Downthetubes: Flips

By John Freeman | Assembling British comics and (mostly) British media bits I just happen to like.

This Week’s Top Ten Most Read Stories on downthetubes

A look back at a short-lived <i>Commando</i> fan magazine edited by artist <b>Peter Richardson</b>, <b>Frank Bellamy</b> <i>Eagle</i> art, a <b>Jack Kirby</b>-related crowdfunder and the …

Comic Books

In Praise of… Leo Baxendale

<i>Willy the Kid meets the Loch Ness Monster</i> by and © Leo Baxendale<p><b>Leo Baxendale</b> is a British cartoonist who should need no introduction to downthetubes …

In Review: Marvel’s new Nick Fury is a positive tonic

<b>Writer: James Robinson<br>Penciler: ACO<br>Inker: Hugo Petrus<br>Colourist: Rachelle Rosenberg<br>Letterer: Travis Lanham<br>Publisher: Marvel Comics<br>Release Date: 19th</b> …

Comics

London’s Cartoon Museum seeks Comics Creators Project Volunteer

If you or someone you know might be interested in spending a couple of days a week for six months working at London’s fine <b>Cartoon Museum</b>, read on.<p>You …

Game Mania returns to Blackpool in May (with some added comics goodness)

This year’s <b>Game Mania</b> takes place at Blackpool’s Winter Gardens on 6th and 7th May 2017.<p>A Gaming Event full of Retro Games, Virtual Reality, Kids …

Gaming

Killer Commandos Stalk Your Newsagent This Week – and there’s flying saucers on the loose, too!

DC Thomson’s <i>Commando</i> Issues 5011 – 5014, on sale now in all good newsagents and various digital platforms, deliver a hotpot of unique wartime …

Comics

Mystery art has Frank Hampson fans a-flutter – but the actual artist remains a mystery

This mystery art got some fans of Frank Hampson excited – but it isn’t his, says his son<p>Browsing the <b>Book Palace</b> website last night, downthetubes …

Comics

Ron Turner's SPINBALL WARS (Battle-Action 1978)

The artist Ron Turner delighted comics readers in the 1950s with his superb science fiction strips such as <i>Space Ace</i> and <i>Rick Random</i>, and in the 1960s …

Space debris must be removed from orbit says ESA

It’s time to start actively removing space debris from orbit or risk disaster, says the European Space Agency<p>It was on 23 August at 17:07 GMT that spacecraft operators at the European Space Agency’s (ESA) control centre in Darmstadt, Germany, noticed something was going wrong. Their flagship Earth …

Space

Marvel, Jack Kirby, and the Comic-Book Artist’s Plight

A decades-old legal battle is a reminder of how hard many creators have to fight to get credit and compensation for their own work.<p>One week ago, Marvel put out a press release announcing something special: a five-day celebration of the life and work of Jack Kirby, the spectacularly talented and …

Comic Books

NASA's new "space fabric"

This is NASA's new "space fabric" in development at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory.<p>The metal textile is 3D printed in one piece yet can be easily …

Space

This Picture of Earth From Within Saturn's Rings Will Make You Emotional

Sometimes, the majesty of the final frontier—a cold, unfeeling space—has the power to make our eyes misty. The images from NASA’s Cassini mission …

Space

This New Browser Plug-in Lets You Access Millions of Scientific Papers for Free

100% legal.<p>If you're of the mindset that knowledge should be freely accessible to as many humans as possible, paywalls for academic journals can be …

Research

Comic Artist Headed for C2E2 Turned Back at Border

Over Art To Be Completed in the U.S.

Manga

The first trailer for Marvel’s Cloak & Dagger is all about romance and teen angst

Marvel’s upcoming teen drama <i>Cloak & Dagger</i> just got its first trailer, showing off the kind of angst and young romance Freeform is trying to corner the market on. For the first time, we see Tandy Bowen (Olivia Holt) and Tyrone “Ty” Johnson (Aubrey Joseph), two teens from very different walks of …

Superheroes

Scientists use Martian dust to 3D print tools

Food and transportation aren’t the only aspects of a mission to Mars scientists must consider. Limited cargo space means to obtain tools or similar …

3D Printing

Star Wars: The Classic Newspaper Comic collections launched by IDW

Celebrating the 40th Anniversary of the first <b>Star Wars</b> film this May, <b>IDW Publishing</b> and the multi award-winning imprint, <b>Library of American Comics</b> …

Star Wars

Comic creators, a bar – and a Music Festival in Liverpool? Sounds like a great combination!

Ace Liverpool-based comic creators <b>Tom Ward</b> (writer and creator of <i>MERRICK: The Sensational Elephant Man</i>, co-creator of <i>Doc Dino</i>) and <b>Chris Welsh</b> …

Comic Books

Dredd in Rip-Roaring Action in latest 2000AD (Prog 2027)

Featuring a cracking cover by <b>Matt Ferguson</b>, <b>2000AD</b> Prog 2027 is on sale now in all good comic shops and UK newsagents – and via various digital …

Judge Dredd

Sneak Preview: “Old Farts” by Sorina Vazelina

<b>Written and Illustrated by Sorina Vazelina</b> <b><br>Full Colour – Published by Centrala Books</b><p>Something is crawling in to my brain, something colourful and …

Comics

Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy: The Telltale Series episodes launch this week

Award-winning developer and publisher of digital entertainment, <b>Telltale Games</b>, along with <b>Marvel Entertainment</b>, has announced that the first of five</b> …

PlayStation

Crowdfunding Spotlight – British Jack Kirby Documentary Project Launches

2017 marks the centennial of US comic book artist and writer <b>Jack Kirby</b>‘s birth – and British comics archivist <b>Glenn Fleming</b> has just launched a …

Comic Books

Collectormania seeks to boost comic creator presence for June’s event at NEC

Major British event organisers <b>Collectormania</b> are offering comic book creators and other artists, illustrators and self published writers the …

Comics

Gareth Brookes brilliant “A Thousand Coloured Castles” gets Gosh launch on Thursday

Top British comics creator <b>Gareth Brookes</b> is hosting a launch party for his new graphic novel <i>A Thousand Coloured Castles</i>, published by Myriad …

Comics

Creating Comics: The Comic Industry and the Downside of Working from the Belly of the Whale

Jonah and the Whale by Pieter Lastman<p><b>Our thanks to comics writer, inker, letterer, editor and publisher Ian Sharman today for kindly giving us</b> …

Comic Books

Coming Soon: Dazzle Ships and the Art of Confusion

If you’re a fan of <i>Commando</i> comics, then you may want to check out <b>Dazzle Ships: World War One and the Art of Confusion</b>, out later this year.Yes, it’s …

Art

Frank Bellamy “Heros the Spartan” Art Goes Under the Hammer

“Heros the Spartan” from Eagle Volume 14 Issue 22 by Frank Bellamy<p>A spread of “<b>Heros the Spartan</b>” art by <b>Frank Bellamy</b> published in <i>Eagle</i> in 1963 is …

Comics

Borderliners is a Real Treat for fans of The Prisoner and Phillip K. Dick

Manchester-based writer/artist <b>Brian Gorman</b>‘s second graphic novel, <b>Borderliners: True Realities</b>, was published by <b>Invisible Six Ltd</b> a few months ago. …

Philip Pullman’s The Adventures of John Blake: Mystery of the Ghost Ship collection docks in June

<b>Philip Pullman</b>‘s <b>The Adventures of John Blake: Mystery of the Ghost Ship</b> offers high-octane action and a deep twisting mystery combine in a visual …