Lauren Russell

138 Flips | 7 Magazines | 9 Likes | 1 Following | @books_ | Keep up with Lauren Russell on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Lauren Russell”

The Blinding Knife

• <b>Author:</b> Brent Weeks<p>From the <i>New York Times</i> Bestselling author of <i>The Black Prism</i>...<p>Gavin Guile is dying.<p>He'd thought he had five years left--now he has less than one. With fifty thousand refugees, a bastard son, and an ex-fiancé who may have learned his darkest secret, Gavin has problems on every …

The Forever War

• <b>Author:</b> Joe Haldeman<p><b>Winner of the Hugo Award and the Nebula Award: He went off to war, but the Earth he came back to wasn’t the one he left behind</b><p>Man has taken to the stars. Deep in space, humans discover the fearsome Taurans after a transport ship is destroyed. To combat the threat, humanity sends …

Independent Study

• <b>Author:</b> Joelle Charbonneau<p>In the series debut <i>The Testing</i>, sixteen-year-old Cia Vale was chosen by the United Commonwealth government as one of the best and brightest graduates of all the colonies . . . a promising leader in the effort to revitalize postwar civilization. In <i>Independent Study</i>, Cia is …

The Black Prism

• <b>Author:</b> Brent Weeks<p>THE BLACK PRISM begins a brand new action-packed tale of magic and adventure ...<p>Guile is the Prism, the most powerful man in the world. He is high priest and emperor, a man whose power, wit, and charm are all that preserves a tenuous peace. Yet Prisms never last, and Guile knows …

Sets and costumes: designing a Disney fantasy land

From the enormous Shepperton Studios set that grew real trees to the zoot suit beloved by Johnny Depp, Into the Woods' designers have cast a wholly creative spell<p>The cast is stellar, the music glorious, but let us not forget <i>Into The Woods’</i> extraordinary sets and stunning costumes which help to make …

Stardust Is The Best Fantasy Movie You've Never Seen

Put simply, <i>Stardust</i> is the best movie no one has seen. It managed to slip under a bunch of people's noses, most likely because of its name (it does …

YA Author Holly Black on Her New Book, Fairies & Working With Cassandra Clare

As a huge fan of Holly Black's, I am beyond excited for the release of her newest young adult book, <i>The Darkest Part of the Forest</i> (out January 13).<p><i>The Darkest Part of the Forest</i> shows Black's skill as a master storyteller and her ability to reinvent the Fae in a new, creative and compelling way.<p>I …

The Mistborn Trilogy

• <b>Author:</b> Brandon Sanderson<p>The <i>New York Times</i> bestselling series from Brandon Sanderson. This boxed set contains:<i><br>Mistborn</i>, <i>The Well of Ascension</i>, and <i>The Hero of Ages</i><p>At the publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management software (DRM) applied.

I'll Give You the Sun

• <b>Author:</b> Jandy Nelson<p><b>The New York Times Bestselling story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, Nicola Yoon, Jonathan Tropper, Emma Straub, and Rainbow Rowell<br>“We were all heading for each other on a collision course, no matter what. Maybe some people are just meant to be</b> …

Science Fiction And Fantasy Books You Can't Afford To Miss In January!

We're still recovering from our 2014 book binge, but already there are a ton of new books that we're dying to read. Including a long-awaited new …

Wings of Tavea

• <b>Author:</b> Devri Walls<p>Wings of Tavea is Book 2 in The Solus Series, a young adult fantasy series.<p>Kiora is rapidly learning that evil and lies come in shades of black and white and swirling greys, but nothing could have prepared her for the shock of leaving Meros. Kiora and her protector Emane step …

Gardens of the Moon

• <b>Author:</b> Steven Erikson<p>The Malazan Empire simmers with discontent, bled dry by interminable warfare, bitter infighting and bloody confrontations with the formidable Anomander Rake and his Tiste Andii, ancient and implacable sorcerers. Even the imperial legions, long inured to the bloodshed, yearn …

16 Of The Most Anticipated YA Debuts Due Out In The First Half Of 2015

Ah, 2015. You are shaping up to be an incredible year for Young Adult novels.<p>There are a lot of highly anticipated sequels coming out, that I seriously can't wait to get my grabby hands on. <i>Golden Son</i> by Pierce Brown. <i>The Rose Society</i> by Marie Lu. And you've got the continuation of Marisa Meyer's …

Funny ‘Iron Man’ Parody Features Superhero Steam Iron Keeping Sheets Clean

<b>Anders Wotzke</b> of Moviedex, and Michael Nixon, have created a funny parody of the <i>Iron Man</i> movie, which took two years in their spare time to remake …

Tumblr

Here's 92 Year-Old Christopher Lee, Filming His Final Scene As Saruman

Christopher Lee recently past at 93 years old (<b>born the same year as Stan Lee!</b>), and the dude lived a crazy life. He witnessed <b>the last public</b> …

Movies

Watch every onscreen death in the Lord of the Rings trilogy

Let's get this out of the way first: I don't think there are exactly 212,470 on-screen deaths during Peter Jackson's entire (extended edition) <i>Lord of the Rings</i>, as purported by this six-minute supercut...but I also don't care because it's still a great recap to the more than 11 hours of beautiful …

Ravencliffe

• <b>Author:</b> Carol Goodman<p><b>Avaline Hall is no ordinary girl.</b><p>She’s a student at Blythewood Academy, an elite boarding school that trains young women to defend human society from the shadowy forces that live among us. After the devastating events of her first year at Blythewood, Ava is eager to reunite …