Belinda

56 Flips | 7 Magazines | 1 Following | 1 Follower | @flip1111 | Keep up with Belinda on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Belinda”

The Anxiety of Fidelity by Marina Macklin

The Anxiety of Fidelity in Roman Love Poetry<i><br>From the Desk of Corinna: Reflecting On Her Affair With Ovid</i> <br>I have thought to set it all down in …

Street Photography Cheat Sheet For Your Travels

If you are new to street photography, or even if you’re not, remembering settings, nailing the composition, getting idea inspirations, and just …

DIY Ombre Rain Chain

When I visit other countries, I’m always fascinated by some of the simplest differences in even the most mundane things. A perfect example: rain …

Female Perspectives: Five Novels That Bring Outsiders In

For readers in search of tales that step outside familiar viewpoints, there is an abundance of fiction by women unraveling the big themes of conflict, religion, race and love — from new and different angles. The five novels I'm recommending offer up-close-and-personal engagement with characters who …

Expert Advice: 10 Ways to Live with Less from Zero Waste Home

When Bea Johnson, her husband, Scott, and their two children moved from a large house to a temporary apartment while they were looking for a new home …

Calling All Flipboard Students

Inside Flipboard / May 15, 2013<p>Please join us for our first Skillshare class, called “Flip It! Make Magazines on Flipboard,” on May 28. Attendees …

How To Make Your Own Dishwasher Detergent

<b>You’re going to need borax.</b><p>I make no bones about my love of making items from scratch whenever possible. Food, household cleaners, detergents – nothing is safe from my frugal tendencies. Recently, I set my sights on making something so unnatural, most people have never thought about what it’s made …

Behind the Scenes GWB Presidency

Reconstructing Amelia

• <b>Author:</b> Kimberly McCreight<p>In Reconstructing Amelia, the stunning debut novel from Kimberly McCreight, Kate's in the middle of the biggest meeting of her career when she gets the telephone call from Grace Hall, her daughter’s exclusive private school in Park Slope, Brooklyn. Amelia has been …

Henry VIII

• <b>Author:</b> Alison Weir<p><b>For fans of Wolf Hall, Alison Weir’s New York Times bestselling biography of Henry VIII brilliantly brings to life the king, the court, and the fascinating men and women who vied for its pleasures and rewards.</b><b><br>BONUS: This edition contains an excerpt from Alison Weir’s Mary …

A Stolen Life

• <b>Author:</b> Jaycee Dugard<p>In the summer of 1991 I was a normal kid. I did normal things. I had friends and a mother who loved me. I was just like you. Until the day my life was stolen.<p>For eighteen years I was a prisoner. I was an object for someone to use and abuse.<p>For eighteen years I was not allowed …

'Poems To Learn By Heart': The Merits Of Memorizing Verse

Caroline Kennedy's latest book comes with an agenda: to encourage a return to poetic memorization and recitation that both families and schools once considered routine.<p>In <i>Poems to Learn by Heart,</i> Kennedy stresses the importance of memorizing poetry and presents a collection of poems that she …

Map Tiles

More Info from Very Good & Proper<p>Hay Denmark Børge Mogensen Dining Chairs

Houghton Revisited

Built by Britain’s first prime minister, Sir Robert Walpole, Houghton Hall lost its pre-eminent art collection in 1779, when Walpole’s profligate heirs sold 204 masterpieces to Catherine the Great. With Russia’s Hermitage Museum lending many of them back, for an exhibition in their original …

The Aftermath by Rhidian Brook: (Audiobook Extract read by Leighton Pugh)

Lets Explore Diabetes With Owls, written and read by David Sedaris - An Audiobook Excerpt

Photographer Takes a Boy with Muscular Dystrophy on an Imaginary Adventure | Colossal

<p>Slovenia-based photographer Matej Peljhan recently teamed up with a 12-year-named Luka who suffers from muscular dystrophy, to create a wildly …

Small Measures: Garden Hand Salve

No doubt about it, I like digging in the dirt. Now that spring is officially upon us, and the weather is behaving accordingly, I’ve been working with …

I Know This Much Is True

• <b>Author:</b> Wally Lamb<p>With his stunning debut novel, She's Come Undone, Wally Lamb won the adulation of critics and readers with his mesmerizing tale of one woman's painful yet triumphant journey of self-discovery. Now, this brilliantly talented writer returns with I Know This Much Is True, a …

Behind the Scenes at the Museum

• <b>Author:</b> Kate Atkinson<p><b>National Bestseller</b><p><b>Winner of the Whitbread Book of the Year</b><p>Kate Atkinson's dazzling debut novel is a deeply moving story of family heartbreak and happiness.<p>Ruby Lennox begins narrating her life at the moment of conception, and from there takes us on a whirlwind tour of the …

The Girl Who Played with Fire

• <b>Author:</b> Stieg Larsson<p>Part blistering espionage thriller, part riveting police procedural, and part piercing exposé on social injustice, <i>The Girl Who Played with Fire</i> is a masterful, endlessly satisfying novel. <br>Mikael Blomkvist, crusading publisher of the magazine <i>Millennium</i>, has decided to run a …

Testimony

• <b>Author:</b> Anita Shreve<p>At a boarding school, a sex scandal is about to break. Even more shocking than the sexual acts themselves is the fact that they were caught on videotape. A Pandora's box of revelations, the tape triggers a chorus of voices--those of the men, women, teenagers, and parents …

Their Eyes Were Watching God

• <b>Author:</b> Zora Neale Hurston<p>“A deeply soulful novel that comprehends love and cruelty, and separates the big people from the small of heart, without ever losing sympathy for those unfortunates who don’t know how to live properly.” —Zadie Smith<p>One of the most important and enduring books of the …

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

• <b>Author:</b> Rachel Joyce<p><b>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE WASHINGTON POST</b> <b><br>“[Rachel] Joyce’s beguiling debut is [a] modest-seeming story of ‘ordinary’ English lives that enthralls and moves you as it unfolds.”—People (four</b> …

Fahrenheit 451

• <b>Author:</b> Ray Bradbury<p><b>Ray Bradbury’s internationally acclaimed novel Fahrenheit 451 is a masterwork of twentieth-century literature set in a bleak, dystopian future.</b><p><b>Ray Bradbury’s internationally acclaimed novel Fahrenheit 451 is a masterwork of twentieth-century literature set in a bleak, dystopian</b> …