jtaips

41 Flips | 1 Magazine | 12 Following | 5 Followers | @jtaips | Keep up with jtaips on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “jtaips”

Sitting further away from your boss makes you a better worker, study suggests

Physical distance determines how the bad behaviour of managers spreads to employees, research shows<p>Sitting next to your boss may have a negative impact on the quality of your work, a study suggests.<p>Researchers in the Netherlands have found that physical distance is a key factor in determining the …

Here Are the Best Books of 2015 So Far

Advertisement<p>Advertisement<p>Advertisement<p>Advertisement<p>Advertisement<p>Advertisement<p>Advertisement<p>Advertisement

Your Perfect Half Marathon

Total Repitition Training: The 100 Pullup Workout

<b>Duration</b> 15 Min<p><b>Exercises</b> 1<p><b>Equipment</b> X<p>Ever since the release of the best-selling book I co-authored with Adam benShea, <i>Jailhouse Strong</i>, I continually …

Photograph: Franck Allais for the Guardian<p>Food engineers can now create a ‘natural’ mature cheese flavouring within 72 hours.<p>276<p>http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2015/2/17/1424172457409/ace179b6-e075-4486-b6aa-a905ed82394e-460x276.jpeg<p>460<p>Photograph: Franck Allais for the …

Food Industry

The 20 Must-Read Fitness, Health, and Happiness Books of 2014

Book nerds, unite! We admit that while we love surfing the net and audibly groan whenever the WiFi goes down, our joy in curling up with a great book …

The complete guide to networking for introverts

Most people find networking to be a somewhat uncomfortable endeavor. But the task of meeting and greeting strangers en masse—and ultimately asking them for business—can be far more painful for introverts, according to research. Extroverts, who tend to excel at building contacts outside their …

Perfect Workout Nutrition

As a red-blooded, iron-loving athlete, you are in a constant cycle of breaking down and rebuilding muscle. When you lift weights, you break down …

Live a Stress-Free Life in a Way Most People Don't

What does it look like to eliminate stress in your life? No, it doesn’t look like a made-for-television movie. No, it doesn’t look like something …

Overcoming the Worst Part of Finding Your Passion

<b>“You gain courage, strength and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face.” ~</b><b>Eleanor Roosevelt</b><p>Finding my …

22 Ways to Get You Out of Your Funk

According to the most recent Gallup study about employee satisfaction released on 10/9/13, from 230,000 full-time and part-time workers in 142 …

Daily Session: the Full Gym Back Workout

Finding yourself hitting a wall when it comes to putting on size? Luckily, Monica Eiler, NPC Figure competitor and personal trainer, knows a few …

How to Train Your Mind to Think Critically and Form Your Own Opinions

"Critical Thinking" may sound like an obnoxious buzzword from liberal arts schools, but it's actually a useful skill. Critical thinking just means …

Critical Thinking

Home

The results are in: Going 5 weeks without any lower body barbell training (I did smith machine squats, lever machine squats, smith machine good …

An Interval Training Workout to Boost Your Metabolism

No Equipment, No Problem<p>Interval training doesn't require fancy equipment or pricey exercise programs. If you don't have equipment, use your …

Q&A: Pearl Jam's Mike McCready on the Band's Place in Rock History

And what he wishes Kurt Cobain could've seen<p><b>PLUS: Esquire.com is spending all this week remembering Nirvana.</b><p><b>There's a band onstage in an arena somewhere,</b> and its members are wailing through an impromptu take on Van Halen's "Eruption," covering the Dead Boys' punk anthem "Sonic Reducer," dousing the …

Homemade Lara Bars: Coconut Cream Pie | Vintage Mixer

Over the last couple of years I’ve made my share of homemade Lara Bars or little energy bites filled with nuts sweet medjool dates and other flavor …

Griftopia

• <b>Author:</b> Matt Taibbi<p><b>A brilliantly illuminating and darkly comic tale of the ongoing financial and political crisis in America</b> <br>The financial crisis that exploded in 2008 isn’t past but prologue. The grifter class—made up of the largest players in the financial industry and the politicians who do …

Download Free, Open-source Textbooks from OpenStax College

Textbooks are incredibly expensive (not to mention cumbersome and heavy in dead tree format). Smart students can pick up free digital textbooks from …

How to Remember More of What You Read & Improve Your Memorization Skills

Whether you are a student or looking for self-improvement, it can be challenging if you struggle to remember what you have already read. Remembering …

Fix and Repurpose Your Broken Crap This Weekend

Just because something breaks doesn't mean you have to throw it away. A lot of DIY projects can take materials from a broken item and turn it into …

T-shirts

27 Must-Read Fitness, Health, and Happiness Books for 2012

We’re all about running sneaks and foam rollers, but today it’s time to don those reading glasses and curl up on the couch. We’ve rounded up 27 …

Heads in Beds

• <b>Author:</b> Jacob Tomsky<p><b>In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.</b><p>Jacob Tomsky never <i>intended</i> to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a …

8 boredom-busting smoothie recipes

Strawberry and banana smoothies? Sure, they’re tasty, but you’ve been there and done that a hundred times over.<p>So, it’s time to step up your smoothie …

What Happens to the Brain When You Meditate

Ever since my dad tried to convince me to meditate when I was about 12, I’ve been fairly skeptical of this practice. It always seemed so vague and …

9 Easy-To-Steal Habits Of The Super Successful

We wish there was a handbook for success, but there isn’t. Here’s the next best thing: a list of ways you can realize your dreams–and be a more productive person in the process.<p>Wouldn’t it be great if success was simple?<p>But it isn’t.<p>There’s no one-size-fits-all answer for success in work and life, …

RT @mariofraioli: “The secret isn’t in your legs, but in the strength of your mind.” — @kilianj in the prologue to his book, Run or Die http://t.co/cRvkrlhT9X

How I Work News, Videos, Reviews and Gossip - Lifehacker

Before Mari Takahashi joined entertainment company Smosh, her job was ballet dancing, and her career aspiration was to make a living teaching dance. …

Quiet

• <b>Author:</b> Susan Cain<p><b>The book that started the Quiet Revolution</b><br>At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who favor working on their own over working in teams. It is to introverts—Rosa …

Losing Fat & Cutting, Without Losing Muscle

Planning<p>In order to lose body fat we have to have a reason as to why we want to achieve this goal, is it (a) Make you look good (b) Health benefits …