katie

390 Flips | 6 Magazines | 7 Likes | 11 Following | @kttampa | Keep up with katie on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “katie”

Ed Sheeran And Anne-Marie Totally Nail Their 'Fairytale Of New York' Cover

It's a fairytale reworking.<p>And the bells are ringing out for this cover of the “Fairytale of New York.”<p>Ed Sheeran and Anne-Marie reworked The Pogues’ and Kirsty MacColl’s classic 1988 Christmas track for BBC Radio 1’s Live Lounge on Tuesday and they didn’t disappoint fans with their rendition:<p>The …

How Dr. Dre discovered Eminem

An intern slipped famed record producer Jimmy Iovine a mixtape of then-unknown Eminem. Dr. Dre got hold of it and the rest is history.<p>In an earlier …

Rap & Hip-Hop

Neil Young Releases Resistance Anthem For Fourth Of July

"Should goodness ever lose and evil steal the day, what would you do?"<p>Just in time for the Fourth of July, Canadian rocker Neil Young has released a surprise patriotic “resistance” anthem and music video, urging listeners to “stand up for what you believe, resist the powers that be.”<p>The video for …

9/11 Kids ‘Cast a New Light on Darkness’ with We Go Higher, a Groundbreaking Documentary About Them -- and By Them

Losing her father – and two uncles – in the 9/11 attacks on the World Trade Center at three years old has been the singular defining event in Delaney …

Documenting Disappearing Treasures

An inspiring North Carolina Instagram account for architecture lovers<p>From what to cook for dinner to what color to paint a room, Instagram provides a wealth of visual inspiration. For E. Watson Brown, it inspired a second act. The retired Tarrboro, North Carolina, city planner started an account, …

North Carolina

Plants that please the pollinators

Bees, butterflies and birds are as much a part of a garden as the plants. Pollination depends on these winged visitors, and certain plants especially …

Why you need a bird house (or two) in your garden – and which ones to buy

According to the British Trust for Ornithology, natural nesting sites for birds are on the decline across the country. As more people begin to tidy their gardens and repair old buildings, previous nesting sites for birds such as holes in trees and nooks in old buildings are being destroyed.<p>Birds …

We Can't Get Enough of Dolly Parton's Skillet Cornbread Recipe

Trust us, you're going to want it in your recipe box.<p>If you liked Loretta Lynn's recipe for peanut butter fudge, get ready to love Dolly Parton's recipe for skillet cornbread.<p>As you might expect from Dolly, there's nothing fancy here: Her cornbread recipe couldn't be simpler, but it sounds mighty …

13 Interior Designer Tricks to Make Your Windows Look Bigger

We bet you've never given your frame a second thought — until now.<p>If your home wasn't blessed with big, welcoming windows, we feel your pain. Sadly, we can't help you fake sunlight, but we <i>can</i> help you trick your eyes into at least thinking your view into the outside world is greater than it …

Pottery Barn's Clever New Furniture Collection Will Save You Tons of Space

Random clutter has finally met its match.<p>Even the tiny house-obsessed have to admit it: Small space living is <i>hard</i>. Where do your coats go? Your dishes? Heck, it's even hard to fit multiple people. Luckily, Pottery Barn wants to solve your square-footage woes with its brand-new collection, and all …

The 15 IKEA Organizers That Will Change Your Life

We don't use that term lightly.<p>As if we needed another reason to obsess over this Swedish retailer (you know we love a good hack), they've seriously upped their organization game as of late. Want proof? Your home will never be more streamlined and tidy after picking up any of these storage …

Gardening 101: Crape Myrtle

Crape Myrtle, <i>Lagerstroemia indica:</i> “Lilac of the South”<p>If you grew up in the south, like I did, you surely know and love crape myrtles. No matter how …

Next To The Original, France Replicates Prehistoric Cave Paintings

On a September day in 1940 while much of Europe was engulfed in war, four teenagers were walking through a forest in southern France when their dog fell down a hole.<p>As they called for it they heard an echo. Crawling in to rescue the dog, the boys discovered a cave with hundreds of prehistoric …

Painting

Who's who in Donald Trump's administration? The US president's top advisers and cabinet nominees

Donald Trump has selected the key figures for his new government as he takes office as the 45th president of the United States. Here are the names we know.<p>Reince Priebus<p><b>Age:</b> 44<p><b>Current role:</b> Chairman of the Republican National Committee<p><b>Trump administration role:</b> White House Chief of Staff<p>Mr Priebus …

The Year of Magical Thinking

• <b>Author:</b> Joan Didion<p>From one of America’s iconic writers, a stunning book of electric honesty and passion. Joan Didion explores an intensely personal yet universal experience: a portrait of a marriage–and a life, in good times and bad–that will speak to anyone who has ever loved a husband or wife or …

Sins of the Father

• <b>Author:</b> Jen Blood<p>For fans of Dennis Lehane, John Connolly, and Iris Johansen. Book 2 in the "thoroughly addictive" Erin Solomon mystery series. 2012 New England Book Festival Winner, Honorable Mention for Outstanding Fiction.<p>The brutal murder of a young girl more than forty years ago pulls …

10 Sofa Styles for Every Space

From the chaise lounge to the Chesterfield.<p>Chances are, if you're reading this, you can appreciate great design.<p>That being said, you can craft an elegant space and still get confused when you have to define the difference between a chaise lounge and a chesterfield.<p>Enter <i>Home Decor Cheat Sheets:</i> …

After Mass Shooting, Aurora, Colorado, Police Produce Video Tribute: 'We Stand With Orlando'

The men and women of the Orlando Police Department are receiving a collective pat on the back this week from their counterparts in Aurora, Colorado, …

The Immortal Irishman

• <b>Author:</b> Timothy Egan<p><b>"An old-fashioned tale of tall talk, high ideals,and irresistible appeal . . . You will not read a historical thriller like this all year . . . [Egan] is a master storyteller." —Boston Globe</b><p><b>“Egan has a gift for sweeping narrative . . . and he has a journalist’s eye for the</b> …

Devil in the Grove

• <b>Author:</b> Gilbert King<p>Devil in the Grove, winner of the Pulitzer Prize for general nonfiction, is a gripping true story of racism, murder, rape, and the law. It brings to light one of the most dramatic court cases in American history, and offers a rare and revealing portrait of Thurgood Marshall that …

8 Easy-to-Use Paint Colors That Make Any Room Look Impeccable

Warning: You'll be picking up the paint brush after this.<p>It's one thing to fall in love with a paint color in a photo. It's another to put it into action. Here to help, these designers take the guesswork out of picking the perfect paint to make styling your home easier than ever.

Home Decorating

20 Things You Should Deep Clean This Spring

There are a few places you won't need to tackle again until next year.<p>When the weather starts to warm up, it's a sign to bust open your windows — and your cleaning supplies cabinet. Yes, it's already that time of year again. Don't know where to start? Use this list, which includes all the spots …

Amazon's Hilariously Messy Sitcom Catastrophe Returns For a Second Season

Sharon Horgan and Rob Delaney manage to make old rom-com tropes feel fresh.<p>"I think it may have been irresponsible for us to procreate," Sharon (Sharon Horgan) says early on in the second season of <i>Catastrophe</i>, and she's not entirely wrong. The first season saw Sharon and Rob (Rob Delaney) trying to …

15 NSFW Disney Jokes Guaranteed To Ruin Your Childhood

I'm so, so sorry...

If you think Donald Trump is scary, get a load of Ted Cruz’s foreign policy team

<b>Ted Cruz (Jeff Malet, maletphoto.com)</b><p>The Texas senator has assembled one of the most terrifying collections of disgraced aficionados in existence<p>Gary Legum<p>March 18, 2016 11:57am (UTC)<p>On Wednesday the Donald Trump Fan Club on "Morning Joe" asked the candidate who he is talking to for foreign policy …

Foreign Policy

The Widow

• <b>Author:</b> Fiona Barton<p><b>THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER</b><p><b>“If you liked Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, you might want to pick up The Widow by Fiona Barton. Engrossing. Suspenseful.”—Stephen King</b><b><br>Following the twists and turns of an unimaginable crime, The Widow is an electrifying debut thriller that</b> …

7 Household Expenses You Need to Stop Paying for

It's time to break up with your landline.<p>Unfortunately, some things — like your mortgage, car payments, and cell phone bills — are unavoidable. But there are some other sneaky little line items you can cut entirely from your monthly budget.

"No day is so bad it can't be fixed with a nap." —Carrie Snow https://t.co/7Wf7U1xfSk

Before & After: A $30 Armoire Gets a Glam New Look

A spiderweb-covered Goodwill find becomes a beautiful, functional piece of office furniture.<p><i>We're big fans of hometalk, the social network for home and garden lovers, so we're excited to share one of our favorite posts today.</i> <i>This makeover is courtesy of hometalk memberUpcycled Treasures.</i><p>"I …

Time I

A Smartly Designed 362-Square-Foot Bungalow

Steal these tricks for finding space you didn't know you had.<p>Steal these homeowners' tricks for finding space you didn't know you had.