Joanne Pellegrino

24 Flips | 2 Magazines | 2 Following | 1 Follower | @joannepelle7c30 | Keep up with Joanne Pellegrino on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Joanne Pellegrino”

See the Best of Travel 365

See the Best of Travel 365

See the Best of Travel 365

See the Best of Travel 365

See the Best of Travel 365

See the Best of Travel 365

Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy

• <b>Author:</b> Helen Fielding<p><b>Bridget Jones—one of the most beloved characters in modern literature (v.g.)—is back! In Helen Fielding's wildly funny, hotly anticipated new novel, Bridget faces a few rather pressing questions:</b> <br>What do you do when your girlfriend’s sixtieth birthday party is the same day as …

The Lowland

• <b>Author:</b> Jhumpa Lahiri<p><b>National Book Award Finalist</b><p><b>Shortlisted for the 2013 Man Booker Prize</b><p>From the Pulitzer Prize-winning, best-selling author of <i>The Namesake</i> comes an extraordinary new novel, set in both India and America, that expands the scope and range of one of our most dazzling storytellers: a …

Songs of Willow Frost

• <b>Author:</b> Jamie Ford<p><b>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER</b><p>From Jamie Ford, author of the beloved <i>Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet,</i> comes a much-anticipated second novel. Set against the backdrop of Depression-era Seattle, <i>Songs of Willow Frost</i> is a powerful tale of two souls—a boy with dreams for his future …

Books

<b>Novels</b><p><b>Love and Other Consolation Prizes</b><p><b>From the bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet comes a powerful novel, inspired by a</b> …

Dust

• <b>Author:</b> Patricia Cornwell<p><b>From the world’s number-one bestselling crime writer comes the extraordinary new Kay Scarpetta novel.</b><p>Massachusetts Chief Medical Examiner Kay Scarpetta has just returned from working one of the worst mass murders in U.S. history when she’s awakened at an early hour by …

Stephen King's new novel Doctor Sleep - first look

Interactive: Stephen King's new book, Doctor Sleep, is a return to the territory of The Shining and features an interactive cover.<p>The cover for Stephen King's new novel Doctor Sleep, which features Danny Torrance from The Shining, has been released.<p>It shows a picture of a white cat surrounded by …

Doctor Sleep

• <b>Author:</b> Stephen King<p>Stephen King returns to the character and territory of one of his most popular novels ever, <i>The Shining</i>, in this instantly riveting novel about the now middle-aged Dan Torrance and the very special twelve-year-old girl he must save from a tribe of murderous paranormals.<p>On …

App, Secret Sites Create The Immersive World Of 'Night Film'

When you watch a DVD these days, there's a whole array of extras waiting for you after the movie — commentaries, deleted scenes, special re-creations that add to the experience.<p>But what if you are a novelist and want to do the same? Could you? Should you?<p>In her new thriller, author Marisha Pessl …

Night Film

• <b>Author:</b> Marisha Pessl<p><b>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER</b><p><b>NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY <br>NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage</b><p><b>A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with</b> …

Marisha Pessl takes a dark turn with 'Night Film'

Partway through Marisha Pessl's second novel, "Night Film," I began to feel as if I had been taken hostage by the book. This, I should hasten to add, is not its intent. The saga of a legendary film director, Stanislas Cordova, and the suicide of his 24-year-old daughter, Ashley, "Night Film" is …

The Fall's Essential Books

This article is from the archive of our partner .<p>Fall means auburn-colored leaves, a chill in the air — and the finest selections publishing houses …

10 Best Book Club Books For Fall 2013

<i>Originally posted on Bookish by Nathan Rostron:</i><p>Sure, we love the wine and the camaraderie, but the among the top pleasures of a good book club discussion is having a great book to rave about or ravage through lively debate. This fall's lineup of top reading-group-ready reads brings us new novels by …

Political Violence, Uneasy Silence Echo In Lahiri's 'Lowland'

Earlier this month, Jhumpa Lahiri rejected the idea of immigrant fiction. "I don't know what to make of the term," she told <i>The New York Times</i>. "All American fiction could be classified as immigrant fiction."<p>Nevertheless, among readers, Lahiri is best-known for her novels and short stories about the …

Fall Books Preview: 22 Notable New Releases

Pack your reading list with big names and new voices in both fiction and non-fiction alike.<p>Urwand’s decade of archival research uncovers rampant cinematic censorship, but it also brings to light some more horrifying history: MGM not only helped fund Nazi weaponry, but its top Germany executive …

Doctor Sleep by Stephen King – review

The little boy with psychic powers is grown up in a powerful sequel to The Shining<p>"Did I approach the book with trepidation?" asks Stephen King in the author's note to <i>Doctor Sleep</i>. "You better believe it." Me too. It's a brave man who writes a sequel to <i>The Shining</i> – which, if not the perfect horror …

How air travel has changed