Floraime Pantaleta

40 Flips | 3 Magazines | 32 Likes | 6 Following | @fleurpantaleta | Keep up with Floraime Pantaleta on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Floraime Pantaleta”

Wedding Night

• <b>Author:</b> Sophie Kinsella<p>#1 <i>New York Times</i> bestselling author Sophie Kinsella returns with her trademark blend of sparkling wit and playful romance in this page-turning story of a wedding to remember—and a honeymoon to forget. <br>Lottie just knows that her boyfriend is going to propose, but then his big …

This Is How You Lose Her

• <b>Author:</b> Junot Díaz<p><b>Finalist for the 2012 National Book Award</b><p><b>A Time and People Top 10 Book of 2012<br>Finalist for the 2012 Story Prize<br>Chosen as a notable or best book of the year by The New York Times, Entertainment Weekly, The LA Times, Newsday, Barnes & Noble, Amazon, the iTunes bookstore, and many</b> …

Tales of the City

• <b>Author:</b> Armistead Maupin<p>A PBS Great American Read Top 100 Pick<p>The first novel in the beloved Tales of the City series, Armistead Maupin’s best-selling San Francisco saga, soon to return to television as a Netflix original series once again starring Laura Linney and Olympia Dukakis.<p>For almost four …

A Thousand Pardons

• <b>Author:</b> Jonathan Dee<p><b>NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY KIRKUS REVIEWS</b><p><b>For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee’s novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do</b> …

A Tale for the Time Being

• <b>Author:</b> Ruth Ozeki<p>In Tokyo, sixteen-year-old Nao has decided there’s only one escape from her aching loneliness and her classmates’ bullying. But before she ends it all, Nao first plans to document the life of her great grandmother, a Buddhist nun who’s lived more than a century. A diary is Nao’s …

Tenth of December

• <b>Author:</b> George Saunders<p><b>NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW</b><p><b>NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY</b> <b><br>People • The New York Times Magazine • NPR • Entertainment Weekly • New York • The Telegraph • BuzzFeed • Kirkus Reviews •</b> …

The Art of Fielding

• <b>Author:</b> Chad Harbach<p>At Westish College, a small school on the shore of Lake Michigan, baseball star Henry Skrimshander seems destined for big league stardom. But when a routine throw goes disastrously off course, the fates of five people are upended.<p>Henry's fight against self-doubt threatens to …

Wolf Hall

• <b>Author:</b> Hilary Mantel<p><b>In the ruthless arena of King Henry VIII's court, only one man dares to gamble his life to win the king's favor and ascend to the heights of political power</b><p>England in the 1520s is a heartbeat from disaster. If the king dies without a male heir, the country could be destroyed by …

The Help

• <b>Author:</b> Kathryn Stockett<p><b>ominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read.</b><p>Aibileen is a black maid in 1962 Jackson, Mississippi, who’s always taken orders quietly, but lately she’s unable to hold her bitterness back. Her friend Minny has never held her tongue but now …

The Space Between Us

• <b>Author:</b> Thrity Umrigar<p>“This is a story intimately and compassionately told against the sensuous background of everyday life in Bombay.”—Washington Post Book World <br>“Bracingly honest.”—New York Times Book Review <br>The author of Bombay Time, If Today Be Sweet, and The Weight of Heaven, Thrity Umrigar is …

Beautiful Ruins

• <b>Author:</b> Jess Walter<p>The story begins in 1962. On a rocky patch of the sun-drenched Italian coastline, a young innkeeper, chest-deep in daydreams, looks out over the incandescent waters of the Ligurian Sea and spies an apparition: a tall, thin woman, a vision in white, approaching him on a boat. She …

Rules of Civility

• <b>Author:</b> Amor Towles<p><b>From the New York Times-bestselling author of A Gentleman in Moscow, a “sharply stylish” (Boston Globe) novel of a young woman in post-Depression era New York who suddenly finds herself thrust into high society.</b><p>On the last night of 1937, twenty-five-year-old Katey Kontent is in a …

Lord of the Flies

• <b>Author:</b> William Golding and Others<p><b>Golding’s iconic 1954 novel, now with a new foreword by Lois Lowry, remains one of the greatest books ever written for young adults and an unforgettable classic for readers of any age.</b> <br>This edition includes a new Suggestions for Further Reading by Jennifer …

Atlas Shrugged

• <b>Author:</b> Ayn Rand<p><b>Peopled by larger-than-life heroes and villains, charged with towering questions of good and evil, Atlas Shrugged is Ayn Rand’s magnum opus: a philosophical revolution told in the form of an action thriller—nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American</b> …

Life After Life

• <b>Author:</b> Kate Atkinson<p><i>What if you could live again and again, until you got it right?</i><p>On a cold and snowy night in 1910, Ursula Todd is born to an English banker and his wife. She dies before she can draw her first breath. On that same cold and snowy night, Ursula Todd is born, lets out a lusty wail, …

The Round House

• <b>Author:</b> Louise Erdrich<p>National Book Award Winner<p>One Sunday in the spring of 1988, a woman living on a reservation in North Dakota is attacked. The details of the crime are slow to surface as Geraldine Coutts is traumatized and reluctant to relive or reveal what happened, either to the police or to …

The Casual Vacancy

• <b>Author:</b> J.K. Rowling<p>When Barry Fairweather dies unexpectedly in his early forties, the little town of Pagford is left in shock.<p>Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty façade is a town at war.<p>Rich at war with poor, …

The Interestings

• <b>Author:</b> Meg Wolitzer<p>“Remarkable . . . With this book [Wolitzer] has surpassed herself.”—The New York Times Book Review "A victory . . . The Interestings secures Wolitzer's place among the best novelists of her generation. . . . She's every bit as literary as Franzen or Eugenides. But the very human …

The Kitchen House

• <b>Author:</b> Kathleen Grissom<p>In this gripping <i>New York Times</i> bestseller, Kathleen Grissom brings to life a thriving plantation in Virginia in the decades before the Civil War, where a dark secret threatens to expose the best and worst in everyone tied to the estate.<p>Orphaned during her passage from …

1984

• <b>Author:</b> George Orwell<p>George Orwell’s <i>1984</i> takes on new life with extraordinary relevance and renewed popularity.<p>“Orwell saw, to his credit, that the act of falsifying reality is only secondarily a way of changing perceptions. It is, above all, a way of asserting power.”—<i>The New Yorker</i> <br>In 1984, …

A Week in Winter

• <b>Author:</b> Maeve Binchy<p>Stoneybridge is a small town on the west coast of Ireland where all the families know one another. When Chicky Starr decides to take an old, decaying mansion set high on the cliffs overlooking the windswept Atlantic Ocean and turn it into a restful place for a holiday by the …

Where'd You Go, Bernadette

• <b>Author:</b> Maria Semple<p><b>*Soon to be a major motion picture starring Cate Blanchett*</b><b>A whip-smart, hysterical dramedy about a family in crisis after the disappearance of its brilliant, misanthropic matriarch.</b><br>Bernadette Fox is notorious. To her Microsoft-guru husband, she's a fearlessly opinionated …

The Burgess Boys

• <b>Author:</b> Elizabeth Strout<p><b>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER</b> • <b>Includes Elizabeth Strout’s never-before-published essay about the origins of The Burgess Boys</b><b><br>NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY</b> <b><br>The Washington Post • NPR • Good Housekeeping</b><p>Elizabeth Strout “animates the ordinary with an astonishing force,” …

Fahrenheit 451

• <b>Author:</b> Ray Bradbury<p><b>Ray Bradbury’s internationally acclaimed novel Fahrenheit 451 is a masterwork of twentieth-century literature set in a bleak, dystopian future.</b><p><b>Ray Bradbury’s internationally acclaimed novel Fahrenheit 451 is a masterwork of twentieth-century literature set in a bleak, dystopian</b> …

The Art of Racing In the Rain

• <b>Author:</b> Garth Stein<p>Enzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul (and an obsession with opposable thumbs), he has educated himself by watching television extensively, and by listening very closely to the words of his master, Denny Swift, an up-and-coming race …

The Light Between Oceans

• <b>Author:</b> M.L. Stedman<p>The years-long <i>New York Times</i> bestseller and major motion picture from Spielberg’s Dreamworks is “irresistible…seductive…with a high concept plot that keeps you riveted from the first page” (<i>O, The Oprah Magazine</i>).<p>After four harrowing years on the Western Front, Tom Sherbourne …

The Dinner

• <b>Author:</b> Herman Koch<p><b>"A European Gone Girl." --The Wall Street Journal</b><br>An internationally bestselling phenomenon: the darkly suspenseful, highly controversial tale of two families struggling to make the hardest decision of their lives -- all over the course of one meal.<p>It's a summer's evening in …

Life of Pi

• <b>Author:</b> Yann Martel<p>MORE THAN SEVEN MILLION COPIES SOLD<p>The beloved and bestselling novel and winner of the Booker Prize, <i>Life of Pi</i>.<p><i>New York Times</i> Bestseller * <i>Los Angeles Times</i> Bestseller * <i>Washington Post</i> Bestseller * <i>San Francisco Chronicle</i> Bestseller * <i>Chicago Tribune</i> Bestseller<p>"A story to make you …

The Silver Linings Playbook

• <b>Author:</b> Matthew Quick<p><i>An enchanting first novel about love, madness, and Kenny G.</i><p>A <i>New York Times</i> bestseller, <i>The Silver Linings Playbook</i> was adapted into the Oscar-winning movie starring Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence. It tells the riotous and poignant story of how one man regains his memory …