Pam Hankins Brown

48 Flips | 5 Magazines | 8 Following | 1 Follower | @PamHankinsBrown | Keep up with Pam Hankins Brown on Flipboard, a place to see the stories, photos, and updates that matter to you. Flipboard creates a personalized magazine full of everything, from world news to life’s great moments. Download Flipboard for free and search for “Pam Hankins Brown”

The Women in the Castle

• <b>Author:</b> Jessica Shattuck<p>INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • FEATURING AN EXCLUSIVE NEW CHAPTER<p>GoodReads Choice Awards Semifinalist<p>"Moving . . . a plot that surprises and devastates."—New York Times Book Review<p>"A masterful epic."—People magazine<p>"Mesmerizing . . . The Women in the Castle stands tall …

Teal House Coffee and Bakery Brings Its Popular Cinnamon Rolls to Slaughter Lane

<b>Teal House Coffee and Bakery</b>, born from owner Lance Phillips’ popular homemade cinnamon rolls, is now <b>open</b>. The family-run bakery truck is located at <b>1716 East Slaughter Lane</b>, found at Duke’s Adventure Golf.<p>Teal House serves cinnamon rolls (including a gluten-free kind), croissants (regular and …

New Fort Worth Zoo habitat African Savanna gives animals more room to roam and us a better view

The Fort Worth Zoo introduced its newest attraction last month. The new 10-acre African Savanna, the first installment in the $100 million capital …

From Austin to Houston, 5 unexpected restaurants that beckon for a detour

Texas is filled with hidden treasures, and the journey from Texas' capital city to H-Town is no different. But the next time you're heading east, …

Skip your pre-sandals pedicure with this genius baking-soda hack

The sudden arrival of seasonal warm weather (and the welcome influx of vitamin D) can leave the best of us unprepared for sandal season. Haven’t had …

67 Ideas That Will Beautify Your Backyard (Without Breaking the Bank)

Easy backyard decorating ideas, coming right up!<p>Everyone wants a beautiful backyard, but hiring a landscape designer can get expensive. These …

Landscaping

Barbara Bush's famous cookie recipe shared by Houston hotel

Heartfelt tributes to former first lady Barbara Bush, who passed away on April 17 in Houston, have been pouring in from around the world. Global fans …

Say hello to the new Gmail with self-destructing messages, email snoozing and more

Today, Google is launching the biggest revamp of Gmail in years. The company is bringing to the flagship Gmail service many (but not all) of the features it trialed in Inbox for Gmail, and adding a few new ones, too. With those new features, which we first reported earlier this month, the company …

A Gentleman in Moscow

• <b>Author:</b> Amor Towles<p><b>“The book is like a salve. I think the world feels disordered right now. The count’s refinement and genteel nature are exactly what we’re longing for.” —Ann Patchett</b><b><br>“How delightful that in an era as crude as ours this finely composed novel stretches out with old-World elegance.”</b> …

Surprise Me

• <b>Author:</b> Sophie Kinsella<p><b>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A witty and emotionally charged novel that delves into the heart of a marriage, and how those we love and think we know best can sometimes surprise us the most</b><b><br>“A delightful take on the mixed blessings of marital longevity.”—People</b> <br>After ten years …

10 Stunning North American Train Trips to Take Now

Love the idea of a road trip but don’t want to be stuck behind the wheel the whole time? Think train trips instead! We’re sharing 10 of our favorites …

12 Multipurpose Travel Essentials You Need For Your Next Adventure

Pack with purpose.<p>While your intention may be to only pack the essentials, we know the struggle that is eventually just shoving everything into a suitcase for a simple weekend getaway. When it comes to packing light, the key isn’t to necessarily pack less, but to pack smarter.<p>Multipurpose products …

On the Road

• <b>Author:</b> Jack Kerouac<p><b>The classic novel of freedom and the search for authenticity that defined a generation</b><b><br>September 5th, 2017 marks the 60th anniversary of the publication of On the Road</b><p>Inspired by Jack Kerouac's adventures with Neal Cassady, <i>On the Road</i> tells the story of two friends whose …

The English Patient

• <b>Author:</b> Michael Ondaatje<p><b>With unsettling beauty and intelligence, this Booker Prize-winning novel traces the intersection of four damaged lives in an abandoned Italian villa at the end of World War II.</b><p>The nurse Hana, exhausted by death, obsessively tends to her last surviving patient. Caravaggio, …

How To Negotiate A Discount On Your Rent

Many situations have some wiggle room.<p>Your landlord might want you to believe there’s no room to negotiate your apartment lease, but that’s just not the case. In fact, one of the reasons tenants say they don’t routinely try to shave some moola off their rent is that they don’t know they can even …

36 Hours in Auckland

The construction cranes that pierce the Auckland skyline are a visual indication of the growth New Zealand’s largest city is experiencing. Close to one-third of New Zealand’s estimated 4.5 million population lives in Auckland, a geographically blessed — and traffic-cursed — city spread over at …

Travel

You have Netflix, Hulu, and the rest — you just need this $20 HDTV antenna to replace cable

These days, it seems like every card-carrying millennial has cut the cord and embraced the cable-free lifestyle. At first, it seems fun and exciting. …

Smart TV

Tour Legacy Food Hall in Plano, Texas

Dining out has long been considered a competitive sport in Dallas, home base for the State Fair of Texas and restaurants that lean heavily on prime beef and Tex-Mex. The newest restaurants drawing the most attention aren’t steakhouses or taco joints, though. They’re the 22 unique shops inside …

Still Me

• <b>Author:</b> Jojo Moyes<p><b>From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Jojo Moyes, a new book featuring her iconic heroine of Me Before You and After You, Louisa Clark</b><p>Louisa Clark arrives in New York ready to start a new life, confident that she can embrace this new adventure and keep her relationship …

Small Great Things

• <b>Author:</b> Jodi Picoult<p><b>#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • With richly layered characters and a gripping moral dilemma that will lead readers to question everything they know about privilege, power, and race, Small Great Things is the stunning new page-turner from Jodi Picoult.</b><p><b>SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION</b> …

Before We Were Yours

• <b>Author:</b> Lisa Wingate<p><b>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”*</b><p>Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger …

Lincoln in the Bardo

• <b>Author:</b> George Saunders<p><b>#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • WINNER OF THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE</b><p><b>The long-awaited first novel from the author of Tenth of December: a moving and original father-son story featuring none other than Abraham Lincoln, as well as an unforgettable cast of supporting characters, living</b> …

Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist)

• <b>Author:</b> Min Jin Lee<p><b>NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST * A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW TOP TEN OF THE YEAR * NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2017 *A USA TODAY TOP TEN OF 2017</b><b>Roxane Gay's Favorite Book of 2017, Washington Post</b><b>NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * #1 BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER * USA TODAY BESTSELLER</b><br>In …

Little Fires Everywhere

• <b>Author:</b> Celeste Ng<p><b>The runaway New York Times bestseller!</b><p><b>Named a Best Book of the Year by: <br>People, The Washington Post, Bustle, Esquire, Southern Living, The Daily Beast, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, NPR, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iBooks, Audible, Goodreads, Library Reads, Book of the Month, Paste,</b> …

The Handmaid's Tale

• <b>Author:</b> Margaret Atwood<p><b>Now a Hulu Original Series</b><p><i>The Handmaid’s Tale</i> is a novel of such power that the reader will be unable to forget its images and its forecast. Set in the near future, it describes life in what was once the United States and is now called the Republic of Gilead, a monotheocracy …

Golden Hill

• <b>Author:</b> Francis Spufford<p><b>A Wall Street Journal Top Ten Fiction Book of 2017 * A Washington Post Notable Fiction Book of the Year * A Seattle Times Favorite Book of 2017 * An NPR Best Book of 2017 * A Kirkus Reviews Best Historical Fiction Book of the Year * A Library Journal Top Historical Fiction</b> …

What Alice Forgot

• <b>Author:</b> Liane Moriarty<p><b>FROM THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE HUSBAND'S SECRET AND BIG LITTLE LIES.</b><p><b>A “cheerfully engaging”(Kirkus Reviews) novel for anyone who’s ever asked herself, “How did I get here?”</b><p>Alice Love is twenty-nine, crazy about her husband, and pregnant with her first …

'I, Tonya,' You, Implicated

Tonya Harding was never supposed to be a pro figure skater. Like so many young American dreamers before her, she had it all wrong for success: born into the wrong class, raised by the wrong role model, drawn to the wrong men. And she had the wrong kind of femininity for the sport she loved, too, …

Tom Petty's 50 Greatest Songs

NOW PLAYING<p>Tom Petty's 50 Greatest Songs<p>By , , , , , , ,<p>"It's a strange to say out loud, but I always felt destined to do this," Tom Petty told</i> …

Music