. …

Grains Of Sand Magnified x300 Reveal Dazzling Images

A grain of sand is so small and finite that our eyes are unable to render any significant detail.<p>It often just looks like a shiny or dark grain of …

This Is What It Would Look Like If You Dropped Manhattan Into the Grand Canyon

Smeared skies, Lake Ontario | Canada (by Matt Molloy)

<b>Smeared skies, Lake Ontario | Canada</b> (by Matt Molloy)

The 15 Greatest Masterpieces At The Louvre

The grand art museum houses 35,000 masterpieces, from prehistory to contemporary works. But with over 600,000 square feet of exhibition space, navigating the enormous museum can be overwhelming if you don't know what to look out for.<p>Christine Kuan, the chief curator at Artsy, selected 15 must-see …