Jody Susi

34 Flips | 6 Magazines | 2 Likes | 6 Following | 8 Followers | @jodysusi | Keep up with Jody Susi on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Jody Susi”

Reinventing the (Hubless) Wheel: 'Transport' Is a Trunk for Your Bike, by David Hotard, Matthew Campbell & Edwin Collier

<i>Professor Kevin Shankwiler of GeorgiaTech has been teaching a third-year bicycle design studio for the past four years. The 8-week course is</i> …

The First Airless-Tire Vehicle You Can Own Is a Wicked ATV

Airless—or non-pneumatic tires—have popped up from time to time over the past few years, and while they offer many advantages over traditional …

ATVs

Turn Your Old T-Shirts into Wall Art

If you have an old t-shirt that you love but don't want to wear, or used to wear all the time but is now too small, one way you can continue to …

Wall Art

​Keep Mosquitoes at Bay with This Plastic Bottle Bug Trap

No one wants to be eaten alive by mosquitoes, but there's no need to resort to harsh chemicals to keep them at arm's length. Instructables user …

Mosquitoes

10 Abs Exercises Better Than Crunches

10 abs exercises for women that are so much better than crunches.<p>If you still think that doing crunches will score you amazing abs, you're in for a rude awakening. Flattening your belly requires multi-muscle exercises that target all the regions of your core—upper and lower abs, obliques, …

Workouts

8 Foods That Give You an Afternoon Energy Boost That AREN'T a Cup of Coffee

Put down that jittery cup of joe and back away slowly. Here are your new go-to p.m. pick-me-ups.<p>You know the feeling. Your shoulders sag forward, your eyelids are heavier than paperweights, you've read and reread the same sentence seven times in a row…it's the dreaded 3 p.m. slump, and your options …

Nutrition

5 Bedtime Snacks That'll Help You Sleep Better

After-dinner noshing might not be such a bad idea after all…<p>If you're constantly groggy but struggling to get the sleep you need, your biological clock could be out of whack. Thankfully, getting your snooze cycle back in sync might be as simple as picking a new bedtime snack, according to a new …

Nutrition

46 Sex Positions Everyone Should Try In Their Lifetime

...or tonight.<p>Opting for the same tried-and-true positions during sex is kind of like watching your favorite movie: You know you're going to enjoy it, and you're well aware how it'll end (happily, obvi.) But even though your fave film may be endlessly amazing, it never hurts to switch things up and …

How Long Should It Take to See Muscle Definition?

Because you’re dying to show off your workout results!<p><b>The question:</b> “When should I expect to see more defined muscles?”<p><b>The experts:</b> Jon-Erik Kawamoto, strength and conditioning specialist, owner of JKConditioning; Lee Boyce, C.P.T., owner of Boyce Training Systems<p><b>The answer:</b> Depending on how often …

Exercise

Updike

• <b>Author:</b> Adam Begley<p>Updike is Adam Begley’s masterful, much-anticipated biography of one of the most celebrated figures in American literature: Pulitzer Prize-winning author John Updike—a candid, intimate, and richly detailed look at his life and work.<p>In this magisterial biography, Adam Begley …

Arts & Entertainments

• <b>Author:</b> Christopher Beha<p>Christopher Beha delivers a cutting send-up of our cultural obsession with celebrity—a deliciously witty, and ultimately tender, novel about the absurdity of fame and the complexity of love sure to appeal to fans of Maria Semple and Jess Walter.<p>A sharp-edged satire with …

Savage Harvest: A Tale of Cannibals, Colonialism, and Michael Rockefeller's Tragic Quest for Primitive Art Hardcover – Deckle Edge

The mysterious disappearance of Michael Rockefeller in New Guinea in 1961 has kept the world and his powerful, influential family guessing for years. …

Landline Hardcover – July 8, 2014

A New York Times Best Seller Goodreads Choice Award Winner for Best Fiction of 2014 An Indie Next Pick From New York Times bestselling author of …

The Silkworm

• <b>Author:</b> Robert Galbraith<p><b>Private investigator Cormoran Strike returns in a new mystery from Robert Galbraith, author of the #1 international bestseller The Cuckoo's Calling.</b><p>When novelist Owen Quine goes missing, his wife calls in private detective Cormoran Strike. At first, Mrs. Quine just thinks …

I Am Having So Much Fun Here Without You

• <b>Author:</b> Courtney Maum<p>In this reverse love story set in Paris and London, which <i>The Wall Street Journal</i> hailed as “funny and soulful…immediately appealing,” a failed monogamist attempts to woo his wife back and to answer the question: Is it really possible to fall back in love with your …

Pictures of the Week 7.3.14

15 Red, White and Blue Rooms That Are Impressively Patriotic

These stylish spaces proudly pay tribute to America all year long.<p>These stylish spaces proudly pay tribute to America all year long.

Interior Design

Pictures: Celebrating the Fourth of July and America

Building the Perfect Sandwich Is All About Architecture

BA Foodist Andrew Knowlton has strong opinions on sandwich architecture—here's how he says to build everything from burgers to lobster rolls to bánh mì<p>No one can accuse <i>Bon Appétit</i>'s restaurant and drinks editor <b>Andrew Knowlton</b> of being wishy-washy. The man has some strong opinions about food and …

grilled cheese

The Decorating Mistakes That Can Hurt Your Home's Value

The unexpected little details that could cost you big time.<p>Thinking of selling your home...even one day? Real estate experts weigh in on the unexpected little details that could cost you big time in the long run.

Meet the New Oldest American

Gertrude Weaver of Arkansas celebrated her 116th birthday on July 4 and is the new oldest-living American, according to the Gerontology Research …

9 Things Rich People Do Differently Every Day

This story originally appeared on Business Insider<p>What you do today matters. In fact, your daily habits may be a major determinant of your wealth.<p>"The metaphor I like is the avalanche," says Thomas Corley, the author of "Rich Habits: The Daily Success Habits Of Wealthy Individuals." "These habits …

The complete guide to working out before work

Life inevitably gets in the way of your gym date. That’s why people who exercise in the morning are more likely to stick with it, Barbara Brehm, a professor of exercise and sport studies at Smith College in Massachusetts and author of the recently released textbook, <i>Psychology of Health and Fitness</i>, …

Fitness

Photo Project Captures People’s Reactions to Someone Falling Asleep on Them on the Subway

The New York City subway can be a cold place, metaphorically speaking. Headphones, cell phones, that one Seamless ad they’ve no doubt already read …

Lance Armstrong in Purgatory: The After-Life

After a great fall, what do we remember? We remember the cheating, and the lies. We remember the cult of personality that we eagerly embraced, and then felt betrayed by. But what of the man who fell? What about the work he didn't cheat at? What about the 16 years Lance Armstrong spent building a …

10 Smart Tips For Hosting Your Best Summer Party

Claire Thomas of TheKitchyKitchen.com shares 10 rules that every hostess should abide by.<p>Planning on throwing a big summer soiree? The adorable Claire Thomas (pictured above) of website TheKitchyKitchen.com shares her entertaining 10 commandments that every party host should follow. For recipes and …

A Scandinavian-Inspired Kitchen with Hints of Japan

Not too long ago, on a quick business-ey type trip to Toronto, I made a side pilgrimage to Mjölk (one of our favorite shops ever at Remodelista). …

Japanese Food

Our Favorite Burger Recipes from Classic to "Crunchified"

Juicy burgers—from beef, to turkey, to veggie—that you'll want to get on your grill right now.<p><b>Fire up that grill already</b>—it's practically begging for one of these juicy burgers to make that delightful sizzling noise.

Cooking

Arctic Aerial Photos

The latest project of renowned aerial photographer Robert Haas, Through the Eyes of the Vikings yields stunning images of the Arctic that show not a "blinding storm of white as one might think—but rather, a dramatic and surprising diversity of brilliant colors and unexpected subjects.

Travel Photography

What it's like to jump the Glastonbury fence (and why you never should)

When Mendip District Council renewed Glastonbury Festival’s licence for a decade in 2014, they did so without so much as a public consultation. The move was indicative of the recent good relations between the festival’s organisers and the licencing authority – a far cry from the years when the …