jdk1

112 Added | 15 Magazines | 1 Like | 21 Following | 1 Follower | @jdk1 | Keep up with jdk1 on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “jdk1”

One Hundred Years Later, the Madness of Daylight Saving Time Endures

One hundred years after Congress passed the first daylight saving legislation, lawmakers in Florida this week passed the “Sunshine Protection Act,” …

Nova Scotia

The perfect bracket to win your March Madness pool

Think you can pick all the winners in the NCAA tournament? Probably not. There are more than nine quintillion different bracket combinations — that’s a nine, followed by 18 zeros. If you filled out that many paper brackets by hand and stacked on top of each other it would reach Pluto … and back … …

College Sports

Hey, Mike Pence, the Holocaust Didn’t Happen for Your Benefit

The vice president’s tweet tried to turn the Holocaust into a redemption narrative. He’s not alone here, but he is wrong. There is nothing uplifting …

9 science-backed books that could change your life for the better in 2018

This year, like every year, most of us are trying to get more done, be happier, and have better relationships. Given the high levels of burnout across professions (50% by some accounts), we all could use some tools for higher efficiency and better self-care. The good news is that these 9 books …

Happiness

'Grist Mill Road' Bears Witness To Horror — And Its Aftermath

Christopher J. Yates begins his new novel, <i>Grist Mill Road</i>, with a crime in progress:<p>"I remember the gunshots made a wet sort of sound, <i>phssh phssh phssh</i>."<p>It is summer, 1982, and in a clearing in the woods outside the small town of Roseborn, N.Y., a 14-year-old boy shoots a 13-year-old girl over and …

Books

Louise Erdrich Delivers A Dystopian Feminist Thriller In 'Future Home'

Before I finally picked up and read Louise Erdrich's new novel, called <i>Future Home of the Living God,</i> there was a mighty obstacle that had to be faced — an obstacle called <i>The Handmaid's Tale.</i> After Margaret Atwood's magisterial achievement, is there really room for another dystopian feminist novel …

Books

The Fall Novel Guide

A privileged problem: Too many really good books came out this summer to fit them all in before Labor Day, and this fall’s reads are proving equally …

Books

To Understand Politics, Try Reading Poetry - Signature Reads

When <i>hasn’t</i> poetry been political? Deep dives into the history of political conflicts and long-festering societal grievances from previous centuries can include the discovery of satirical verses, mocking stanzas, and incisive parodies. In the mid-twentieth century, the obscenity trial surrounding …

Kurt Andersen on How America Has Reached Peak Fantasyland Status

Kurt Andersen turned in the manuscript of his latest book, <i>Fantasyland</i>, in spring of 2016, just as Donald Trump was winning the nomination for the Republican presidential candidate. Andersen is no fan of Trump’s, but he couldn’t help appreciate how the former TV celebrity’s ascension to the highest …

Sustainable Luxe: 5 Hotels Doing it Right

At these dreamy destinations, luxury goes hand in hand with the three pillars of sustainability.<p>Smart travelers now expect some elements of sustainability when they travel—and welcome it when it goes beyond picking up towels and reusable soap containers. As Keith Bellows, former editor in chief of</i> …

'Take On Me' app turns your home into an '80s music video

A-ha's classic video for "Take On Me" was the result of painstaking effort -- it took 16 weeks to rotoscope the frames, creating that signature blend between the real and hand-drawn worlds. Now, however, you only need an iPhone to recreate the look yourself. Trixi Studios has shown off an augmented …

Clever Street Artist Is Transforming NYC’s Streets into One Giant Playground

We love clever street art, so we couldn't help but admire the work of artist Tom Bob, who has been running amok on the streets of New York and Massachusetts. If you're a fan of famous street artist OakOak, you'll love Tom Bob's work, as he uses forgotten elements of the street to create whimsical …

Streetwear

43 Embarrassing Grammar Mistakes Even Smart People Make | Inc.com

When someone uses grammar incorrectly do you make an assumption about his or her intelligence or education? Like it or not, words, spelling, and punctuation are powerful and can leave a lasting impression on others. But even the most educated people often unknowingly make common writing and …

Language

Timberland Is Making Shoes and Bags From Recycled Plastic Bottles

Americans go through about 50 billion water bottles a year, but only recycle a fraction of that colossal total. Now, more companies and organizations …

Typography

Products Archive

Lightweight Fleece – Rose$10.00 $5.99<p>Limited Edition<p>Lightweight Fleece – Grey Heather$10.00 $5.99<p>Limited Edition<p>Lightweight Fleece – Black$10.00 $5.99<p>…

Escape the winter blues with these 6 trip ideas off the beaten path

Are you ready to escape the winter doldrums and drum up some adventure instead?<p>Forget your passport and consider a trip to a warm-weather location a …

National Parks

The Best Places to Travel in 2017

Travel

Teacher Misery: Helicopter Parents, Special Snowflakes and Other B******t

• <b>Author:</b> Jane Morris<p>"Wow! Get ready to learn more than Urban Dictionary could ever possibly teach you. The chapter on Furries is one of the most original and hilarious things I've ever read! I dare you not to laugh out loud!"<br>-Robin O'Bryant, New York Times bestselling author of Ketchup is a …

Children's bedrooms around the world

<b>(CNN) —</b> A child's bedroom often expresses their identity. From brightly colored walls filled with posters to toys and books scattered around, it is truly their place of comfort. But for some children around the world, their bedroom is no more than a mat outside or a collection of old sheets, tires …

Rio De Janeiro

First They Killed My Father

• <b>Author:</b> Loung Ung<p>Repackaged in a new tie-in edition to coincide with the Netflix film produced and directed by Angelina Jolie, a moving story of war crimes and desperate actions, the unnerving strength of a small girl and her triumphant spirit as she survived the Cambodian genocide under Pol Pot’s …

20 Stunning Lakes Adventurous Travelers Will Adore

Lakes have always been the vacation staple: a place to hole up in a small house beside the water.<p>Mornings are spent reading summer's best seller with …

America hasn’t seen a solar eclipse like this since the end of World War I | Ars Technica

Next August, Americans will get best chance to see solar eclipse in their lifetimes.<p>For many cultures a total solar eclipse represents a time when …

North Dakota

Nasa to make all its research available free on the Internet

The American space agency, Nasa, is to make all its research available free of charge.<p>It is a move which will delight science enthusiasts and aspiring astronauts.<p>Normally such material is hidden behind a paywall, meaning that it is often out of reach for the lay enthusiast. The EU has also said it …

Barbarian Days

• <b>Author:</b> William Finnegan<p><b>*Included in President Obama’s 2016 Summer Reading List*<br>A deeply rendered self-portrait of a lifelong surfer by the acclaimed New Yorker writer</b><i><br>Barbarian Days</i> is William Finnegan’s memoir of an obsession, a complex enchantment. Surfing only looks like a sport. To initiates, …

The Tao of Bill Murray

• <b>Author:</b> Gavin Edwards & R. Sikoryak<p><i>No one will ever believe you.</i><p><i>New York Times</i> bestselling author Gavin Edwards, like the rest of us, has always been fascinated with Bill Murray—in particular the beloved actor’s adventures off-screen, which rival his filmography for sheer entertainment value. …

Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight

• <b>Author:</b> Alexandra Fuller<p><b>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY’S #1 NONFICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR • A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK • FINALIST, GUARDIAN FIRST BOOK PRIZE</b> <b><br>“This is not a book you read just once, but a tale of terrible beauty to get lost in over and over.”—Newsweek</b> <b></b> <b><br>“By turns</b> …

The Underground Girls of Kabul

• <b>Author:</b> Jenny Nordberg<p><b>An investigative journalist uncovers a hidden custom that will transform your understanding of what it means to grow up as a girl</b><p>In Afghanistan, a culture ruled almost entirely by men, the birth of a son is cause for celebration and the arrival of a daughter is often mourned …

Hillbilly Elegy

• <b>Author:</b> J. D. Vance<p>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER<p>"A riveting book."—The Wall Street Journal<p>"Essential reading."—David Brooks, New York Times<p>From a former marine and Yale Law School graduate, a powerful account of growing up in a poor Rust Belt town that offers a broader, probing look at the struggles of …

What Remains

• <b>Author:</b> Carole Radziwill<p>A stunning, tragic memoir about John F. Kennedy Jr., his wife Carolyn Bissett, and his cousin Anthony Radziwill, by Radziwill’s widow, now a star of <i>The Real Housewives of New York</i>.<p><i>What Remains</i> is a vivid and haunting memoir about a girl from a working-class town who becomes …

Look at You Now

• <b>Author:</b> Liz Pryor<p><b>CHICAGO TRIBUNE BESTSELLER • For readers of Orange Is the New Black and The Glass Castle, a riveting memoir about a lifelong secret and a girl finding strength in the most unlikely place</b><p>In 1979, Liz Pryor is a seventeen-year-old girl from a good family in the wealthy Chicago …