Candie R Six

127 Flips | 2 Magazines | @candiesix | Keep up with Candie R Six on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Candie R Six”

15 best new paperback beach reads

Whatever your definition of "beach book" -- romance, mystery, gripping true-life-tale -- you'll find a shore thing here.<p>See more of the best paperback beach reads from Real Simple<p><i>What's your favorite beach read? Share you thoughts in the comments, on Twitter @CNNLiving</i> <i>or on CNN Living's Facebook</i> …

What are summer's hottest books? Authors share their picks

Today<p>From psychological thrillers to novels about love and scandal, Kate White and Brad Thor share their top summer reads with TODAY.<p>No need to scour the bookshelves for your next summer read: Kate White and Brad Thor, both <i>New York Times</i> bestselling authors with books due out this summer, shared …

Books

I Am Pilgrim

• <b>Author:</b> Terry Hayes<p>Critics are calling I AM PILGRIM:<br>"Unputdownable." <i>—Booklist</i> <br>"The best book of 2014." —<i>Suspense Magazine</i> <br>"The next <i>Girl with the Dragon Tattoo</i>." —<i>The New York Post</i><p>A breakneck race against time…and an implacable enemy.<p>An anonymous young woman murdered in a run-down hotel, all …

The Opposite of Loneliness

• <b>Author:</b> Marina Keegan<p>The instant <i>New York Times</i> bestseller and publishing phenomenon: Marina Keegan’s posthumous collection of award-winning essays and stories “sparkles with talent, humanity, and youth” (<i>O, The Oprah Magazine</i>).<p>Marina Keegan’s star was on the rise when she graduated magna cum laude …

Eleanor & Park

• <b>Author:</b> Rainbow Rowell<p>“<i>Eleanor & Park</i> reminded me not just what it’s like to be young and in love with a girl, but also what it’s like to be young and in love with a book.”—John Green, <i>The New York Times Book Review</i><p><i>Bono met his wife in high school</i>, Park says.<i><br>So did Jerry Lee Lewis</i>, Eleanor</i> …

The Good Luck of Right Now

• <b>Author:</b> Matthew Quick<p>From Matthew Quick, the New York Times bestselling author of The Silver Linings Playbook, comes The Good Luck of Right Now, a funny and tender story about family, friendship, grief, acceptance, and Richard Gere—an entertaining and inspiring tale that will leave you pondering …

Uganda Be Kidding Me

• <b>Author:</b> Chelsea Handler<p>Wherever Chelsea Handler travels, one thing is certain: she always ends up in the land of the ridiculous. Now, in this uproarious collection, she sneaks her sharp wit through airport security and delivers her most absurd and hilarious stories ever.<p>On safari in Africa, it's …

The Invention of Wings: A Novel Hardcover

<b>From the celebrated author of The Secret Life of Bees, a magnificent novel about two unforgettable American women</b> <br>Writing at the height of her …

We Were Liars

• <b>Author:</b> E. Lockhart<p><b>A New York Times Bestseller</b><p><b>One of James Patterson's "Favorite Thrillers for the Beach" (New York Times)</b><p><b>"Haunting, sophisticated . . . a novel so twisty and well-told that it will appeal to older readers as well as to adolescents</b>." —<i>Wall Street Journal</i><b><br>"A rich, stunning summer</b> …

The Best of Everything

• <b>Author:</b> Rona Jaffe<p>When Rona Jaffe’s superb page-turner was first published in 1958, it changed contemporary fiction forever. Some readers were shocked, but millions more were electrified when they saw themselves reflected in its story of five young employees of a New York publishing company. Almost …

Where'd You Go, Bernadette

• <b>Author:</b> Maria Semple<p><b>*Soon to be a major motion picture starring Cate Blanchett*</b><b>A whip-smart, hysterical dramedy about a family in crisis after the disappearance of its brilliant, misanthropic matriarch.</b><br>Bernadette Fox is notorious. To her Microsoft-guru husband, she's a fearlessly opinionated …

The Chaperone

• <b>Author:</b> Laura Moriarty<p><b>Soon to be a feature film from the creators of Downton Abbey starring Elizabeth McGovern, The Chaperone is a New York Times-bestselling novel about the woman who chaperoned an irreverent Louise Brooks to New York City in the 1920s and the summer that would change them both.</b> …

Little Known Facts

• <b>Author:</b> Christine Sneed<p>The people who orbit around Renn Ivins, an actor of Harrison Ford-like stature--his girlfriends, his children, his ex-wives, those on the periphery--long to experience the glow of his flame. Anna and Will are Renn's grown children, struggling to be authentic versions of …

The Painter: A novel Hardcover – Deckle Edge

Peter Heller, the celebrated author of the breakout best seller <i>The Dog Stars,</i> returns with an achingly beautiful, wildly suspenseful second novel …

This Is Where I Leave You

• <b>Author:</b> Jonathan Tropper<p><b>A riotously funny, emotionally raw New York Times bestselling novel about love, marriage, divorce, family, and the ties that bind—whether we like it or not.</b><p>The death of Judd Foxman’s father marks the first time that the entire Foxman clan has congregated in years. There is, …

Inferno

• <b>Author:</b> Dan Brown<p><b>In his international blockbusters The Da Vinci Code, Angels & Demons, and The Lost Symbol, Dan Brown masterfully fused history, art, codes, and symbols. In this riveting new thriller, Brown returns to his element and has crafted his highest-stakes novel to date.</b><p>In the heart of …

Me Talk Pretty One Day

• <b>Author:</b> David Sedaris<p>A new collection from David Sedaris is cause for jubilation. His recent move to Paris has inspired hilarious pieces, including Me Talk Pretty One Day, about his attempts to learn French. His family is another inspiration. You Cant Kill the Rooster is a portrait of his brother …

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics by Daniel James Brown - Powell's Books

Synopses & Reviews<p>Publisher Comments<p>For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's <i>Seabiscuit</i> and <i>Unbroken</i>, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that …

Books

Garbology: Our Dirty Love Affair with Trash by Ed Humes - Powell's Books

Synopses & Reviews<p>Publisher Comments<p><b>A Pulitzer Prize–winning journalist takes readers on a surprising tour of Americas biggest export, our most</b> …

Sustainability

Girls in White Dresses

• <b>Author:</b> Jennifer Close<p>Wickedly hilarious and utterly recognizable, <i>Girls in White Dresses</i> tells the story of three women grappling with heartbreak and career change, family pressure and new love—all while suffering through an endless round of weddings and bridal showers.<p>Isabella, Mary, and Lauren …

Sloppy Firsts

• <b>Author:</b> Megan McCafferty<p><b>The first book in the New York Times bestselling Jessica Darling series</b><p>When her best friend, Hope Weaver, moves away from Pineville, New Jersey, hyperobservant sixteen-year-old Jessica Darling is devastated. A fish out of water at school and a stranger at home, Jessica feels …

Summer Sisters

• <b>Author:</b> Judy Blume<p><b>#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.</b> <br>In the summer of 1977, Victoria Leonard’s world changes forever when Caitlin Somers chooses her as a friend. Dazzling, reckless Caitlin welcomes Vix …

The Book of Unknown Americans

• <b>Author:</b> Cristina Henriquez<p>“A triumph of storytelling. Henríquez pulls us into the lives of her characters with such mastery that we hang on to them just as fiercely as they hang on to one another and their dreams. This passionate, powerful novel will stay with you long after you’ve turned the final …

Remember Me Like This

• <b>Author:</b> Bret Anthony Johnston<p>A gripping novel with the pace of a thriller but the nuanced characterization and deep empathy of some of the literary canon’s most beloved novels, <i>Remember Me Like This</i> introduces Bret Anthony Johnston as one of the most gifted storytellers writing today. With his …

To Rise Again at a Decent Hour

• <b>Author:</b> Joshua Ferris<p>Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, this big, brilliant, profoundly observed novel by National Book Award Finalist Joshua Ferris explores the absurdities of modern life and one man's search for meaning.<p>Paul O'Rourke is a man made of contradictions: he loves the world, but …

The Quick

• <b>Author:</b> Lauren Owen<p><b>NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SLATE • Includes an exclusive conversation between Lev Grossman and Lauren Owen</b><p><b>For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace</b> …

The One & Only

• <b>Author:</b> Emily Giffin<p><b>#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The beloved author of Something Borrowed and Where We Belong returns with an extraordinary story of love and loyalty—and an unconventional heroine struggling to reconcile both.<br>This ebook edition contains an excerpt from Emily Giffin’s First Comes</b> …

In the Light of What We Know

• <b>Author:</b> Zia Haider Rahman<p><b>A bold, epic debut novel set during the war and financial crisis that defined the beginning of our century</b><p>One September morning in 2008, an investment banker approaching forty, his career in collapse and his marriage unraveling, receives a surprise visitor at his West …