Evey Garcia

49 Added | 6 Magazines | 20 Likes | 9 Following | 2 Followers | @eveykitten | Keep up with Evey Garcia on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Evey Garcia”

The Things They Carried

• <b>Author:</b> Tim O'Brien<p>A classic work of American literature that has not stopped changing minds and lives since it burst onto the literary scene, <i>The Things They Carried</i> is a ground-breaking meditation on war, memory, imagination, and the redemptive power of storytelling. <i><br>The Things They Carried</i> depicts …

Books

All Quiet on the Western Front

• <b>Author:</b> Erich Maria Remarque & Arthur Wesley Wheen<p><b>Considered by many the greatest war novel of all time, All Quiet on the Western Front is Erich Maria Remarque’s masterpiece of the German experience during World War I.</b><p><i>I am young, I am twenty years old; yet I know nothing of life but despair, death,</i> …

Books

Splurging vs. Saving: Where It’s Worth Investing in Interior Design

Shop a similar look: Lamp | Serving Bowl | Wall Art<p>One of the complaints we hear most often against interior design is that it costs too much — and …

Interior Design

Amerikanische Anthropologie

Pulitzer-Preisträger Colson Whitehead zeichnet in seinem Roman "Underground Railroad" die fantastische Überhöhung einer Flucht aus der Sklaverei. Ein …

Our Favorite Books of the Year — You Won't Be Able to Put Them Down!

It's time to start looking back at our favorite reads of the year, and it's quite an impressive batch of page-turners. Our picks run the gamut, from scandalous historical fiction to riveting memoirs and epic YA fantasy. It's a wonder we've been able to get anything done with all the reading to be …

Hackbällchen Toskana (vegetarisch oder mit Fleisch)

Hackbällchen Toskana frisch ohne Fix-Tüte zubereiten? Mit diesem Rezept gelingt dir das italienische Gericht mit cremig-würziger Tomatensoße ganz …

Gurken-Carpaccio

Zutaten<p>•<p>1 Gartengurke<p>•<p>1 Bund Dill<p>•<p>2 Zweige Minze, 1 Knoblauchzehe<p>•<p>50 g Feta<p>•<p>150 g Magerjoghurt<p>•<p>Salz, Pfeffer<p>•<p>2 bis 3 entsteinte schwarze …

Everything I Never Told You

• <b>Author:</b> Celeste Ng<p><b>New York Times Bestseller · A New York Times Book Review Editor’s Choice · Winner of the Alex Award· Winner of the APALA Award for Fiction · NEA Big Read Selection</b> <b></b><b><br>Don't miss Celeste Ng’s new novel, Little Fires Everywhere, coming September 2017.</b> <br>NAMED A <b>BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR</b> BY: <b></b><br>NPR …

Books

Sisi

• <b>Author:</b> Allison Pataki<p><b>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Philippa Gregory, Paula McLain, and Daisy Goodwin comes a sweeping and powerful novel by Allison Pataki. Sisi tells the little-known story of Empress Elisabeth of Austria-Hungary, the Princess Diana of her time, in an enthralling work</b> …

From Target to IKEA: Everything You Need for a Kitchen Makeover

Whether we're talking about an impressive cheese platter or enviable interiors, everything in the kitchen boils down to presentation. To truly …

Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession

• <b>Author:</b> Alison Weir<p><b>In this second novel of Alison Weir’s epic Six Tudor Queens series, the acclaimed author and historian weaves exciting new research into the story of Anne Boleyn, Henry VIII’s most infamous wife, a woman ahead of her time whose very life—and death—forever changed a nation.</b><p>Born …

This Material Will Take Your Backsplash to the Next Level

Want to make your kitchen truly unique? Add a little bit of shine. A metallic backsplash, be it brass or copper, is a great way to bring the metallic …

'A Face Like Glass' Is A Magical, Perfectly Ticking Machine Of A Tale

Let me begin by stating that this is a perfect book.<p>I don't say this lightly. It's perfect in the way that excellent clockwork is perfect: intricate, precise, and hiding all its marvels in plain sight. Imagine a clear box full of interlocking gears and springs and pulleys — you can follow all their …

Books

Baby potatoes baked in parchment with thyme and black olive butter

SERVES<p>6 as a side dish<p>INGREDIENTS<p>35g butter, softened<br>• 35g pitted black olives, finely chopped<br>• 1 small clove garlic, crushed<br>• Squeeze of lemon juice<br>• 540g baby waxy potatoes (they should be really small, halve them if not)<br>• 6 sprigs of thyme<p>METHOD<p>Preheat the oven to 200C/gas mark 6.<p>Mash the butter and …

Recipes

Sweetbitter

• <b>Author:</b> Stephanie Danler<p><b>INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER</b><b><br>"Brilliantly written. . . . Outstanding."—The New York Times Book Review</b><p>Newly arrived in New York City, twenty-two-year-old Tess lands a job working front of house at a celebrated downtown restaurant. What follows is her education: in champagne and …

Books

You Have to Try These Products for Sexy and Plump Lips

Looking to vamp up your look? The best place to start is your lips. Full lips create a sexy look without the hassle of a smokey eye or a full face of …

Why the Best Summer Lipstick Isn’t a Lipstick at All

Full lipstick in summer is a bit criminal. Where clean skin and beach waves play into that seasonal ease, a traditional cream formula is inarguably high-maintenance and has the unfortunate habit of melting in the heat. Luckily, your summertime struggle is solved in one step—by reaching for one …

Makeup

32 bold lipstick looks that will make you want to go brighter

It’s really easy to get stuck in a bit of a rut, makeup wise.<p>You know what works. You’re comfortable with your standard cat-eye and nude lip. It’s …

Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen

• <b>Author:</b> Alison Weir<p>Bestselling author and acclaimed historian Alison Weir takes on what no fiction writer has done before: creating a dramatic six-book series in which each novel covers one of King Henry VIII’s wives. In this captivating opening volume, Weir brings to life the tumultuous tale of …

12 Best Foods to Eat in the Morning

Despite what you may have heard, eating breakfast isn't necessary for everyone. In fact, skipping breakfast may be better than eating many unhealthy …

How To Treat Your Skin At Every Age

Fighting the signs of aging is like setting up a 401(k) for your skin. You want to start early, making contributions that will pay off decades later. …

The Queen of the Night

• <b>Author:</b> Alexander Chee<p><b>“This book is a glorious performance . . . Enveloping, seductive.” —Karen Russell</b><p><b>From a writer praised by Junot Díaz as “the fire, in my opinion, and the light,” a mesmerizing novel that follows one woman’s rise from circus rider to courtesan to world-renowned diva</b><p>Lilliet …

Books

10 Long

It seems like every lipstick out there promises to last all day, but we know that the majority of products that say they’re kiss-proof just don’t live up to the hype. The struggle is real, especially when you have little to no extra time in your days to drop everything and reapply <i>again,</i> or simply …

Makeup

Don't Ruin Thanksgiving With These Common Pumpkin Pie Mistakes

Pumpkin pie isn't hard to make… or is it? From a cracked custard to soggy crust, here are all the ways you can screw it up (or not).<p>Almost as iconic as pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving is a cracked and soggy-crusted pumpkin pie. Seriously, why are these things so easy to screw up? Pumpkin should be …

Baking

The Do's And Don'ts Of Rainy Day Dressing

Suggestions for staying chic in a storm ☔️<p>There's nothing worse than getting caught in the rain unprepared. Slogging around in wet socks, windswept hair and a totally drenched ensemble is no way to spend your day. It's just downright unpleasant.<p>The problem is, rain is incredibly difficult to dress …

7 Ways to Make Your Pumpkin Pie Even Better This Year

Homemade pumpkin pie is great. These doctored-up versions are even better.<p>Pumpkin pie is one of the most traditional holiday foods on the table (some even argue it's better than the main event). It's a classic we look forward to every year. But without getting <i>too</i> crazy, this winter we're sprucing …

Baking

11 Fruits and Vegetables to Eat if You Want to Lose Weight

Not all veggies are created equal.<p>You don't need science to tell you that fresh produce is healthier than processed, packaged food— especially if you're trying to lose weight. But science is here to help anyway. New research that tracked more than 133,000 people's eating habits and weights for four …

Hatch Chiles: Unpredictable, Hard to Find, and Worth the Fuss

<i>Every other week we get Down & Dirty with our favorite unique seasonal fruits, vegetables, and more.</i><p><i>Today: Hatch a plan to get ahold of these chiles.</i><p>Hatch chiles are a foodie dream food: They have a short season (in the late summer to early fall) and a unique flavor profile—and they're hard to get …

Cooking

How to Make 5-Ingredient Easy Cheesy Jalapeño Sausage Rolls

Sausage rolls are the ultimate British party food. They never go out of fashion, they’re always the first to go at any party and everyone can always manage <i>just one more</i>. As good as the classic British sausage roll is, we decided to give it a bit of a facelift with the addition of jalapeños and …

Recipes