Pat Speulda

263 Flips | 5 Magazines | 11 Likes | 43 Following | @PatSpeulda | Keep up with Pat Speulda on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Pat Speulda”

SPQR: A History of Ancient Rome

• <b>Author:</b> Mary Beard<p>New York Times Bestseller • National Book Critics Circle Finalist • Wall Street Journal Best Books of 2015 • Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2015 • Economist Books of the Year 2015 • New York Times Book Review 100 Notable Books of 2015<p>A sweeping, "magisterial" history of the Roman …

The Allegory of the Cave

• <b>Author:</b> Plato<p>Plato’s <i>Allegory of the Cave</i> is one of the most elegant and important metaphors in Western philosophy. It is a dialogue between Plato's brother Glaucon and his mentor Socrates, narrated by the latter, in which Plato elucidates his Theory of Forms.<p>This new digital edition of <i>The Allegory</i> …

10 Kid-Friendly Vegetable Sides for Weeknight Dinners — Recipes from The Kitchn

My two kids go through the weirdest seasons with vegetables (currently we are living through a roasted broccoli and baby carrot season — if either of …

Cooking

How to Maintain the Health of Your Drains and Sewer

We have all encountered the situation of clogged drains. Having to deal with the plumbing involved in unclogging a drain is a headache. In the best …

Home Improvement

10 Effective Yet Simple Exercises That Can Be Done Without Ever Getting Up

We all have those days where we know we should work out, but for whatever reason, we just can't bring ourselves to get up and actually and do it. Fear not: while you are reading this and likely procrastinating over going to the gym, opt to keep your workout horizontal (and home)!<p>These exercises can …

Workouts

All by myself: the joys of being single

Christina Patterson used to be ashamed about being single, but after hearing others’ stories, that feeling has gone<p>For most of my adult life, I have been ashamed of being single. At weddings, I have felt my smile crack. I once walked out of a friend’s book launch when he gave a speech about finding …

Relationships

15 Delicious Dishes Anyone Can Whip Up With A Can Of Tuna

All you need is a can of tuna and a few ingredients you (probably) already have.

Healthy Eating

These Are the 6 Best Weight-Loss Tips, According to Experts

There is a lot of weight-loss advice coming from so many different sources, whether you read it in a magazine or hear it on someone's Instagram Story. It's hard to weed out which info is the most effective <i>and</i> the most healthy. Look no further! We've enlisted expert tips from dietitians and fitness …

Fitness

8 foods a Harvard nutritionist tries to eat almost every day

Want to eat like a nutrition expert? Some food choices pack an especially big nutritional punch.<p>Think of your kitchen as one big tasty medicine cabinet.<p>The right foods in the right amounts can protect your heart, keep your blood sugar stable, help you lose weight and allow you to live longer.<p>Diet …

Nutrition

All of the Best Apps for When You Want to Learn Something New

Who says you can't teach an old dog new tricks?<p>If you’re a naturally curious person like I am, then you probably have a lot of questions about …

Apps

You Play the Girl

• <b>Author:</b> Carina Chocano<p><b>"If Hollywood's treatment of women leaves you wanting, you'll find good, heady company in You Play the Girl."—ELLE</b><p>As a kid in the 1970s and 80s, Carina Chocano was confused by the mixed messages all around her; messages that told her who she could be—and who she couldn’t. …

The Woman Who Smashed Codes

• <b>Author:</b> Jason Fagone<p>NATIONAL BESTSELLER<p>NPR Best Book of 2017<p>“Not all superheroes wear capes, and Elizebeth Smith Friedman should be the subject of a future Wonder Woman movie.” — The New York Times<p>Joining the ranks of Hidden Figures and In the Garden of Beasts, the incredible true story of the …

Cosplay and Clotted Cream: The Lasting Appeal of Jane Austen

DURING MY DAYS in middle school in the rural Midwest, I accompanied my friend Beth to several of her father’s Civil War reenactments. Along with …

Books

Here's How to Make Your Roasted Veggies Mind-Blowing

Roasting is one of my favorite ways to cook vegetables. I love how you just toss everything on a baking sheet, walk away, and come back to …

Vegetables

The Book

• <b>Author:</b> Alan W. Watts<p>In <i>The Book,</i> Alan Watts provides us with a much-needed answer to the problem of personal identity, distilling and adapting the Hindu philosophy of Vedanta.<p>At the root of human conflict is our fundamental misunderstanding of who we are. The illusion that we are isolated beings, …

The People We Hate at the Wedding

• <b>Author:</b> Grant Ginder<p>"It’s for the same audience that flocked to <i>The Nest, Where’d You Go, Bernadette?</i> or dare I say a little book you might be a fan of, <i>Crazy Rich Asians."</i><i><br>—</i> <b>Kevin Kwan, New York Times bestselling author of Crazy Rich Asians</b><p>"Sinfully good."<b><br>— Elin Hilderbrand</b><p><b>Entertainment Weekly's</b> …

Nothing Like a Dame review: Mess with Maggie Smith at your peril

Can there be any sight more English than Dames Judi Dench, Maggie Smith, Eileen Atkins and Joan Plowright sitting bickering in a garden overlooking the Sussex countryside? This charming documentary, commissioned for BBC Two and now bumped up into a limited cinema release, is a fly-on-the-wall chat …

Downton Abbey

Here are 300 free Ivy League university courses you can take online right now

The eight Ivy League schools are among the most prestigious colleges in the world. They include Brown, Harvard, Cornell, Princeton, Dartmouth, Yale, and Columbia universities, and the University of Pennsylvania.<p>All eight schools place in the top fifteen of the US News and World Report 2017 national …

Online Education

1493

• <b>Author:</b> Charles C. Mann<p>From the author of <i>1491—</i>the best-selling study of the pre-Columbian Americas—a deeply engaging new history of the most momentous biological event since the death of the dinosaurs.<p>More than 200 million years ago, geological forces split apart the continents. Isolated from each …

Curtis Sittenfeld's new story collection is brutally, beautifully human: EW review

You Think It I'll Say It<p>We gave it a <b>B+</b><p>The title of Curtis Sittenfeld’s latest, <i>You Think It, I’ll Say It</i>, comes from its second story, a compact …

Kansas City

CIRCE (#1 New York Times bestseller)

• <b>Author:</b> Madeline Miller<p><b>#1 New York Times Bestseller</b> <b>" A bold and subversive retelling of the goddess's story, Circe manages to be both epic and intimate in its scope, recasting the most infamous female figure from the Odyssey as a hero in her own right." --- Alexandra Alter, New York Times</b><br>In the …

How to Stop Coughing Without Medicine

If you have a persistent cough, it’s normal to seek ways to stop it. Although coughing is a natural reflex to help clear your throat and air …

Sinusitis

Paris, I Love You but You're Bringing Me Down

• <b>Author:</b> Rosecrans Baldwin<p>A self-described Francophile from when he was little, Rosecrans Baldwin always dreamed of living in Paris—drinking le café, eating les croissants, walking in les jardins—so when an opportunity presented itself to work for an advertising agency in Paris, he couldn't turn it …

Carsick

• <b>Author:</b> John Waters<p><b>Carsick is the New York Times bestselling chronicle of a cross-country hitchhiking journey with America's most beloved weirdo</b><p>John Waters is putting his life on the line. Armed with wit, a pencil-thin mustache, and a cardboard sign that reads "I'm Not Psycho," he hitchhikes across …

“Live Work Work Work Die” paints a portrait of Silicon Valley hypocrisy

<b>Live Work Work Work Die: A Journey Into the Savage Heart of Silicon Valley by Corey Pein (Getty/Josh Edelson)</b><p>Author Corey Pein’s new book shines a light on the coder class and post-gentrified San Francisco<p>Keith A. Spencer<p>April 22, 2018 10:30pm (UTC)<p>I have lived in the San Francisco Bay Area for …

Silicon Valley

The Truth About Cruise Ships

• <b>Author:</b> Jay Herring<p>This is a behind-the-scenes look at cruise ships in a way that's never been done before. Some of the stories are shocking, some are enlightening, but most are just laugh-out-loud entertaining. This tour behind those "Crew Only" doors will reveal:<p>- How romance on a cruise ship is …

Coming Apart

• <b>Author:</b> Charles Murray<p><b>Coming Apart - an acclaimed bestseller that explains why white America has become fractured and divided in education and class.</b><p>In <i>Coming Apart</i>, Charles Murray explores the formation of American classes that are different in kind from anything we have ever known, focusing on …

On Turpentine Lane

• <b>Author:</b> Elinor Lipman<p>“Light and tight, <i>On Turpentine Lane</i> is constructed with an almost scary mastery.”—<i>New York Times Book Review</i><p>“A diverting delight.”—<i>People</i> <br>“[Lipman] has a way of crafting books so utterly charming that you want to set up residence inside them…<i>On Turpentine Lane</i> quickly becomes a …

The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper

• <b>Author:</b> Phaedra Patrick<p><b>"Tender, insightful, and surprising… [Arthur Pepper] will instantly capture the hearts of readers who loved Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Nina George’s The Little Paris Bookshop, and Antoine Laurain’s The Red Notebook." — Library Journal, starred review</b><p>…

The ABCs of Greek - Learn the Greek Alphabet

Alpha, Beta, and Gamma<p>Time after time, being able to read the Greek alphabet saves travelers detours, wrong turns, and much time and frustration. …