Joao Vinagre

39 Flips | 1 Magazine | 3 Following | 1 Follower | @jggvinagre | Keep up with Joao Vinagre on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Joao Vinagre”

The Invisible Library

• <b>Author:</b> Genevieve Cogman<p><b>Collecting books can be a dangerous prospect in this fun, time-traveling, fantasy adventure from a spectacular debut author.</b> <b></b> <i><br>One thing any Librarian will tell you: the truth is much stranger than fiction...</i> <br>Irene is a professional spy for the mysterious Library, a shadowy …

Dark Run

• <b>Author:</b> Mike Brooks<p>In this debut space epic, a crew of thieves and con artists take on a job that could pay off a lot of debts in a corrupt galaxy where life is cheap and criminals are the best people in it.<p>The Keiko is a ship of smugglers, soldiers of fortune, and adventurers travelling Earth’s …

14 Science Books That Changed People's Lives

We asked BuzzFeed readers for the science books that changed their lives. This is what they told us.

China Miéville’s ‘This Census-Taker’: Gothic Fiction As Only He Could Do It

In China Miéville's <i>This Census-Taker</i>, an unnamed prisoner looks back on a disturbing, possibly half-imagined childhood lived in a crumbling house in …

The Space Trilogy, Omnib

• <b>Author:</b> C. S. Lewis<p>This one-volume edition marks the 75th anniversary of Lewis's classic science fiction trilogy featuring the adventures of Dr. Ransom on Mars, Venus, and Earth. It includes an exclusive foreword compiled from letters by J.R.R. Tolkien, who inspired Lewis to write the first volume …

Dark Matter and the Dinosaurs: Harvard Physicist Lisa Randall on the Astounding Interconnectedness of the Universe

A thrilling cosmological detective story of how the universe evolved and what made our very existence possible.<p>Every successful technology of thought, be it science or philosophy, is a time machine — it peers into the past in order to disassemble the building blocks of how we got to the present, …

Saturn Run

• <b>Author:</b> John Sandford & Ctein<p><b>“Fans of Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers will eat this up.” --Stephen King</b><p>For fans of THE MARTIAN, an extraordinary new thriller of the future from #1 <i>New York Times</i>–bestselling and Pulitzer Prize–winning author John Sandford and internationally known photo-artist and …

The Left Hand of Darkness

• <b>Author:</b> Ursula K. Le Guin<p>A lone human ambassador is sent to Winter, an alien world without sexual prejudice, where the inhabitants can change their gender whenever they choose. His goal is to facilitate Winter's inclusion in a growing intergalactic civilization. But to do so he must bridge the gulf …

Never Mind the Bollocks, Here's a Punk History Reading List

Even though it predates my existence by a few years, I’ve always been drawn to punk. (Are you surprised? Maybe, if you saw my country music reading …

Cover & Summary: THREE MOMENTS OF AN EXPLOSION By China Mieville - Unbound Worlds

China Miéville is one of my favorite writers.<p>I know I’m not the only one who loves his work. He has proven himself to be one of the most interesting …

The Infernal City: An Elder Scrolls Novel

• <b>Autor:</b> Greg Keyes<p>Four decades after the Oblivion Crisis, Tamriel is threatened anew by an ancient and all-consuming evil. It is Umbriel, a floating city that casts a terrifying shadow–for wherever it falls, people die and rise again.<p>And it is in Umbriel’s shadow that a great adventure begins, and a …

The Slow Regard of Silent Things

• <b>Author:</b> Patrick Rothfuss<p>Deep below the University, there is a dark place. Few people know of it: a broken web of ancient passageways and abandoned rooms. A young woman lives there, tucked among the sprawling tunnels of the Underthing, snug in the heart of this forgotten place.<br>Her name is Auri, and …

10 Great Novels That Will Make You More Passionate About Science

Many of the world's greatest scientists were inspired to go into their fields by reading science fiction books. And it's easy to see why. A lot of …

Ready Player One

• <b>Author:</b> Ernest Cline<p><b>Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read</b><p><b>The worldwide bestseller—now a major motion picture directed by Steven Spielberg.</b><p>In the year 2045, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he's jacked …

Ender's Game

• <b>Author:</b> Orson Scott Card<p><b>Winner of the Hugo and Nebula Awards</b><p>In order to develop a secure defense against a hostile alien race's next attack, government agencies breed child geniuses and train them as soldiers. A brilliant young boy, Andrew "Ender" Wiggin lives with his kind but distant parents, his …

Farscape: Dark Side of the Sun

• <b>Autor:</b> Andrew Dymond<p>Lost and alone is an uncharted region of space, American astronaut John Crichton has found refuge of a sort aboard Moya, a living starship sheltering a fractious band of bizarre alien beings. But now Moya is dying of pernicious infection, and the only cure in light-years belongs …

Ender's Shadow

• <b>Author:</b> Orson Scott Card<p>Orson Scott Card brings us back to the very beginning of his brilliant Ender Quartet, with the novel that begins The Shadow Series and allows us to reenter Ender's world anew.<p>With all the power of his original creation, <i>Ender's Shadow</i> is Card's parallel volume to <i>Ender's Game</i>, …

Earth Awakens

• <b>Author:</b> Orson Scott Card & Aaron Johnston<p>The story of The First Formic War continues in <i>Earth Awakens</i>.<p>Nearly 100 years before the events of Orson Scott Card's bestselling novel <i>Ender's Game</i>, humans were just beginning to step off Earth and out into the Solar System. A thin web of ships in both …

Children of the Mind

• <b>Author:</b> Orson Scott Card<p>The planet Lusitania is home to three sentient species: the Pequeninos; a large colony of humans; and the Hive Queen, brought there by Ender. But once against the human race has grown fearful; the Starways Congress has gathered a fleet to destroy Lusitania.<p>Jane, the evolved …

Pirate Freedom

• <b>Autor:</b> Gene Wolfe<p>As a young parish priest, Father Christopher has heard many confessions, but his own tale is more astounding than any revelation he has ever encountered in the confessional . . . for Chris was once a pirate captain, hundreds of years before his birth.<p>Fresh from the monastery, the …

7 Must-Read Books on Time

Time is the most fundamental common denominator between our existence and that of everything else, it’s the yardstick by which we measure nearly every aspect of our lives, directly or indirectly, yet its nature remains one of the greatest mysteries of science. Last year, we devoured BBC’s excellent</i> …

The Affinity Bridge

• <b>Author:</b> George Mann<p>Welcome to the bizarre and dangerous world of Victorian London, a city teetering on the edge of revolution. Its people are ushering in a new era of technology, dazzled each day by unfamiliar inventions. Airships soar in the skies over the city, while ground trains rumble through …

La costa más lejana (Historias de Terramar 3)

• <b>Autor:</b> Ursula K. Le Guin<p>El joven Arren, príncipe de Enlad y heredero del trono de Morred, llega a la isla de Roke con malas noticias. No sólo no hay magia en el mundo: una inquieta desazón se ha extenido por los Confines. La gente no encuentra sentido a la vida. Los artesanos y el comercio están …

Drawn Out: The 50 Best Non-Superhero Graphic Novels

50<p>‘Puma Blues,’ Stephen Murphy and Michael Zulli<p>It started as an environmental, post- disaster sci-fi book featuring mutated, flying manta rays as a …

Graphic Novels

Red Seas Under Red Skies

• <b>Autor:</b> Scott Lynch<p>In his highly acclaimed debut, <i>The Lies of Locke Lamora,</i> Scott Lynch took us on an adrenaline-fueled adventure with a band of daring thieves led by con artist extraordinaire Locke Lamora. Now Lynch brings back his outrageous hero for a caper so death-defying, nothing short of a …

Contingência, ou tô pouco ligando

• <b>Autor:</b> Martha Argel<p>Um conto irônico cheio de bom humor, conhecimento do assunto e da teoria do caos para mostrar como um ato simples de um biólogo desleixado pode afetar drasticamente não só a ecologia, mas também a economia e até a cultura de uma sociedade.

The Voyage of the Jerle Shannara Trilogy

• <b>Autor:</b> Terry Brooks<p>TheNew York Times bestselling author of the classic Shannara epic, Terry Brooks, has proven himself one of the modern masters of fantasy, brilliantly creating breathtaking worlds of magic, adventure, and intrigue. Now, for the first time in one marvelous collector’s edition …