Greg Aldridge

14 Added | 1 Magazine | 10 Likes | 4 Following | @gregaldridge71 | Keep up with Greg Aldridge on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Greg Aldridge”

A Short History of Progress

• <b>Author:</b> Ronald Wright<p>Each time history repeats itself, so it's said, the price goes up. The twentieth century was a time of runaway growth in human population, consumption, and technology, placing a colossal load on all natural systems, especially earth, air, and water -- the very elements of life. …

Dead Mountain

• <b>Author:</b> Donnie Eichar<p>In February 1959, a group of nine experienced hikers in the Russian Ural Mountains died mysteriously on an elevation known as Dead Mountain. Eerie aspects of the incident—unexplained violent injuries, signs that they cut open and fled the tent without proper clothing or shoes, …

Frozen in Time

• <b>Author:</b> Mitchell Zuckoff<p>Frozen in Time is a gripping true story of survival, bravery, and honor in the vast Arctic wilderness during World War II, from Mitchell Zuckoff, the author of New York Times bestseller Lost in Shangri-La.<p>On November 5, 1942, a US cargo plane slammed into the Greenland Ice …

Sapiens

• <b>Author:</b> Yuval Noah Harari<p><b>Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective.</b> <br>100,000 years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. <br>Us.<i><br>Homo …

A Short History of Mexico

• <b>Author:</b> Reginald Enock<p>An excellent introduction to the history of Mexico and the native people that lived there prior to the arrival of the Europeans. Enock's history covers the early history of Mexico as well as the conquest of the Europeans up to the 19th century. Illustrated to enhance the …

When Globalization Fails

• <b>Author:</b> James Macdonald<p><b>IS GLOBALIZATION AN UNINTENDED RECIPE FOR WAR?</b> <br>Taking this question as its starting point, James Macdonald's <i>When Globalization Fails</i> offers a rich, original account of war, peace, and trade in the twentieth century—and a cautionary tale for the twenty-first.<p>In the late …

The Magic of Reality

• <b>Author:</b> Richard Dawkins & Dave McKean<p>Richard Dawkins, bestselling author and the world’s most celebrated evolutionary biologist, has spent his career elucidating the many wonders of science. Here, he takes a broader approach and uses his unrivaled explanatory powers to illuminate the ways in which …

The 5:2 Diet Book

• <b>Author:</b> Kate Harrison<p>The 5:2 Diet will transform your body, your mind and your health. It's the revolutionary part-time weight loss diet with lifelong health and anti-ageing results. This is the simplest, most flexible and most health enhancing weight loss programme you'll ever follow - and with …

Thrill Seekers Suspend a Giant Hammock 400 Feet Above the Desert Floor

During the recently-passed Thanksgiving holiday, a group of BASE jumpers, highliners, and friendly volunteers constructed a large pentagon-shaped hammock and suspended it 400 feet above the Moab desert in Utah. They called it the <i>Mothership Space Net Penthouse</i>, and it majestically hung over the …

Extreme Sports

The Real Story Of Apollo 17... And Why We Never Went Back To The Moon

On December 11, 1972, Apollo 17 touched down on the Moon. This was not only our final Moon landing, but the last time we left low Earth orbit. With …

Space Science

The Devil in the White City

• <b>Author:</b> Erik Larson<p><b>In The Devil in the White City, the smoke, romance, and mystery of the Gilded Age come alive as never before.</b><p>Two men, each handsome and unusually adept at his chosen work, embodied an element of the great dynamic that characterized America’s rush toward the twentieth century. The …

Civilization

• <b>Author:</b> Niall Ferguson<p>Western civilization’s rise to global dominance is the single most important historical phenomenon of the past five centuries.<p>How did the West overtake its Eastern rivals? And has the zenith of Western power now passed? Acclaimed historian Niall Ferguson argues that beginning …

The Emperor of All Maladies

• <b>Author:</b> Siddhartha Mukherjee<p>Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, and now a documentary from Ken Burns on PBS, <i>The Emperor of All Maladies</i> is a magnificent, profoundly humane “biography” of cancer—from its first documented appearances thousands of years ago through the epic battles in the twentieth century …

The Woman Who Would Be King

• <b>Author:</b> Kara Cooney<p><b>An engrossing biography of the longest-reigning female pharaoh in Ancient Egypt and the story of her audacious rise to power.</b> <br>Hatshepsut—the daughter of a general who usurped Egypt's throne—was expected to bear the sons who would legitimize the reign of her father’s family. Her …