bjsinn

48 Flips | 10 Magazines | 11 Following | 1 Follower | @bjsinn | Keep up with bjsinn on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “bjsinn”

The Obesity Code

• <b>Author:</b> Dr. Jason Fung<p>Everything you believe about how to lose weight is wrong. Weight gain and obesity are driven by hormones—in everyone—and only by understanding the effects of insulin and insulin resistance can we achieve lasting weight loss.<p>In this highly readable and provocative book, Dr. …

Tuesday Nights in 1980

• <b>Author:</b> Molly Prentiss<p>“An intoxicating Manhattan fairy tale…As affecting as it is absorbing. A thrilling debut.” —<i>Kirkus Reviews</i> (starred review)<p>“A vital, sensuous, edgy, and suspenseful tale of longing, rage, fear, compulsion, and love.” —<i>Booklist</i> (starred review)<p>A transcendent debut novel that …

Why Everyone Should Consider Going "Pegan"

Food is medicine, and my job as a doctor involves advising people about the most nutrient dense foods to prevent, treat, and even reverse chronic …

Nutrition

41 Of The Most Suspenseful Books You'll Ever Read

*GASP*<p><i>Note: Entries have been edited for clarity and length.</i>

Books

Broncos mock Panthers for flashy ways after Super Bowl win

SANTA CLARA, Calif. – The Denver Broncos defense refrained from engaging in trash talk with the Carolina Panthers in the days leading up to Super Bowl 50.<p>But before Broncos players were even out of their jerseys Sunday night following their 24-10 win against NFL MVP Cam Newton and the Panthers’ …

NFL

Girl power going strong in country music if not on radio

NASHVILLE — A country-radio consultant ruffled feathers when he told Country Aircheck that women were tomatoes in the salad of country music — elevating male singers to the salad staple of lettuce.<p>“If you want to make ratings in country radio, take females out,” Keith Hill said in May.<p>For all of …

Country Music

Do parallel universes really exist?

In 1954, a young Princeton University doctoral candidate named Hugh Everett III came up with a radical idea: That there exist parallel universes, …

A Cosmologist Says He's Found Possible Signs of a Parallel Universe

Are we bumping into another universe?<p>The idea of a multitude of parallel universes existing alongside our own is not new, but trying to find evidence …

Blindsight: the strangest form of consciousness

Some people who have lost their vision find a “second sight” taking over their eyes – an uncanny, subconscious sense that sheds light into the hidden depths of the human mind.<p>When Daniel first walked into London’s National Hospital, ophthalmologist Michael Sanders could have had little idea that he …

Consciousness

Is another human living inside you?

You may think your body and mind are your own. In fact, you are a fusion of many organisms - including, potentially, another person. Words by David Robson, photography by Ariko Inaoka.<p><i>This story is part of BBC Future’s “Best of 2015” list, our greatest hits of the year.</i> <i>Browse the full list.</i><p><i>-</i><p>Once …

Genetics

Women's Prize for Fiction: 20 years on - why we need it more than ever

The Women's Prize for Fiction turns 20 this year. Author Kate Mosse explains why it's still going strong and how readers can cast their votes in a 'best of the best' competition<p>On a cold winter's night, in early January 1992, a group of women and men - authors, publishers, agents, librarians, …

Books

A World Without Work

For centuries, experts have predicted that machines would make workers obsolete. That moment may finally be arriving. Could that be a good thing?<p><b>1. Youngstown, U.S.A.</b><p>The end of work is still just a futuristic concept for most of the United States, but it is something like a moment in history for …

iPad App of the Week: Whink

Who doesn’t like great iPad apps? At iPad Insight we definitely do. With that in mind, we offer up a quick review of an excellent iPad app, or a few great iPad apps, here each week.<p>Our picks for Best iPad App of the Week are published here every week. Check out all out picks below and you’ll soon …

The 100 greatest songs of all time

Apple Music

A Brief History of Birth Control in the U.S.

Women and men have long tried many methods to prevent pregnancy. Prior to modern methods of birth control, women relied on withdrawal or periodic …

Edge of Eternity

• <b>Author:</b> Ken Follett<p>EDGE OF ETERNITY is the sweeping, passionate conclusion to Ken Follett’s extraordinary historical epic, The Century Trilogy.<p>Throughout these books, Follett has followed the fortunes of five intertwined families – American, German, Russian, English, and Welsh – as they make their …

On the Red Couch with Actress/Author Evangeline Lilly

<i>She’s perhaps best known as Kate Austen from Lost and the pointy-eared elf Tauriel in The Lord of the Rings films. But Evangeline Lilly has another,</i> …

The Jump-Off Creek

• <b>Author:</b> Molly Gloss<p>A reading group favorite, <i>The Jump-Off Creek</i> is the unforgettable story of widowed homesteader Lydia Sanderson and her struggles to settle in the mountains of Oregon in the 1890s. “Every gritty line of the story rings true” (<i>Seattle Times</i>) as Molly Gloss delivers an authentic and …

The Ice Cream Queen of Orchard Street

• <b>Author:</b> Susan Jane Gilman<p><b>"An upside-down, funhouse treat. You'll lick it up." - USA Today</b><p>In 1913, little Malka Treynovsky flees Russia with her family. Bedazzled by tales of gold and movie stardom, she tricks them into buying tickets for America. Yet no sooner do they land on the squalid Lower East …

Fall of Giants

• <b>Author:</b> Ken Follett<p><b>Ken Follett’s magnificent new historical epic begins, as five interrelated families move through the momentous dramas of the First World War, the Russian Revolution, and the struggle for women’s suffrage.</b><p>A thirteen-year-old Welsh boy enters a man’s world in the mining pits.…An …

The Eye of God

• <b>Author:</b> James Rollins<p>In a masterwork of historical mystery and scientific exploration, New York Times bestselling author James Rollins reveals an apocalyptic vision of the day after tomorrow, of a future predicted by the distant past, of a world doomed to burn under The Eye of God<p>The crash of a …

Midnight in Europe

• <b>Author:</b> Alan Furst<p><b>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER</b><p>Paris, 1938. As the shadow of war darkens Europe, democratic forces on the Continent struggle against fascism and communism, while in Spain the war has already begun. Alan Furst, whom Vince Flynn has called “the most talented espionage novelist of our …

The Farm

• <b>Author:</b> Tom Rob Smith<p>The new international bestseller from the author of phenomenal Child 44 trilogy...<p>The Farm<p>If you refuse to believe me, I will no longer consider you my son.<p>Daniel believed that his parents were enjoying a peaceful retirement on a remote farm in Sweden. But with a single phone …

Fatal Distraction

• <b>Author:</b> Diane Capri<p><b>New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author DIANE CAPRI Returns!</b><p>For fans of Lee Child, Jack Reacher, and John Grisham<p><i>“Full of thrills and tension – but smart and human too.”</i> —Lee Child, #1 World Wide Bestselling Author of Jack Reacher Thrillers<p>Relentless victims’ rights …