Arnfinn Bjørsvik

162 Flips | 2 Magazines | 4 Likes | 1 Following | 3 Followers | @arnfinn | Carbon based entity

Ball Lightning is a gripping tale of obsession from the biggest name in Chinese sci-fi

From the author of The Three-Body Problem<p>In 2015, Liu Cixin’s <i>The Three-Body Problem</i> (translated into English by Ken Liu)<i>,</i> earned science fiction’s highest honor: the Hugo Award for Best Novel. The award was the first for a Chinese author, and put Liu in the global spotlight. Sequels to that novel,</i> …

Hugo Awards

Here are 7 new sci-fi and fantasy novels coming out this September to check out

Hitting bookstores on September 18th and 25th<p>HBO recently aired its adaptation of Gillian Flynn’s short novel <i>Sharp Objects</i>, and while I haven’t caught up on the entire thing yet, the first couple of episodes prompted me to dig my copy out to give it a read. I’ve been meaning to pick it up for years …

Penguin Random House

9 science fiction and fantasy books coming out this September you should add to your reading list

Hitting bookstores September 4th and 11th<p>We’re going to start doing something a little different with our monthly book list here on <i>The Verge:</i> we’re shifting this column from a monthly schedule to a bi-weekly one. Each list will be a bit shorter and hopefully, a bit less daunting than a longer …

Science Fiction

Warning: The 10 Best Sci-Fi Audiobooks Might Make You Miss Your Subway Stop

Picking up a book is often like being transported to another world. Books have always been able to help us see outside ourselves and our reality to …

Science Fiction

N.K. Jemisin recommends stories from fellow groundbreaking sci-fi authors

The Hugo Award–winning author walks Ezra Klein through her process of world-building.<p>Author N.K. Jemisin made history last week when she became the first ever three-time winner of the prestigious Hugo Award, an annual prize in science fiction and fantasy publishing. She’s also the first black …

Science Fiction

The best recent science fiction – reviews roundup

After recent forays into science fiction and magic realism, Robert Jackson Bennett tackles epic fantasy in <b>Foundryside</b> (Jo Fletcher, £14.99). The ancient city-state of Tevanne is ruled by four merchant houses who have mastery of a powerful form of magic known as scriving: the ability to effect …

Books

Here are the winners of the 2018 Hugo Awards

The best science fiction and fantasy literature of 2017<p>The 2018 Hugo Awards were held last night at the World Science Fiction Convention in San Jose, California. The Hugo award is voted on by members of the fan community, and it’s considered the highest honor for science fiction and fantasy …

3 science fiction books for summer

In these three works of science fiction, the main characters live under the impression that figuring out how to survive in a cruel, merciless society is enough. But when they decide they need more, they risk everything to figure out whether it’s possible, regardless of what the cost may be.<p><b>“An</b> …

The best recent science fiction – reviews roundup

Francesco Dimitri’s <b>The Book of Hidden Things</b> (Titan, £8.99) rapidly draws the reader into the story of four childhood friends, now in their 30s. Every year for almost two decades they have met up in their hometown, the small Italian village of Casalfranco. When Arturo, at whose insistence this pact …

Arthur C Clarke award goes to 'classic' novel exploring the limits of pregnancy

A novel set in a world where infertility has been eradicated and artificial wombs have become the preferred method of gestation has won this year’s Arthur C Clarke award for science fiction.<p>Beginning in London in 2034, Anne Charnock’s Dreams Before the Start of Time examines the reproductive …

The Best Sci-Fi and Fantasy Books of July 2018

Book Three of The Legends of the First Empire<p>The alliance of humans and renegade Fhrey is fragile—and about to be tested as never before. Persephone …

Best New Science Fiction Books in July 2018

Looking for a good science fiction read? Check out these new science fiction books released in July 2018. • facebook <br>• twitter <br>• google+ <br>• tumblr <br>The Lists …

A transgender girl rises up against alien invaders in Rich Larson’s novel Annex

The novel hits stores on July 24th<p>Later this month, Rich Larson will publish his debut novel, <i>Annex</i>, the start to his <i>Violet Wars</i> trilogy. The book is set in the aftermath of an alien invasion, and follows Violet, a transgender girl who has escaped capture and discovered that an alien parasite has …

In The Robots of Gotham, AI has taken over the world — and become exactly like us

Charisma and a keen business instinct are useful traits when surviving Todd McAulty’s robot apocalypse<p>Todd McAulty’s debut novel <i>The Robots of Gotham</i> walks us through a familiar scenario: what if robots took over the world? In his future, McAulty’s robots are benevolent monarchs, bloodthirsty …

Harlan Ellison, one of science fiction’s most controversial authors, has died

Author of ‘Repent, Harlequin!’ Said the Ticktockman’ and ‘I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream’<p>The science fiction genre has lost one of its greatest — and most controversial — authors. Harlan Ellison, who wrote and edited groundbreaking sci-fi anthologies, short stories, and television episodes, …

Read the Pulse-Pounding First Chapter of Terry Brooks' Upcoming Scifi Novel, Street Freaks

Terry Brooks is best-known for writing the epic fantasy series that kicked off with <i>The Sword of Shannara</i> back in 1977. But the author ventures far …

28 New Scifi and Fantasy Books to Add to Your Shelves in May

May is here, and the month brings tons of new science fiction and fantasy books for your reading pleasure, including tales of kingdoms in turmoil, …

Space Opera is the funniest science fiction novel I’ve read since Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Eurovision in spaaaaaaaaaace!<p>Many authors attempt comedy in science fiction, but few pull it off. Alongside very funny works like John Scalzi’s <i>Redshirts</i> and Terry Pratchett’s entire <i>Discworld</i> series, the pinnacle of hilarious science fiction is Douglas Adams’ <i>The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy,</i> …

Feast Your Eyes on All the New Scifi and Fantasy Books Coming Out in April

This month brings a deluge of new books, including the latest from genre titan John Scalzi, as well as tales involving dark magic in post-apocalyptic …

21 Books That Changed Science Fiction And Fantasy Forever

Speculative fiction is the literature of change and discovery. But every now and then, a book comes along that changes the rules of science fiction …

Here are the 2018 Hugo Award nominees

The best science fiction and fantasy of 2017<p>The nominees for the 2018 Hugo Awards were announced today, representing the best science fiction and fantasy literature published in 2017.<p>The Hugo Awards are one of speculative fiction’s most prestigious prizes. Named for <i>Amazing Stories</i> editor Hugo …

Nick Clark Windo’s The Feed is highly relevant after the Cambridge Analytica fiasco

Certainly it tells us something about social media and how we’re just all too reliant on it<p><i>Mild spoilers ahead for</i> <b>The Feed</b>.<p>Following last week’s Cambridge Analytica revelations, Facebook is now imploding before our eyes, leading to increased fears of data-sharing and data mining by third-party …

Gunpowder Moon is a chillingly realistic book about the fight to control the Solar System

We can leave Earth, but its borders will follow us<p>On September 12th, 1962, President John F. Kennedy spoke at Rice University in Houston, Texas, about the need for America to land on the Moon “before the decade is out.” The space race was never primarily about exploration or science, but rather …

21 Sci-Fi Books To Read After You Watch 'Annihilation'

With the film adaptation of Jeff VanderMeer's New Weird novel in theaters, it seems appropriate to give you a list of 21 suggested books to read …

6 narrative sci-fi fantasy podcasts to put in your ears

Podcasts have proliferated in popularity over the last few years, sparked by the success of <i>Serial</i>’s first season. But audio dramas were popular long …

Science Fiction

The Hyacinth Disaster is a gripping sci-fi thriller about a crew of doomed asteroid miners

For fans of The Martian and The Expanse<p><i>There are a ton of podcasts out there, but finding the right one can be difficult. In our new column</i> <i>Pod Hunters</i><i>, we cover what we’ve been listening to that we can’t stop thinking about.</i><p>A couple of years ago, <i>Verge</i> listener David Carlson wanted to help his wife. …

The Gone World is a brilliant, complicated novel about the consequences of time travel

How do you solve a murder by jumping back and forth in time?<p>In his debut novel, author Tom Sweterlitsch constructed a fascinating mystery with <i>Tomorrow and Tomorrow</i>, set in a virtual version of Pittsburgh after a terrorist attack leveled the city. In <i>The Gone World</i><i>,</i> he introduces an even more …

Semiosis is a first contact novel about coexistence with intelligent plants

Learning to not only survive, but to thrive on an alien world<p>Throughout its history, science fiction has imagined how humanity might meet its cosmic neighbors. How would the first contact with aliens go? Authors have imagined a variety of scenarios, from the desire for amicable partnership between …

Get Cozy With 18 New Science Fiction and Fantasy Books This February

February may be the shortest month, but it’s still stuffed with awesome new scifi and fantasy book releases—filled with murders on the moon, haunted …

18 new science fiction and fantasy books to read this February

Visit distant planets, conspiracies, and galactic conflicts<p>I’m not really one for New Years resolutions, but according to my Goodreads challenge, I only read 50 books last year — three short of my intended goal. I’ve been working to balance work, life, and reading time over the last couple of …