Kristoffer Pasion

77 Added | 6 Magazines | 8 Likes | 6 Following | 12 Followers | @indiohistorian | Filipino Historian. Mountaineer. Geek. Young, restless and Reformed.

How Researchers 'Unwrapped' This Ancient, Disintegrating Torah Scroll

More than 40 years ago, archaeologists discovered what appeared to be a hunk of scroll at the site of En-Gedi, an ancient Jewish community in modern-day Israel. The fragment was charred and crushed, and every touch seemed to hasten its disintegration.<p>The Israel Antiquities Authority, which houses …

Archaeology

Across a Billion Years

• <b>Author:</b> Robert Silverberg<p><b>A team of space archaeologists makes an astonishing discovery about an ancient alien race in this science fiction tale from “a master of his craft” (Los Angeles Times).</b><br>Graduate student Tom Rice is thrilled to embark on his first deep-space archeological expedition. He is …

No God but One: Allah or Jesus? (with Bonus Content)

• <b>Author:</b> Nabeel Qureshi<p>BONUS: This eBook includes downloadable videos and a Q&A with Nabeel Qureshi that are not found in the print edition.<p>Having shared his journey of faith in the New York Times bestselling Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus, Nabeel Qureshi now examines Islam and Christianity in detail, …

The Magicians

• <b>Author:</b> Lev Grossman<p><b>The New York Times bestselling novel about a young man practicing magic in the real world, now an original series on SYFY</b><p><b>“The Magicians is to Harry Potter as a shot of Irish whiskey is to a glass of weak tea. . . . Hogwarts was never like this.”<br>—George R.R. Martin <br>“Sad,</b> …

American Revolutions: A Continental History, 1750-1804

• <b>Author:</b> Alan Taylor<p>“Excellent . . . deserves high praise. Mr. Taylor conveys this sprawling continental history with economy, clarity, and vividness.”—Brendan Simms, Wall Street Journal<p>The American Revolution is often portrayed as a high-minded, orderly event whose capstone, the Constitution, …

How a Museum Reckons With Black Pain

The Smithsonian’s new memorial of African American history and culture is at once triumphant and crushing.<p>I should not be here.<p>By the cold universal logic of statistics, none of us should; each of the near-7-billion lives on Earth is a mathematical fluke. But as an American black person, albeit as …

Black History

Red Rising

• <b>Author:</b> Pierce Brown<p><b>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY, BUZZFEED, AND SHELF AWARENESS</b><p>“Ender, Katniss, and now Darrow.”<b>—Scott Sigler</b> <b></b><b><br>Pierce Brown’s relentlessly entertaining debut channels the excitement of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins</b> …

Box Office
Box Office

Lawrence in Arabia

• <b>Author:</b> Scott Anderson<p><b>NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY<br>New York Times • Christian Science Monitor • NPR • Seattle Times • St. Louis Dispatch<br>National Book Critics Circle Finalist -- American Library Association Notable Book</b><p>A thrilling and revelatory narrative of one of the most epic and …

Philippines v. China: Arbitration Outcomes | Asia Maritime Transparency Initiative

On July 12 an arbitral tribunal issued a long-awaited ruling in Manila’s case against Beijing’s claims in the South China Sea. How did the judges …

The Disaster of Richard Nixon

Being Nixon: A Man Divided<p>by Evan Thomas<p>Random House, 619 pp., $35.00<p>Fatal Politics: The Nixon Tapes, the Vietnam War, and the Casualties of …

A Great Improvisation

• <b>Author:</b> Stacy Schiff<p><b>In this dazzling work of history, a Pulitzer Prize-winning author follows Benjamin Franklin to France for the crowning achievement of his career</b><p>In December of 1776 a small boat delivered an old man to France." So begins an enthralling narrative account of how Benjamin …

A Brief History of 'Auld Lang Syne'

Every New Year’s Eve, after the champagne has been popped, the ball has dropped, and everyone is feeling very merry indeed, revelers queue up the …

A Visual Explanation Why Isaac Asimov Put The Three Laws of Robotics In a Specific Order

xkcd explains in comic form why Isaac Asimov put the “Three Laws of Robotics” in the specific order he did in order to maintain a balanced world in …

Isaac Asimov
Star Trek

George Lucas Says He Sold STAR WARS To "White Slavers," Elaborates on His Thoughts About THE FORCE AWAKENS

The World of Ice & Fire

• <b>Author:</b> George R.R. Martin and Others<p><b>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Perfect for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones—an epic history of Westeros and the lands beyond, featuring hundreds of pages of all-new material from George R. R. Martin!</b><p>If the past is prologue, then George R. R. …

Lost in Shangri-La

• <b>Author:</b> Mitchell Zuckoff<p><b>A New York Times bestseller and the winner of the Winship/PEN New England Award, Lost in Shangri-La is “a truly incredible adventure” (New York Times Book Review) about three brave survivors of a WWII plane crash in the jungle.</b> <br>On May 13, 1945, twenty-four American …

An art rendering of some of those heavy 12-pounder Howitzer Field guns (artillery-family of the Gatling gun) being dragged on the roadles…

An art rendering of some of those heavy 12-pounder Howitzer Field guns (artillery-family of the Gatling gun) being dragged on the roadless muddy countryside in Central Luzon by American forces on horseback during the Philippine-American War, c. 1900.<p>Source: <i>Harper’s History of the War in the Philippines</i> (1900).<p>*Erratum: A friend (@GryphonHall) corrected me in saying these were not Gatling guns but were in fact Howitzer guns, that can be fired in higher trajectory than its predecessor, the …

Today is the 151st birth anniversary of Andres Bonifacio, the renowned founder of the Katipunan, the catalyst for the first nationalist…

Today is the 151st birth anniversary of Andres Bonifacio, the renowned founder of the Katipunan, the catalyst for the first nationalist Asian revolution against a Western superpower. There was celebration of his life in his sesquicentennial birth anniversary in the country beginning last year. But despite all that we know about what makes Bonifacio great, there is more to be found about his life and more to be debunked. Many facts that remain shrouded since most of those written secret …

Now that the Philippines faces a super typhoon, here is a description of the Philippines by Ambrose Coleman, an American Dominican priest…

Now that the Philippines faces a super typhoon, here is a description of the Philippines by Ambrose Coleman, an American Dominican priest, on his book, <i>Friars in the Philippines</i> (1899). The country is described as the “birthplace of typhoons”:<p>“A recent traveller designates the Philippines as the birthplace of typhoons, the home of earthquakes,—epithets undoubtedly strong yet well deserved; and typhoons at certain seasons of the year, with earthquakes at uncertain periods, when taken together …

The Christmas Typhoon of 1918

<b>The Christmas Typhoon of 1918</b><p>As #RubyPH made its landfall at Dolores Eastern Samar, Philippines, at 9:15 pm local time yesterday, the typhoon had a wide “cone of uncertainty”—that region where the typhoon would possibly go—since the typhoon did not have a static track as it approached the country.<p>This brings to mind another December storm in the distant past, which may have had a wider cone of uncertainty. Named Typhoon <i>Quantico</i> or the “Christmas Typhoon of 1918,” it was named “Quantico” after …

Here is a rare newsreel of the British Pathe entitled “First Pictures

Here is a rare newsreel of the British Pathe entitled “First Pictures.” It documented the blitz or air raid attacks of the Imperial Japanese forces in Manila on December 8, 1945 onwards till the occupation of Manila on January 2, 1942. The video reflected the positive outlook of most Filipinos, who believed that the Americans would win this war without the Japanese setting foot in the country. At the same time there was mass hysteria when air raid attack commenced in Manila. Residents have …