Millard F Zeagler

123 Added | 6 Magazines | 7 Following | 1 Follower | @bzeagler | Keep up with Millard F Zeagler on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Millard F Zeagler”

Papalote-Inspired Salsa Recipe

Ingredients (10)<p>5 medium Roma tomatoes, cored and halved<br>• 10 dried chiles de arbol, stemmed, halved lengthwise, and seeded<br>• 2 teaspoons ground dried …

7 Books Nonprofit Professionals Must Read

Book-lovers of the nonprofit world, unite!<p>Even seasoned fundraisers and nonprofit professionals need to learn new skills and hear new perspectives. …

Power Down

• <b>Author:</b> Ben Coes<p><b>Introducing a major new thriller writer—in the vein of Vince Flynn and Brad Thor—and an electrifying character, Dewey Andreas.</b><p>A major North American hydroelectric dam is blown up and the largest off-shore oil field in this hemisphere is destroyed in a brutal, coordinated terrorist …

How to Cook Great Ribs on the Grill

While I would never discourage anyone from investing in any outdoor cooking device, the truth is a separate smoker is not necessary for cooking a …

How to Fish a Swim Shad, the Most Versatile Lure Ever

For generations, the white bucktail jig has been hailed as the most versatile lure ever. So effective is its ability to catch any fish anywhere, …

Reduction Redux: How to Simmer Your Way to a Silky, Spoonable Sauce

Here's how to go from "braising liquid" to homemade sauce perfection.<p>One of the simplest ways to add flavor—not to mention, a more impressive presentation—to your home cooking repertoire is to reduce braising liquid and pan drippings into lush, thick, spoon-coating sauces. It's a simple technique …

Cooking

The Heart of Everything That Is

• <b>Author:</b> Bob Drury & Tom Clavin<p>An acclaimed <i>New York Times</i> bestseller, selected by <i>Salon</i> as a best book of the year, the astonishing untold story of the life and times of Sioux warrior Red Cloud: “a page-turner with remarkable immediacy…and the narrative sweep of a great Western” (<i>The Boston …

Books

What's Coming From Apple in 2015: Apple Watch, iPad Pro, iPhone 6s, 12-Inch MacBook and More

Thanks to the iPhone 6, the iPad Air 2, the iPad mini 3, OS X Yosemite, and iOS 8, 2014 was a major year for Apple. The iPhone 6 and 6 Plus brought new screen sizes and a radical redesign, while iOS 8 and OS X Yosemite introduced deep integration between Apple's mobile and desktop operating systems.<p>…

How to wipe your phone or tablet before you sell it

Here is how to wipe your personal data from a mobile device the right way before trading up to a new model.<p>Trading in or selling your old mobile device? Wipe it the right way to reduce the risk of personal data falling into the wrong hands.<p>Remember that no method apart from physically destroying …

Best photo extension apps for iPhone

Photo extensions mean you no longer have to jump from image editing app to image editing apps, opening and saving as you go, hoping you never make a …

The Best Foods for Men

We sampled and reviewed thousands of products to separate the dietary duds from the nutritional heroes

Google debuts Inbox, a new way to stay on top of e-mail

MOUNTAIN VIEW, Calif. — A decade ago, Google took the wraps off Gmail, the popular e-mail service used by hundreds of millions the world over.<p>Now that e-mail is vibrating in pockets as often as it's pinging computers, the Internet giant is rethinking how your inbox should look and work.<p>The result …

Load + Explode

How to build power and deliver it to the ball<p>To rip driver off the tee, you have to load your body on the backswing and unload it on the downswing. Most golfers think of loading as simply making a big shoulder turn, but the lower body is just as important—and it doesn't get much love. I see two …

Roasted Potato Bread

This is the greatest potato bread recipe you'll ever encounter. And you absolutely need a stand mixer to make it.<p>Ingredients<p>Nonstick vegetable oil spray<p>1 teaspoon (3 g) active dry yeast<p>⅓ cup (80 g) potato flour<p>3½ cups (500 g) all-purpose flour, plus more<p>1 cup (180 g) buttermilk<p>2 tablespoons plus 1 …

Baking

Black Bass with Warm Rosemary-Olive Vinaigrette

For a complete meal, pair this black bass recipe with roasted potatoes, creamy polenta, or cooked white beans.<p>Ingredients<p>2 tablespoons olive oil<p>4 4–5-oz. black bass fillets, skin lightly scored<p>Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper<p>2 cloves garlic thinly sliced<p>3 tablespoons black oil-cured …

Recipes

The Path Between the Seas

• <b>Author:</b> David McCullough<p>The National Book Award–winning epic chronicle of the creation of the Panama Canal, a first-rate drama of the bold and brilliant engineering feat that was filled with both tragedy and triumph, told by master historian David McCullough.<p>From the Pulitzer Prize–winning author …

Books

Mizuno has 'lofty' ambitions with its new MP-T5 wedges

Despite the USGA's rollback on groove performance, we've seen there's more to wedge technology than how deep and sharp the scorelines are cut. One company that has continually made advancements is Mizuno, which first introduced the idea of varying groove geometry to match performance requirements …

The best iPad apps for keeping organized

Because most of us are extremely busy it’s really important to stay organized and on track. This is easier said than done. Even with the best …

Salt-and-Pepper Biscuits

Adding sour cream to the dough imparts richness and a bit of tang, and doesn’t thin it out too much.<p>Ingredients<p>¾ cup sour cream<p>4 tablespoons heavy cream, divided<p>1 tablespoon baking powder<p>1 teaspoon kosher salt<p>1 teaspoon sugar<p>½ teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper plus more<p>2 cups all-purpose flour …

Recipes

6 Common Mistakes People Make when Baking Brownies

Is there anything worst than a bad batch of brownies? Here are the biggest mistakes people make when baking brownies—plus how to avoid them.<p>When it comes to comfort food and our favorite desserts, brownies rank way up there. They're rich, decadent, sweet, and come with the added bonus of nostalgia. …

Dessert

MacTrast Deals: TuneUp – Clean & Organize Your iTunes Music Collection

If you’re like me, your iTunes music collection is a sad mess. It’s amazing how many groups recorded a song called “Track 1”, isn’t it? Today’s …

Creamy Queso with Chorizo

In defense of Velveeta: It might be lowbrow, but its texture is supreme.<p>Ingredients<p>1 tablespoon vegetable oil<p>6 oz. fresh chorizo, casings removed<p>2½ cups half-and-half<p>8 oz. Velveeta cheese, cut into cubes<p>8 oz. Monterey Jack cheese, grated<p>8 oz. sharp cheddar, grated<p>2 tablespoons chopped canned …

Recipes

Net breach an opportunity to improve password practices

OK, now it's really time to change your password.<p>With news this week that as many as 1.2 billion user names and password combinations had been stolen, security experts are urging consumers to be more vigilant online.<p>A Russian cybergang injected malicious code into at least 420,000 websites to …

The only salad dressing recipe you'll ever need

This summer, do your farm-fresh greens a favor: Ditch the bottled dressing. Making your own salad dressing is easy and cheap—and you can create endless variations if you follow some simple rules and the foolproof recipe below.<p>First, it helps to know the basics. If you're making a vinaigrette—just …

A little later than expected, Sun Mountain rolls out Combo Cart

<b>By Keely Levins</b><p>Sun Mountain recently announced the roll out of the Combo Cart, an all- in-one golf bag/pushcart. If this sounds familiar, it's because the company made a similar reveal in early 2013, anticipating the Combo Cart would hit the market later that year. Design tweaks delayed the launch, …

Building the Perfect Sandwich Is All About Architecture

BA Foodist Andrew Knowlton has strong opinions on sandwich architecture—here's how he says to build everything from burgers to lobster rolls to bánh mì<p>No one can accuse <i>Bon Appétit</i>'s restaurant and drinks editor <b>Andrew Knowlton</b> of being wishy-washy. The man has some strong opinions about food and …

Recipes

The Ultimate List of Online Resources for Being a Better Photographer

We thought it would be helpful to put together a list of resources that photographers generally use and how they use them. This is a bit of a “living …

Banana Meringue Pudding

To check if your meringue is stiff, lift the beaters out of the bowl and upend them: The peaks should stick straight up.<p>Ingredients<p>Pudding<p>4 large eggs<p>⅔ cup sugar<p>¼ cup cornstarch<p>4 cups whole milk<p>2 tablespoons unsalted butter<p>2 teaspoons vanilla extract<p>Pinch of kosher salt<p>Assembly<p>1 11-oz. box vanilla …

Baking