Nina Mcdermott

115 Flips | 4 Magazines | 30 Likes | 19 Following | 1 Follower | @lewni | Keep up with Nina Mcdermott on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Nina Mcdermott”

10 of the best places to stay in Marrakech

More than 1,000 traditional riad houses in Marrakech’s ancient medina now offer tourist accommodation. At the luxurious end prices soar, but there is a great selection of budget stays, including several that have been converted into fun, modern hostels. As smartphone GPS coverage can be patchy in …

Travel

Nine novels we can’t wait to read in 2018

However you’re feeling as 2018 trudges interminably on, at least there are books to look forward to – and there are some wonderful ones coming out in the next few months to add to your reading list.<p>Fiction that imagines different worlds can deepen our understanding of the fault lines underpinning …

Books

These Are The Finalists For The 2017 National Book Critics Circle Awards

The NBCC has announced its 30 finalists in six categories — autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, nonfiction, and poetry — for the most outstanding books of 2017.

Borobudur sunrise

Kale and other leafy vegetables may make your brain seem 11 years younger

Look into your salad bowl and think: If a fountain of cognitive youth were flowing in there, would you return every day?<p>In research that gives new meaning to the expression “salad days,” a study published Wednesday finds that older people who ate at least one serving of leafy greens a day had a …

Nutrition

Forget Machu Picchu: Seven Newly Accessible Wonders of the World

If visiting the world's most ancient temples and monuments—Angkor Wat, Machu Picchu, Chichen Itza, Petra—inspires your inner Indiana Jones, just …

Sri Lanka

China, India and PNG: exotic new river cruises for 2018

Turn off your mind, relax and float downstream on the Sanctuary Yangzi Explorer. This slow boat through China has 20 suites and 38 deluxe cabins …

‘Man Booker Dozen’ Revealed: The Prize Announces Its 2017 Longlist

Last year's winner, Paul Beatty's 'The Sellout,' has sold rights into 26 foreign languages, 19 since he won the Man Booker Prize, say organizers.The …

22 New Books to Read on Your Summer Vacation

From thrilling beach reads to poignant memoirs to wanderlust-inducing travelogues, we’ve rounded up the best books to bring on your summer …

Books

From Heavenly Hammams to Chic Pajamas, Plum Sykes’s Insider Guide to Marrakech

Lounging beneath a canopy of fragrant bougainvillea, sipping mint tea from an elegant little glass etched with gold leaf—the enduring magic of Marrakech continues to captivate. Taking a well-deserved break after completing her latest novel <i>Party Girls Die in Pearls</i>, author and <i>Vogue</i> contributor Plum …

The 20 best destinations to visit in 2017

From the charms of Chile to glorious Granada and the beaches of Bermuda, our experts select the 20 best destinations to visit in the coming months.<p>1. Chile<p>If Brazil owned South American travel last year, Chile takes over for 2017. Slowly, methodically, the continent’s most overlooked wonderland has …

The Biggest Street Style Trends of 2016 So Far

Now that we’ve pretty precisely reached the middle of the year (holy cow), we thought it might behoove us to take a quick snapshot of what the most …

The 22 Most Beautiful Places in the World

These destinations are just begging to be Instagrammed.<p>There are so many amazing places around the globe to see, we couldn't possibly include them all in just one list. But, these breathtaking destinations are definitely worth bumping to the top of your travel bucket list–whether you're looking to …

Venice’s only female gondoliera

She can spend up to 15 hours on the boat fighting the wind, rain and heat – but Venice’s only female gondolier, Giorgia Boscolo, wouldn’t change a thing.

Italy

The lovers: The true story of Afghanistan's Romeo and Juliet

The Lovers<p>The true story of Afghanistan's Romeo and Juliet<p>The Lovers<p>The true story of Afghanistan's Romeo and Juliet<p>Afghanistan is one of the few …

High Heels

Burmese Days

On a recent assignment for National Geographic Expeditions, I got to return to Burma (also known as Myanmar) for the first time in about 15 years. …

The Forgotten Daughter

• <b>Author:</b> Renita D'Silva<p>‘You were adopted’.<p>Three simple words, in a letter accompanying her parent’s will, tear Nisha’s carefully ordered world apart. Raised in England, by her caring but emotionally reserved parents, Nisha has never been one to take risks.<p>Now, with the scrawled address of an Indian …

Fettuccine With Shiitake Mushrooms and Basil

Personal Takes<p>By What To Eat<p>Sign up for more FREE Everyday Health newsletters.<p>Craving pasta, but getting home late tonight? Skip the heavy takeout …

People Are Getting Seriously Sick From Eating Kale

Find out why this superfood is actually super-poisoning.<p>Kale is heralded for its ample supplies of calcium, magnesium, potassium, Vitamin K, and various healthful phytochemicals and anti-oxidants. But the superfood is hiding a nasty secret: dangerous levels of heavy metals.<p>In a recent study, …

Here's Your Ultimate Beach Reading List for July 4th Weekend

6 Adventurous Men on the One Place to Go Before You Die

Forget Cancun. Think bigger the next time you need a 'break.'<p>There are people who go on vacations and there are travelers. The former go somewhere to escape and relax. The latter seek immersion, adventure, and a deeper connection with the world. We asked six adventurous men of style to tell us the …

The 10 Foods You Need to Lose Weight in 2015

The Latest in Healthy Recipes<p>Let these out-of-the-box tips from those who know best be your guide to a healthy and delicious holiday.<p>Avoid sipping …

Amber to Ashes: Part One in the Torn Hearts Series

Overview<p>Amber to Ashes: Part One in the Torn Hearts Series by Gail McHugh<p>From the <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author of <i>Collide</i> and <i>Pulse</i> comes a gritty …

Barnes & Noble

The Sound of Glass

Read an Excerpt<p><b>Prologue</b><p>Beaufort, South Carolina<p>July 1955<p>An unholy tremor rippling through the sticky night air alerted Edith Heyward that something …

Fair Trade

Italian chicken and vegetable packets

<b>Ingredients</b><br>1 skinless, boneless chicken breast, about 3 ounces<br>1/2 cup diced zucchini<br>1/2 cup scrubbed and diced potato<br>1/4 cup diced onion<br>1/4 cup …

Hausfrau

• <b>Author:</b> Jill Alexander Essbaum<p><b>For readers of Claire Messud and Mary Gaitskill comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning.</b> <br>Hausfrau<br>haus·frau \haus-frau\ n 1: Origin: German.<br>Housewife, homemaker. 2: …

The Best of Me

• <b>Author:</b> Nicholas Sparks<p>#1 New York Times bestselling author Nicholas Sparks's story of love, lost dreams and redemption "Everyone wanted to believe that endless love was possible. She'd believed in it once, too, back when she was eighteen."<p>In the spring of 1984, high school students Amanda Collier …