Jacqueline Lejeune

31 Flips | 2 Magazines | 4 Following | 1 Follower | @jackielejeune | Keep up with Jacqueline Lejeune on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Jacqueline Lejeune”

Damaged

• <b>Author:</b> Cathy Glass<p>The Sunday Times and New York Times Bestseller. Although Jodie is only eight years old, she is violent, aggressive, and has already been through numerous foster families. Her last hope is Cathy Glass…<p>Cathy, an experienced foster carer, is pressured into taking Jodie as a new …

Cry Silent Tears

• <b>Author:</b> Joe Peters<p>Joe knew his mother was cruel and violent, but he trusted his beloved father to protect him from her. When a freak accident saw his father burn to death in front of him, Joe was left at the mercy of his mother. Without the love of his friend and brother, he wouldn't have survived. …

Beyond Belief

• <b>Author:</b> Jenna Miscavige Hill & Lisa Pulitzer<p>Jenna Miscavige Hill, niece of Church of Scientology leader David Miscavige, was raised as a Scientologist but left the controversial religion in 2005. In Beyond Belief, she shares her true story of life inside the upper ranks of the sect, details her …

Drinking with Men

• <b>Author:</b> Rosie Schaap<p><b>NPR “Best Books of 2013”</b><b><br>BookPage Best Books of 2013</b><b><br>Library Journal Best Books of 2013: Memoir</b><b><br>Flavorwire 10 Best Nonfiction Books of 2013</b><p><b>A vivid, funny, and poignant memoir that celebrates the distinct lure of the camaraderie and community one finds drinking in bars.</b><p>Rosie Schaap …

Your Voice in My Head

• <b>Author:</b> Emma Forrest<p>Emma Forrest, a British journalist, was just twenty-two and living the fast life in New York City when she realized that her quirks had gone beyond eccentricity. In a cycle of loneliness, damaging relationships, and destructive behavior, she found herself in the chair of a slim, …

Give Me Everything You Have

• <b>Author:</b> James Lasdun<p>A true story of obsessive love turning to obsessive hate, <i>Give Me Everything You Have</i> chronicles the author's strange and harrowing ordeal at the hands of a former student, a self-styled "verbal terrorist," who began trying, in her words, to "ruin him." Hate mail, online …

With or Without You

• <b>Author:</b> Domenica Ruta<p><b>NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST NONFICTION BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY</b><br>Domenica Ruta grew up in a working-class, unforgiving town north of Boston, in a trash-filled house on a dead-end road surrounded by a river and a salt marsh. Her mother, Kathi, a notorious local …

The Girl with No Name

• <b>Author:</b> Marina Chapman<p><b>The unbelievable true story of a young girl who is abandoned in the Colombian jungle and finds asylum in the most unlikely of places—with a troop of capuchin monkeys</b> <br>In 1954, in a remote mountain village in South America, a little girl was abducted. She was four years old. …

Heads in Beds

• <b>Author:</b> Jacob Tomsky<p><b>In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry.</b><p>Jacob Tomsky never <i>intended</i> to go into the hotel business. As a new college graduate, armed only with a …

The Saddest Girl in the World

• <b>Author:</b> Cathy Glass<p>The Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling author of Damaged tells the true story of Donna, who came into foster care aged ten, having been abused, victimised and rejected by her family.<p>Donna had been in foster care with her two young brothers for three weeks when she is …

Don’t Tell Mummy

• <b>Author:</b> Toni Maguire<p>This heart-wrenching memoir from Toni Maguire tells the deeply moving story of an idyllic childhood that masked a terrible truth. Underneath her mother's gentility and her father's roguish charm lay horrifying secrets, which eventually led to their only child's near …

She Left Me the Gun

• <b>Author:</b> Emma Brockes<p><b>"One of those memoirs that remind you why you liked memoirs in the first place... It has the density of a very good novel... As you do with the best writers, you feel lucky to be in Ms. Brockes’s company." --Dwight Garner, The New York Times</b><p>A chilling work of psychological …

Come Back

• <b>Author:</b> Claire Fontaine & Mia Fontaine<p>The unflinching true account of a teenage girl's descent into society's underbelly -- and her mother's desperate and ultimately successful attempts to bring her back.<p>How does an honor student at one of Los Angeles's finest prep schools -- a bright, beautiful …

A Curious Man

• <b>Author:</b> Neal Thompson<p><i>A Curious Man</i> is the marvelously compelling biography of Robert “Believe It or Not” Ripley, the enigmatic cartoonist turned globetrotting millionaire who won international fame by celebrating the world's strangest oddities, and whose outrageous showmanship taught us to believe …

Iron and Wine Video Mixes Hand-Painted Watercolor and Stop-Motion Animation

Between Keaton Henson’s absolutely wrenching video for “Small Hands” last spring and now the new one from Iron and Wine, a pattern has begun to emerge. Apparently, any video with a stop-motion woodland setting will henceforth be a surefire harbinger of tears–though in this case, it’s more from …

I Suck at Girls

• <b>Author:</b> Justin Halpern<p>From the #1 New York Times bestseller author of Sh*t My Dad Says, Justin Halpern, comes a laugh-out-loud funny and deeply touching collection of personal stories about relationships with the opposite sex, from a first kiss to getting engaged and all the awkward moments in …

Confessions of a Sociopath

• <b>Author:</b> M.E. Thomas<p><b>Confessions of a Sociopath is both the memoir of a high-functioning, law-abiding (well, mostly) sociopath and a roadmap -- right from the source -- for dealing with the sociopath in your life.</b><br>As M.E. Thomas says of her fellow sociopaths, “We are your neighbors, your coworkers, …

Diary of a Submissive

• <b>Author:</b> Sophie Morgan<p><b>The “real” Fifty Shades of Grey…A true life erotic story of female submission to rival The Story of O.</b><br>In <i>Diary of a Submissive</i>, Sophie Morgan candidly explains what exactly an independent, 21st century woman gets out of relinquishing her power and personal freedom in a …

I Am Not Myself These Days

• <b>Author:</b> Josh Kilmer-Purcell<p>The New York Times bestselling, darkly funny memoirof a young New Yorker's daring dual life—advertising art director by day,glitter-dripping drag queen and nightclub beauty-pageant hopeful by night—was asmash literary debut for Josh Kilmer-Purcell, now known for his …

The Journal of Best Practices

• <b>Author:</b> David Finch<p>The warm and hilarious bestselling memoir by a man diagnosed with Asperger syndrome who sets out to save his marriage.<p>At some point in nearly every marriage, a wife finds herself asking, What the @#!% is wrong with my husband?! In David Finch’s case, this turns out to be an apt …

Monkey Mind

• <b>Author:</b> Daniel Smith<p>Daniel Smith’s <i>Monkey Mind</i> is the stunning articulation of what it is like to live with anxiety. As he travels through anxiety’s demonic layers, Smith defangs the disorder with great humor and evocatively expresses its self-destructive absurdities and painful internal coherence. …

The Lost Boy

• <b>Author:</b> Dave Pelzer<p>Imagine a young boy who has never had a loving home. His only possesions are the old, torn clothes he carries in a paper bag. The only world he knows is one of isolation and fear. Although others had rescued this boy from his abusive alcoholic mother, his real hurt is just …

Life After Death

• <b>Author:</b> Damien Echols<p>In 1993, teenagers Damien Echols, Jason Baldwin, and Jessie Misskelley, Jr.—who have come to be known as the West Memphis Three—were arrested for the murders of three eight-year-old boys in Arkansas. The ensuing trial was marked by tampered evidence, false testimony, and public …

Most Talkative

• <b>Author:</b> Andy Cohen<p><b>The man behind the Real Housewives writes about his lifelong love affair with pop culture that brought him from the suburbs of St. Louis to his own television show</b><p>From a young age, Andy Cohen knew one thing: He loved television. Not in the way that most kids do, but in an …

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

• <b>Author:</b> Hunter S. Thompson<p>This cult classic of gonzo journalism is the best chronicle of drug-soaked, addle-brained, rollicking good times ever committed to the printed page. It is also the tale of a long weekend road trip that has gone down in the annals of American pop culture as one of the …

The Game

• <b>Author:</b> Neil Strauss<p>Hidden somewhere, in nearly every major city in the world, is an underground seduction lair. And in these lairs, men trade the most devastatingly effective techniques ever invented to charm women. This is not fiction. These men really exist. They live together in houses known as …

Brain on Fire

• <b>Author:</b> Susannah Cahalan<p>An award-winning memoir and instant <i>New York Times</i> bestseller that goes far beyond its riveting medical mystery, <i>Brain on Fire</i> is the powerful account of one woman’s struggle to recapture her identity.<p>When twenty-four-year-old Susannah Cahalan woke up alone in a hospital room, …