Susan Kingsley

59 Added | 5 Magazines | 10 Likes | 9 Following | 1 Follower | @cachesk | Keep up with Susan Kingsley on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Susan Kingsley”

Easy, Herby Polenta “Fries” to Eat with Everything

Okay, confession time: I’m not a huge fan of polenta. <i>(Braces herself.)</i> Wait, let me backpedal a bit. I’m not a huge fan of polenta (or grits, for that matter) in their traditional, creamy glory. But polenta in fried form? Come to mama.<p>What I appreciate most about polenta prepared this way is the …

French Fries

There’s Caramel in This Chicken Soup and Trust Us, It Works

You’ll want to drink this broth by the gallon.<p>I don’t use a recipe approximately 99 percent of the time I make chicken soup. If I crave a zingy broth, I’ll opt for a knob of ginger, a halved chile, and a bunch of cilantro. If I want a classic-style soup (with egg noodles, always with egg noodles), …

Food Preservation

12 BBQ Rub and Marinade Recipes - How to Make Barbecue Marinades and Rubs—Delish.com

1 of 12<p>Ethan Calabrese<p>BBQ Sauce<p>The bottled stuff is great, but nothing beats homemade.<p>Get the recipe from Delish.<p>Advertisement - Continue Reading …

BBQ

Mac and Cheese Recipes You’ll Want to Bookmark ASAP

We rounded up our all-time favorite recipes, because few things are better than a bowl of homemade mac and cheese.

Cooking

I Bring This Salsa to Every Party, Then Eat It Alone in a Corner

It's 157% better than the jarred stuff, and it's always a party sensation—when I share.<p><i>Welcome to Never Fail, a semi-regular column where we wax poetic about the recipes that never, ever let us down. This week: the homemade salsa recipe that BA.com senior editor Alex Beggs couldn’t live …

Cooking

Instant Pot Miracle

• <b>Author:</b> The Editors at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt<p><i>Tasting Table</i> calls the Instant Pot “the hottest kitchen tool since George Foreman’s pint-size grill” and everyone from Ruth Reichl to top food bloggers rave about its efficiency, convenience, and affordability. Now, with this licensed cookbook—one of …

The 8 Best New Fall TV Shows You Should Watch

It’s impossible to know, from a pilot episode, which new fall TV shows will wear well over time — there are plenty of great shows with subpar first …

TV

The Best Netflix Original Series To Watch Right Now

We all love Netflix. It’s always there for us after a stressful day at work or a bored weekend at home. But, we can all agree settling on one …

TV

Here Are Your Favorite Dishes You've Probably Never Heard Of

They say variety is the spice of life. And while we, as creatures of habit, tend to fall back on easy standbys—whether that's wearing the same …

Cooking

Strawberry, Watermelon, and Tomato Gazpacho

And add some smoky grilled shrimp on top for the perfect summer soup recipe<p>Make the gazpacho: In a blender, add the tomatoes, watermelon, chopped …

We Love This Full-Flavored Vegetable Stuffing

We love a stuffing that can be used in multiple dishes, and personally there's nothing we've found that <i>doesn't</i> go with this mix of blue cheese, …

Flavors

7 Ugly French Recipes That Are Still Delicious Enough to Cook All the Time

It's what's inside that matters most<p>French cuisine is lauded as the epitome of refined food. Leafing through our gallery of classic French recipes, …

New York City

Our 8 Super-Simple Recipes You're Loving on Pinterest

Breakfast cinnamon French toast, steamed pork buns, nachos, and the easiest steak you'll ever make—these are just some of the quick and easy recipes …

The Food Lab's Step-by-Step Guide to Smoking a Turkey

GalleryThe Food Lab's Step-by-Step Guide to Smoking a Turkey<p>Thanksgiving is far and away my favorite holiday, but this year marks a new twist in the family fun: It's the first Thanksgiving that my wife, Adri, and I are hosting, and the first Thanksgiving that my family is celebrating away from the …

BBQ

10 Oniony Recipes to Make as You Cry to Adele's New Album

There's never a <i>great</i> time to cry in public.<p>Sure, some situations are better than others (I'd rather cry in a half-empty subway car than in line at the pharmacy, where I'll have to interact with a cashier), but it's never good.<p><b>The comfort of your own home is preferable—and if Adele is playing</b> …

Why I Make Thomas Keller's Bread Pudding Every Thanksgiving

<i>Burnt edges make some meals taste better, but not all—and that's why we paired up with If You Care to share a recipe that benefits from a little coverage.</i><p>I don't remember when I first started making Thomas Keller’s Leek Bread Pudding for Thanksgiving, only that I thought it silly it’d never …

Cooking
Cooking

Under 30 Minutes: Spicy Barbecue Sauce

We love a basic barbecue sauce as much as the next (wannabe) pitmaster, but we came up with a sauce so intriguing, we're shelving traditional …

BBQ

21 Vegan Barbecue Staples That'll Make Any Cookout An Herbivore's Delight

Just because you don't eat meat products doesn't mean you have to suffer through a vacuous frozen veggie burger while everyone else at the summer barbecue chows down on hot, delicious grill food.<p>You, dear vegan, deserve the very best. And, as it happens, the very best cookout foods are often vegan. …

Healthy Eating

Did You Ever Have a Family

• <b>Author:</b> Bill Clegg<p><b>LONGLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE AND THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD</b><p><b>“Masterly.” —The New York Times Book Review</b><p><b>“Daring.” —NPR</b><p><b>Starred Pre-Publication Reviews from Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, and Booklist</b><p><b>One of Entertainment Weekly’s “Blockbuster Novels,” Fall</b> …

The Orchardist

• <b>Author:</b> Amanda Coplin<p>At once intimate and epic, The Orchardist is historical fiction at its best, in the grand literary tradition of William Faulkner, Marilynne Robinson, Michael Ondaatje, Annie Proulx, and Toni Morrison.<p>In her stunningly original and haunting debut novel, Amanda Coplin evokes a …

Scattered Links

• <b>Author:</b> M. Weidenbenner<p>GOLD Medal WINNER in the 2014 READERS' FAVORITE INTERNATIONAL AWARDS<p>BRONZE Medal winner in Dan Poytner's Global eBook Awards<p>CAPTIVATING!<br>SCATTERED LINKS takes you down the street of nearly any Eastern European town, arm-in-arm with the orphaned. Michelle has captured the …

Left Neglected

• <b>Author:</b> Lisa Genova<p>In Lisa Genova’s <i>New York Times</i> bestselling novel—and Academy Award–winning film—of resilience in the face of a devastating diagnosis, a vibrant mother in her thirties learns what matters most in life when a car crash leaves her with a traumatic brain disorder called “left …

A Man Called Ove

• <b>Author:</b> Fredrik Backman<p><b>The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step.</b> Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's <b>The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The</b> …

A Manual for Cleaning Women

• <b>Author:</b> Lucia Berlin & Stephen Emerson<p>"I have always had faith that the best writers will rise to the top, like cream, sooner or later, and will become exactly as well-known as they should be-their work talked about, quoted, taught, performed, filmed, set to music, anthologized. Perhaps, with the …

Three Day Road

• <b>Author:</b> Joseph Boyden<p>It is 1919, and Niska, the last Oji-Cree woman to live off the land, has received word that one of the two boys she saw off to the Great War has returned. Xavier Bird, her sole living relation, is gravely wounded and addicted to morphine. As Niska slowly paddles her canoe on …

6 Ways to Bring More Pork Awesomeness Into Your Life

Pork provides so much more joy than just bacon and barbecue. Chef Kevin Gillespie shares 6 awesome new ways to cook it.<p>We love bacon. We love barbecue. But even we, unabashed lovers of pork product can admit: It's easy to fall into a rut when cooking it at home. Luckily, chef <b>Kevin Gillespie</b> of the …

BBQ

Watch The Late, Great Robin Williams Brilliantly Troll A Director In This Incredible Rare Footage

Howard Storm is a long-time television director who has directed everything from <i>Laverne and Shirley</i> to <i>Full House</i> to <i>Everybody Loves Raymond</i> and <i>Keenan and Kel</i>. He even directed Jim Carrey’s first major movie, 1985’s <i>Once Bitten</i>, which preceded even <i>In Living Color</i>.<p>Storm is probably most famous, …

Comedy