Katy Whyte

74 Flips | 6 Magazines | 5 Likes | 2 Following | 3 Followers | @katywhyte5 | Keep up with Katy Whyte on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Katy Whyte”

What is the difference between translation and interpreting?

The seemingly straightforward question ‘So, what do you do for a living?’ sends professional interpreters into an existential quandary; we struggle …

Language

What Languages Do Bilinguals Count In?

Post written by Aneta Pavlenko.<p>It is often said that bilinguals continue using their first language for simple arithmetic operations, such as …

What It's Like Speaking A Different Language From Your Parents

My parents and I communicate in an incomplete mash-up of Bengali and English. I sometimes wonder what we are missing.<p>In Bengali – the first language of my parents – I cannot read, distinguish left or right, or describe different kinds of love. I cannot count above 10, recite the alphabet, or say my …

Is your kid having fun reading? Here are some tips

Not being able to read is a problem but so is not liking to read.<p>Reading for pleasure has been linked to growth across many domains, including …

Teaching

When Astronauts Read Aloud Children's Stories - From Space!

About the Program<p>What launched this adventure? The Director of Education at NASA, Patricia Tribe, and astronaut Alvin Drew called Dr. Bennett and …

Space Exploration

Bittersweet

• <b>Author:</b> Miranda Beverly-Whittemore<p><b>Suspenseful and cinematic, Bittersweet exposes the gothic underbelly of an idyllic world of privilege and an outsider’s hunger to belong.</b><p>On scholarship at a prestigious East Coast college, ordinary Mabel Dagmar is surprised to befriend her roommate, the beautiful, …

The Kitchen House

• <b>Author:</b> Kathleen Grissom<p>In this gripping <i>New York Times</i> bestseller, Kathleen Grissom brings to life a thriving plantation in Virginia in the decades before the Civil War, where a dark secret threatens to expose the best and worst in everyone tied to the estate.<p>Orphaned during her passage from …

Under the Volcano

• <b>Author:</b> Malcolm Lowry<p><b>Malcolm Lowry’s iconic novel about a fatal Day of the Dead in a small Mexican town and one man’s struggle against the forces threatening to destroy him.</b><p>In what the <i>New York Times</i> calls “one of the towering novels of [the twentieth] century,” former British consul Geoffrey Firmin …

Up To 30m On A Single Breathe?! SSI Level 2 Freedive On Gili T, Indonesia

Freediving – My New Obsession<p>If 6 months ago you’d told me I’d be able to hold my breath underwater for over 2.5 minutes and dive to over 20m I would …

Indonesia volcanoes erupt, sending ash 8,000m into air

Two volcanoes have erupted in Indonesia, prompting flight diversions and evacuation preparations.<p>Mount Sinabung in North Sumatra province has unleashed volcanic ash as high as 8,000 metres (26,250ft) in recent days, said the government volcano expert Surono.<p>The 2,600-metre Mount Sinabung has …

The Secret History

• <b>Author:</b> Donna Tartt<p>Donna Tartt, winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for her most recent novel, <i>The Goldfinch</i>, established herself as a major talent with <i>The Secret</i> <i>History,</i> which has become a contemporary classic.<p>Under the influence of their charismatic classics professor, a group of clever, eccentric …

The Valley of Amazement

• <b>Author:</b> Amy Tan<p>Amy Tan’s The Valley of Amazement is a sweeping, evocative epic of two women’s intertwined fates and their search for identity, that moves from the lavish parlors of Shanghai courtesans to the fog-shrouded mountains of a remote Chinese village.<p>Spanning more than forty years and two …

The Strangled Queen

• <b>Author:</b> Maurice Druon<p>“This is the original Game of Thrones.” George R.R. Martin.<p>The King is dead. Long live the King.<p>With King Philip IV dead, and the Kingdom left in disarray, as the fatal curse of the Templars plagues the royal house of France.<p>Imprisoned in Chateau Gaillard, Marguerite of …

Tatiana

• <b>Author:</b> Martin Cruz Smith<p>Martin Cruz Smith's “masterful” (<i>USA TODAY</i>) and “irresistible” (<i>People</i>) <i>New York Times</i> bestseller and <i>Washington Post</i> notable book of the year: Arkady Renko must connect the dots among a Russian journalist’s mysterious death, corrupt politicians, murderous gangsters, and …

Interpreter of Maladies

• <b>Author:</b> Jhumpa Lahiri<p>Navigating between the Indian traditions they've inherited and the baffling new world, the characters in Jhumpa Lahiri's elegant, touching stories seek love beyond the barriers of culture and generations. In "A Temporary Matter," published in The New Yorker, a young …

Spiced Black Lentils with Yogurt and Mint

4 Servings<p>Active Time: 10 min<p>Total Time: 45 min<p>Aptly named beluga lentils look like little beads of caviar. They cook quickly, and they hold their shape. Use them in this recipe, or substitute.<p>November 2013Print<p>Ingredients<p>½ teaspoon coriander seeds, crushed<p>½ teaspoon cumin seeds, crushed<p>½ teaspoon …

Warm Artichoke-Olive Dip

10 Servings<p>November 2010Print<p>Ingredients<p>1 8-ounce package frozen artichoke hearts, thawed<p>3/4 cup (packed) fresh basil leaves plus additional (for garnish)<p>1 cup finely grated Parmesan cheese<p>3/4 cup green-olive tapenade<p>1 5.2-ounce garlic-and-herb cheese (such as Boursin)<p>Assorted sliced crusty …

Recipes

How to Buy, Store, and Cook Turnips, In Season in November

Tips on buying, storing, and cooking turnips, with 7 recipes<p>Unlike Scotch, certain cheeses, and fine Bordeaux, turnips are better when they're young. In the beginning of their life as a root vegetable, they're soft and delicate. But when they get old, they get sort of nasty and mean, with a strong …

Pear Pie with Red Wine and Rosemary

8 Servings<p>Pastry chef Kierin Baldwin’s pie dough method is special in a couple of ways. First, she uses a combination of butter, which lends rich flavor, and shortening, which makes the flakiest crusts. The best of both worlds. Her technique of repeatedly flattening and stacking the dough coats the …

Baking

Delicious, Nutritious, Cruciferous: Roasted Cauliflower!

A tasty, no-nonsense vegetable makes for a tasty, no-nonsense main<p><i>Hallelujah, the weekend is in sight, and you need a no-brainer dinner tonight. Quick Main Thursday has you covered.</i><p>We’re thinking of a vegetable. It’s easy to cook. It’s delicious and perfect for wintertime. It rhymes with …

Food

47 Pie Recipes for Every Season

From classic apple to blueberry—we've got a pie for every season.<p>No matter what the season, pie is one of our favorite desserts. There's not much you can't put into a flaky, buttery crust. From fruity fillings piled high (high pie!) with meringue to rich, velvety chocolate delights, here are our …

Baking

Life After Life

• <b>Author:</b> Kate Atkinson<p><i>What if you could live again and again, until you got it right?</i><p>On a cold and snowy night in 1910, Ursula Todd is born to an English banker and his wife. She dies before she can draw her first breath. On that same cold and snowy night, Ursula Todd is born, lets out a lusty wail, …

The Boleyn Deceit

• <b>Author:</b> Laura Andersen<p><b>Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn Deceit is the captivating new novel set in the imagined Tudor court of King Henry IX, son of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn, who must navigate a terrain rife with palace intrigue, impending</b> …

Slam Poet Dylan Garity Describes Everything He Thinks Is Wrong With ESL Education In 3 Minutes

The statistics regarding education for English as a Second Language Learners (ESL) in America are bleak and abstract: According to George Washington University Face the Facts initiative, there is only one public school teacher for every 150 ESL students, while a range of research shows that ESL …

English Capitalization Rules and Example Sentences

This guide to capitalization rules is especially for ESL students. It contains clear explanations for each rule with simple examples of correct …

Study finds increase in English language programs in continental Europe

A growing number of master's programs are being offered in English, a study suggests.<p>A total of 6,407 master’s programs in the language were offered …

Simile Definition and Examples

A simile is a figure of speech in which two fundamentally unlike things are explicitly compared, usually in a phrase introduced by <i>like</i> or <i>as</i>.<p>"The …