chriswilz

129 Flips | 1 Magazine | 38 Likes | 16 Followers | @chriswilz | Keep up with chriswilz on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “chriswilz”

The Game

• <b>Author:</b> Neil Strauss<p>Hidden somewhere, in nearly every major city in the world, is an underground seduction lair. And in these lairs, men trade the most devastatingly effective techniques ever invented to charm women. This is not fiction. These men really exist. They live together in houses known as …

Forgetting to Be Afraid

• <b>Author:</b> Wendy Davis<p>Wendy Davis has had her share of tough fights. Raised by a single mother with a ninth-grade education, Davis began working after school at age fourteen to contribute to the family finances. By the time she was nineteen, she was living in a trailer park with a baby daughter and …

Beautiful Boy

• <b>Author:</b> David Sheff<p>#1 New York Times bestseller <br>With a new afterword<p><b>Now a Major Motion Picture</b><br>Starring Steve Carell * Timothée Chalamet * Maura Tierney * and Amy Ryan<p>“A brilliant, harrowing, heartbreaking, fascinating story, full of beautiful moments and hard-won wisdom. This book will save a lot …

Insatiable

• <b>Author:</b> Asa Akira<p>Asa Akira (28) has already had an extremely unusual life. Educated at the United Nations International School in Manhattan, she soon was earning a good living by stripping and working as a dominatrix at a sex dungeon. Akira has now built up a reputation for being of the most …

Rosewater: A Family's Story of Love, Captivity, and Survival

• <b>Author:</b> Maziar Bahari and Others<p><b>NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY JON STEWART | Previously published as Then They Came for Me</b><br>When Maziar Bahari left London in June 2009 to cover Iran’s presidential election, he assured his pregnant fiancée, Paola, that he’d be back in just a few days, a week …

The Terrorist's Son

• <b>Author:</b> Zak Ebrahim<p>An extraordinary story, never before told: The intimate, behind-the-scenes life of an American boy raised by his terrorist father—the man who planned the 1993 World Trade Center bombing.<p>What is it like to grow up with a terrorist in your home? Zak Ebrahim was only seven years old …

On My Knees

• <b>Author:</b> Periel Aschenbrand<p>On My Knees is Periel Aschenbrand’s seriously funny follow-up to her debut memoir The Only Bush I Trust Is My Own.<p>At the beginning of On My Knees, we find Periel chain-smoking her days away on a plastic-covered couch, watching reruns of Law & Order while she squats in her …

The Other Wes Moore

• <b>Author:</b> Wes Moore<p>BONUS: This edition contains a new afterword and a <i>The Other Wes Moore</i> discussion guide.<p><b>The chilling truth is that his story could have been mine. The tragedy is that my story could have been his.</b><p>Two kids named Wes Moore were born blocks apart within a year of each other. Both grew …

God's Hotel

• <b>Author:</b> Victoria Sweet<p><b>Victoria Sweet's new book, SLOW MEDICINE, is on sale now!</b><p><b>For readers of Paul Kalanithi’s When Breath Becomes Air, a medical “page-turner” that traces one doctor’s “remarkable journey to the essence of medicine” (The San Francisco Chronicle).</b> <br>San Francisco’s Laguna Honda …

The Witness Wore Red

• <b>Author:</b> Rebecca Musser & M. Bridget Cook<p>Rebecca Musser grew up in fear, concealing her family's polygamous lifestyle from the "dangerous" outside world. Covered head-to-toe in strict, modest clothing, she received a rigorous education at Alta Academy, the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of …

The Astronaut Wives Club

• <b>Author:</b> Lily Koppel<p><b>Read the bestselling book that inspired the ABC television series.</b><p>As America's Mercury Seven astronauts were launched on death-defying missions, television cameras focused on the brave smiles of their young wives. Overnight, these women were transformed from military spouses into …

12 Years a Slave (Movie Tie-In)

• <b>Author:</b> Solomon Northup and Others<p><b>The official movie tie-in edition to the winner of the 2014 Academy Award for Best Picture, starring Chiwetel Ejiofor, Michael Fassbender, and Lupita Nyong’o, and directed by Steve McQueen <br>New York Times bestseller</b><p>“I could not believe that I had never heard of this …

Stories I Only Tell My Friends

• <b>Author:</b> Rob Lowe<p><b>A wryly funny and surprisingly moving account of an extraordinary life lived almost entirely in the public eye</b><p>A teen idol at fifteen, an international icon and founder of the Brat Pack at twenty, and one of Hollywood's top stars to this day, Rob Lowe chronicles his experiences as a …

Twelve Years a Slave (With Illustrations)

• <b>Author:</b> Solomon Northup<p><b>The Premier Edition of "Twelve Years a Slave"</b><br>Enjoy this new release of "Twelve Years a Slave." You won't find a better price or higher-quality version of this classic text. This edition includes: -The full text of "Twelve Years a Slave" -The original high-quality …

Waiting to Be Heard

• <b>Author:</b> Amanda Knox<p>Amanda Knox spent four years in a foreign prison for a crime she did not commit, as seen in the Nexflix documentary Amanda Knox.<p>In the fall of 2007, the 20-year-old college coed left Seattle to study abroad in Italy, but her life was shattered when her roommate was murdered in …

The Lost Boy

• <b>Author:</b> Dave Pelzer<p>Imagine a young boy who has never had a loving home. His only possesions are the old, torn clothes he carries in a paper bag. The only world he knows is one of isolation and fear. Although others had rescued this boy from his abusive alcoholic mother, his real hurt is just …

A Long Way Gone

• <b>Author:</b> Ishmael Beah<p><i>My new friends have begun to suspect I haven't told them the full story of my life.</i><i><br>"Why did you leave Sierra Leone?"</i><i><br>"Because there is a war."</i><i><br>"You mean, you saw people running around with guns and shooting each other?"</i><i><br>"Yes, all the time."</i><i><br>"Cool."</i><i><br>I smile a little.</i><i><br>"You should tell</i> …

Trafficked

• <b>Author:</b> Sophie Hayes<p>The haunting, unforgettable memoir that took the UK by storm, <i>Trafficked</i> is a gripping first-hand account of a young woman who survived the horrors of human trafficking.<p>Sophie Hayes, a young, educated English woman, was spending an idyllic weekend in Italy with her seemingly …

My Beloved World

• <b>Author:</b> Sonia Sotomayor<p>The first Hispanic and third woman appointed to the United States Supreme Court, Sonia Sotomayor has become an instant American icon. Now, with a candor and intimacy never undertaken by a sitting Justice, she recounts her life from a Bronx housing project to the federal …

Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea

• <b>Author:</b> Chelsea Handler<p>THE EAGERLY AWAITED COLLECTION OF PERSONAL ESSAYS FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF MY HORIZONTAL LIFE<p>When Chelsea Handler needs to get a few things off her chest, she appeals to a higher power -- vodka. You would too if you found out that your boyfriend was having an affair …

I Am Malala

• <b>Author:</b> Malala Yousafzai & Christina Lamb<p>A MEMOIR BY THE YOUNGEST RECIPIENT OF THE NOBEL PEACE PRIZE<p><b>As seen on Netflix with David Letterman</b><br>"I come from a country that was created at midnight. When I almost died it was just after midday."<p>When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, …

Into Thin Air

• <b>Author:</b> Jon Krakauer<p>When Jon Krakauer reached the summit of Mt. Everest in the early afternoon of May 10,1996, he hadn't slept in fifty-seven hours and was reeling from the brain-altering effects of oxygen depletion. As he turned to begin the perilous descent from 29,028 feet (roughly the cruising …

Open

• <b>Author:</b> Andre Agassi<p><b>#1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER</b><p>Far more than a superb memoir about the highest levels of professional tennis, <i>Open</i> is the engrossing story of a remarkable life. <br>Andre Agassi had his life mapped out for him before he left the crib. Groomed to be a tennis champion by his moody and demanding …

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

• <b>Author:</b> Maya Angelou & Oprah Winfrey<p>Here is a book as joyous and painful, as mysterious and memorable, as childhood itself. <i>I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings</i> captures the longing of lonely children, the brute insult of bigotry, and the wonder of words that can make the world right. Maya Angelou’s …

Brain on Fire

• <b>Author:</b> Susannah Cahalan<p>An award-winning memoir and instant <i>New York Times</i> bestseller that goes far beyond its riveting medical mystery, <i>Brain on Fire</i> is the powerful account of one woman’s struggle to recapture her identity.<p>When twenty-four-year-old Susannah Cahalan woke up alone in a hospital room, …

Orange is the New Black

• <b>Author:</b> Piper Kerman<p><b>NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES • #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER</b> <br>With a career, a boyfriend, and a loving family, Piper Kerman barely resembles the reckless young woman who delivered a suitcase of drug money ten years before. But that past has caught up with her. Convicted and …

Steve Jobs

• <b>Author:</b> Walter Isaacson<p><b>FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE BESTSELLING BIOGRAPHIES OF BENJAMIN FRANKLIN AND ALBERT EINSTEIN, THIS IS THE EXCLUSIVE BIOGRAPHY OF STEVE JOBS.</b><p>Based on more than forty interviews with Jobs conducted over two years—as well as interviews with more than a hundred family members, …

An Invisible Thread

• <b>Author:</b> Laura Schroff<p><b>An Invisible Thread tells of the life-long friendship between a busy sales executive and a disadvantaged young boy, and how both of their lives were changed by what began as one small gesture of kindness.</b><p>When Laura Schroff brushed by a young panhandler on a New York City corner …