The "Seven" Seas

We can trace the origins of the phrase 'Seven Seas' back to ancient times. The Seven Seas was referred to bodies of water along trade routes. The Seven Seas in Medieval times referred to the North Sea, Baltic, Atlantic, Mediterranean, Black, Red, and Arabian seas. Today the modern seas are the Arctic, North Atlantic, South Atlantic, North Pacific, South Pacific, Indian, and Southern Oceans. In this storyboard, I am covering the ancient seas along the historical silk route.

Avatar - Janette Speyer
Curated by
Janette Speyer
    • Nature
    • Marine Biology
    • History
    • Mythology
    • Biology
The "Seven" Seas


Continue to read
9 stories in this Storyboard

More stories from Nature